Austria Visa Policy

Austria Visa Policy

iVisa | Updated on Jun 23, 2021

Visa Policy for Australia

The Australia Visa Policy is the same as for the other countries that belong to the EU and are also part of the Schengen Agreement for passport-free visits. Moreover, Austria is one of the 26 Schengen states, which is why it shares the same visa policy.

Fill me in

Foreigners who plan to visit this country must first familiarize themselves with the travel restrictions in Europe. They must also verify if they need any type of visa or travel authorization.

As for the visa requirements to enter Austria, it differs depending on nationality, and as mentioned before, it is the same as the rest of the countries that belong to the Schengen area. These requirements also change depending on the purpose of the visit and the intended duration of stay.

The Austria Visa Policy states that all third-country citizens are either visa-free or they need to get a consular visa, which is a Schengen Visa used not only to visit Austria but also the rest of the countries in the Schengen area.

The good news is that by 2022, the European Commission will officially launch an electronic visa waiver known as ETIAS. This document will be obligatory to visit Austria and the other countries in the Schengen area, and it will be available for the current visa-free countries that are not part of the Schengen Agreement.

This doesn’t mean that there won’t be consular visas to enter Austria, they will still be an option for certain travelers.

To learn more about the Austria Visa Policy, we recommend you read the lines below.

Tourist Visa Policy for Austria

Travelers wishing to visit this European country for tourism will have to meet a few requirements first. The list of requirements changes depending on the nationality, of course. To this day, 90 countries can enter Austria without a visa if the visit is for a short term. It is also possible as long as the traveler visits Austria for tourism, business, medical treatment, or transit. Nevertheless, this visa-free regulation will change a little shortly.

By 2022, the ETIAS will be launched, which is an electronic travel authorization required for visa-free tourists wishing to enter the Schengen area. This document will be valid for 3 years, and it will allow the traveler to visit all the 26 Schengen states for short-term visits. The ETIAS will be obligatory for the current visa-free countries, and it will be processed electronically. However, it will not be necessary for travelers with a passport or ID card issued from one of the Schengen Area nations. These residents can visit Austria without a visa, and it will remain the same even after the launch of the ETIAS as they are not part of that program.

Around 150 countries must apply for a Schengen Visa to enter Austria for tourism. These individuals must get this travel permit well in advance of their travel dates so that they can enter without issues. The Schengen Visa is available at European embassies or consulates.

Find out more information on the required visas to enter Austria in the following lines. Learn more about the Austria Visa Policy

Austria ETIAS

The Austria ETIAS is an electronic visa waiver program that will be launched by 2022. With this program, travelers from a lot of countries will have the right to enter Austria as well as to travel to the other countries that belong to the Schengen Area.

The European Commission implemented this program for all third-national citizens who are currently visa-exempt for the 26 Schengen states in a way of preventing dangers to this territory (especially due to the recent attacks related to terrorism). This program will be completely online, so it won’t be difficult to be part of it if the traveler meets the requirements.

The ETIAS will grant multiple entries and it will allow the holder to stay for up to 90 days in Austria per visit. However, it will be valid for 3 years, and it will be useful for tourism, business, transit, and medical treatment. Travelers wishing to obtain this document will have to [fill in an online form] with their passports and basic travel information. They will also have to answer questions related to their health and security. Once this information is reviewed by the European authorities, they receive the ETIAS confirmation.

The ETIAS will be linked to the passport, so it won’t be necessary to print the document. The countries that will be able to apply for the ETIAS are:

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • The Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • El Salvador
  • Estonia
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macau
  • Macedonia
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • The Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Norway
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • the Republic of Cyprus
  • Romania
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • the Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • the United Arab Emirates
  • the United Kingdom
  • The United States
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican City
  • Venezuela

Learn more about the Austria Visa Policy or Apply here

Consular or Embassy Visa

Travelers from about 150 countries must apply for an Austria Schengen Visa before entering the country. The citizens of these countries aren’t part of a visa-waiver program, which is why they have to obtain the document this way.

The Austria Schengen Visa is obligatory for these citizens, with no exceptions. They have to attend an interview at the nearest European embassy to obtain it. The good news is that the Schengen Visa is not only valid for Austria but the rest of the Schengen area, meaning that this visa can be used to enter the 26 Schengen member states. The main requirement for this document is a valid passport, which should remain valid for 3 months counting from the intended arrival date in the Schengen zone.

Another thing that applicants have to take into account is that they must choose the correct visa type, which varies depending on the duration and purpose of the trip. By using our visa checker it is possible to verify which countries need this visa to enter Austria.

Other Visa Information for Austria

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, this country launched the Austria Pre-Travel Clearance, which guarantees that the traveler is not infected with coronavirus or that he/she doesn’t have any health risk. However, this document is not a visa replacement, meaning that if the traveler needs a visa, the authorities will ask for it upon arrival. At the moment, at least 90 countries don’t need to obtain any kind of visa to visit Austria, but that will change to the ETIAS by 2022.

Learn more about the Austria Visa Policy or Apply here