Congo visa policy

Congo visa policy

iVisa | Updated on Jul 12, 2021

Visa Policy for Congo

If your next destination is Africa and you want to visit Congo, you need to know all about the Congo visa policy. The visa policy states what countries have free entry to the Republic of the Congo and which ones need to apply for a visa beforehand.

First of all, you have 5 countries in Africa that don’t need a visa to enter the Republic of the Congo. Still, these travelers will need a biometric passport to have a smooth entry. These countries are Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Chad, Equatorial Guinea, and Gabon. The free entry entails a maximum stay in the Republic of the Congo of 90 days.

Fill me in

The second group of countries has the benefit to have a visa on arrival. In other words, you only need to show your valid passport, and the Congo Government will provide a visa upon your arrival.

The rest of the countries that aren’t included in these groups need to apply for a visa at an embassy or consulate. This means you need to gather documentation and attend an appointment to have the consular visa.

All the details about the visas and free entries to the Republic of the Congo can be found on the Congo visa policy. Keep checking more in the following lines.

Tourist Visa Policy for Congo

If you want to travel around Congo for tourism purposes, you have three alternatives according to your nationality. You need to check whether your country has free entry to the Republic of the Congo. In this case, you may be able to do tourism activities for up to 90 days.

On the other hand, you have the alternative to obtain a visa on arrival and enter the Republic of the Congo without any issues. Make sure you have your valid passport for this specific situation.

Finally, you can always apply for a regular tourist visa through an embassy or consulate. It may take longer in terms of processing times, but it’s the only alternative for most countries.

Trust all the details in the Congo visa policy and enjoy your visit to the Republic of the Congo.

Visa on arrival for Congo

The Congo visa policy mentions a visa on arrival for some nationalities in Africa. This is a great way to enter the Republic of the Congo only with your passport and without the need to do any procedure before landing in the country.

However, you will need to confirm whether your nationality has specific details for the validity of this type of visa.

The nationalities that can access the visa on arrival are:

  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Ivory Coast
  • Mauritania
  • Morocco
  • Niger
  • Rwanda
  • Senegal
  • Togo
  • United Arab Emirates

Before you continue make sure to also have your Health Declaration. This mandatory health document allows local authorities to control the current pandemic.

Apply now

Tourist Visa for Congo

In case your country hasn’t been mentioned yet, it means you may need to apply for a tourist visa through an embassy or consulate. Only accredited Congolese Consulates can issue a tourist visa for Congo. The tourist visa for Congo allows a maximum stay of 3 months at the destination and multiple entries. US citizens can access a 6-month visa for tourism reasons.

You need to gather the following requirements:

  • Complete two visa application forms, and don’t forget to sign them.
  • Two passport photos. They need to measure 2x2 inches and have a white background. The photos shouldn’t be older than 6 months.
  • Valid Passport. Your passport should have a 6-month validity before you depart from Congo.
  • Invitation letter or hotel booking. The document should be addressed to the Consulate of the Republic of the Congo.
  • Flight tickets.

For certain countries, you have the possibility to send all the documentation through mail. Check with the consulate about all the possibilities for this alternative. The Congo visa policy has all the information you need.

Check the countries that need to apply for a consular visa:

  • Afghanistan
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Andorra
  • Angola
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Comores Islands
  • Congo (Dem. Rep.)
  • Congo (Rep.)
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Eritrea
  • Estonia
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Greece
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kiribati
  • Kenya
  • Kosovo
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macao
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Malta
  • Mali
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Mongolia
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands
  • Nicaragua
  • Nigeria
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • North Korea
  • North Macedonia
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Palau Islands
  • Palestinian Territory
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • South Sudan
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Syria
  • Taiwan
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

If you have already decided to apply for a visa to the Republic of the Congo, don’t forget you will need your Health Declaration before arrival. This health document is mandatory for all incoming visitors to the Congo.

Apply now

Other Visa Information for Congo

We can confirm that you can also apply for a business visa to enter Congo. According to the Congo visa policy, the business visa allows some activities such as feasibility studies, arranging investments, making business contacts, among others. This visa provides 30 days in the country and multiple entries. US travelers can have a business visa for up to 6 months. For this visa, you need to have all the requirements mentioned for the tourist visa plus a business letter that should mention the reasons for your trip to Congo.

The Congo visa policy also discusses the Official or Diplomatic Visa. Anybody with a diplomatic passport on official business matters can have a diplomatic visa. This type of visa has a validity of a maximum of 12 months with multiple entries. Also, you don’t need to pay any fees for this visa.

If you’re only in transit in Congo, you don’t need to apply for any visas. Remember to stay in the international transit area so you don’t have any issues. Besides, you need to have your ticket for your final destination.

The Congo visa policy is all you need for your next trip to Congo. Travel now and have a smooth entry with your visa.