Home > El Salvador Blog >

El Salvador Visa Policy: Check Requirements

El Salvador Visa Policy: Check Requirements
iVisa | Updated on Jul 12, 2021

Visa Policy for El Salvador

The El Salvador Visa Policy determines the rules and regulations for foreign nationals traveling to El Salvador for tourism purposes. A visa is a travel authorization document that is issued by the country to foreign citizens to allow them to enter and stay in the country. As per the El Salvador Visa Policy, citizens of around Eighty-six countries and territories are allowed to enter the country without a visa for a short period. This implies that they don’t have to apply for a visa before their travel date.

Fill me in

The requirements for visa application for El Salvador are based on several factors such as the nationality of the visitor, intended duration of the stay in the country, and the purpose of traveling to El Salvador.

Every foreign national visiting El Salvador must obtain a Tourist Card upon arrival. This tourist card is valid for Thirty Days after its issuance.

If you are planning a trip to El Salvador for work, business, or other purposes, you need to apply for the appropriate visas or work permits depending on your requirements. In the following section, you can get more information about the El Salvador Visa Policy, tourist visa requirements, tourist visa types, and the validity of the tourist visa.

Tourist Visa Policy for El Salvador

Foreign visitors who are planning to visit El Salvador for tourism purposes have different options depending on their travel requirements. Also, these options vary depending on the citizenship of the traveler.

Based on the El Salvador Visa Policy, nationals of around 86 countries and jurisdictions can visit the country and stay in the country for 90 Days without any visa. Citizens of other countries must apply for a tourist visa before their travel date to enter the country. They can apply for a visa by submitting a visa application to the nearest El Salvador embassy.

It is important to know that every traveler entering the country for tourism purposes must purchase a Tourist Card upon arrival. You can get a maximum validity of 30 Days on a tourist card after its issuance.

The validity of different visas depends on the type of visa you applied for. The Single-entry visa are valid for 30 Days, 60 Days, and 90 Days. If you apply for a multiple-entries visa, you can get a maximum validity of 365 Days depending on your nationality. A tourist card can be obtained while arriving in the country by paying the processing fee. To apply for other tourist visas, you need to visit the El Salvador embassy and apply for them in person.

To apply for an El Salvador visa, you must have a valid passport with a minimum of six months of validity from the date of your arrival. Also, you must have sufficient funds to stay in the country.

Learn More About the El Salvador Tourist Visa

El Salvador Visa Not Required

As per the El Salvador Visa Policy, there are around eighty-six countries and territories that are exempted from the visa requirement. This means the citizens of these countries do not require a visa to enter the country.

The travelers from these countries can enter El Salvador and stay in the country for a maximum duration of ninety days.

However, it is essential for these foreign nationals to have a valid passport that must be valid for at least six months after their arrival in El Salvador. Also, they have to provide proof of sufficient funds that they will need for their stay in the country. Other requirements for traveling to El Salvador are travel insurance covering their stay in the country, accommodation details, and air tickets for traveling.

Here is the list of countries that don’t need a visa to enter El Salvador:

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Aruba
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Bouvet Island
  • Brazil
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands
  • Chile
  • Christmas Island
  • Colombia
  • Cook Islands
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Estonia
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Guatemala
  • Guernsey
  • Heard and McDonald Islands
  • Honduras
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Ireland
  • Isle of Man
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macedonia
  • Madagascar
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mayotte
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Montserrat
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Niue
  • Norfolk Island
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Norway
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Pitcairn
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Puerto Rico
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Saint Barthélemy
  • Saint Helena
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Martin (Netherlands)
  • Saint Vincent and Grenadines
  • San Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • São Tome and Príncipe
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turkey
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States Virgin Islands
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican

El Salvador Single or Multiple Entry Visa

According to the El Salvador Visa Policy, passport holders of around 115 countries need to apply for a Visa from the corresponding consulate of El Salvador. This can be a single or multiple entry visa.

If you are applying for a single-entry visa, you can get a maximum validity of 30 Days, 60 Days, or 90 Days. If you are applying for an El Salvador multiple-entries visa, you can get a maximum validity of one year.

This visa can be obtained by visiting the nearest El Salvador embassy and submitting a visa application stating the reason for your travel with a covering letter. Other important items to apply for a visa are a valid passport with a minimum of six months of validity, bank statements, travel insurance, passport size photographs, hotel reservations proving the accommodation for the entire stay, and air tickets proving the return from the country. Several other documents can also be required to prove the occupation and other details. Here is the list of countries that need a Consular Visa to enter El Salvador:

  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Armenia
  • Bangladesh
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Cameroon
  • China
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Ghana
  • Haiti
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Jordan
  • Kenya
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Mali
  • Mongolia
  • Mozambique
  • Nepal
  • Nigeria
  • North Korea
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Palestine
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Taiwan
  • Timor-Leste
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen

Other Visa Information for El Salvador

As per the El Salvador Visa Policy, every foreign national needs to apply for a tourist card while arriving in the country. This document can be obtained by presenting a valid passport at the port of entry. Also, it requires a processing fee that must be paid. This tourist card allows the visitors to stay for a maximum duration of 30 Days in the country. If you don’t know your visa requirements, you can use Visa Checker Tool to get a better understanding of your visa.

Apply Now

Let's stay in touch!

Join our newsletter to receive the best traveling tips

© 2014-2023 iVisa.com. All rights reserved. iVisa and iVisa logo are registered trademarks of iVisa.com.

English - en |