Learn More about France ETIAS for Citizens of Samoa

Learn More about France ETIAS for Citizens of Samoa

iVisa | Updated on Oct 07, 2020

There are certain countries that enjoy visa-free entry into the Schengen countries but are not part of the European Union. Their citizens do not need to acquire a visa for them to be able to enter any country in the Schengen Area. At the moment, there are 62 of them.

If the purpose of the visit is business and travel, foreign nationals coming from these countries will be allowed to enter the Schengen country of their choice. The duration of stay should also be 90 days or less. If they are going to Schengen countries with the intention of working or studying, then they will be denied entry. These conditions are almost the same as those for the use of eVisas.

Fill me in

The European Union is looking closely at the recent migrant concerns as well as probable security issues that may arise at any time. This is why they are looking for ways to improve the management of people going into their member countries. The EU announced that the main objective of the proposed changes is to make the experience of visiting a safer experience for all travelers.

The European Commission (EC) came up with the plan to implement the France ETIAS, in part to cut the time spent by travelers processing and waiting for the document, and also to deal with the growing issues related to border management. Read on and discover information regarding the new system and how to qualify for the program.


What is the ETIAS?

The ETIAS or European Travel Information and Authorization System is a system whose primary purpose is to make visits to the Schengen Area countries as enjoyable and safe for travelers from visa-free countries. The ETIAS will be keeping an eye on the travel history and other information about travelers from the 62 countries allowed into Schengen countries. It is akin to the ESTA or Electronic System for Travel Authorization used by the United States but the ETIAS will not be active until 2022.

The system’s main task is to perform a security check on each applicant for the ETIAS. This procedure will be able to help identify the applicants whose risk factors are low so they will be able to gain entry into their desired Schengen country. This is necessary for people who don’t need a visa for entry purposes, therefore gathering data and updating them constantly is essential.

Visa-free travelers can also use the ETIAS if their purpose in entering the Schengen Area is for transit or for medical reasons. In some instances, they may be obligated to complete a Health Declaration Form. They can apply for one with iVisa.com.

What are the benefits of the ETIAS?

The chief purpose of the ETIAS is to address the growing security and immigration issues faced by the EU. In a speech, Jean-Claude Juncker, President of the European Commission, said that “We need to know who is crossing our borders. This way we will know who is traveling to Europe before they even get here.”

Terrorist activities are on the rise along with other security threats to the Schengen Area and the EU in general. The EU wants everybody who travels to Europe to feel safe and stress-free, especially within the busy Schengen Area. They designed the ETIAS methodology to reduce the risk factor. The procedure involves advanced data-gathering methods and analyzing the data to identify if the applicant is a security risk and should not be allowed to enter. This is basically quashing the problem before it even becomes an issue.

Plus, the system is also expected to cut down on processing times and the time applicants spend waiting for documents. It is also projected to reduce immigration issues and will make the management of the border easier for EU member countries.

What are the 62 countries that need to apply for the ETIAS?

The citizens of these countries are not required to have a Schengen visa for entry. However, in lieu of the visa, they will need an ETIAS authorization which is much less expensive than a visa. The countries enjoying this benefit are the Bahamas, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ukraine, Moldova, Serbia, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania, Guatemala, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Brazil, Mexico, Paraguay, Venezuela, Panama, Peru, Argentina, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Honduras, Dominica, Trinidad and Tobago, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Canada, Saint Vincent, Georgia, Grenada, Brunei, South Korea, Taiwan, Singapore, Japan, Macao S.A.R., Hong Kong S.A.R., Malaysia, Solomon Islands, Marshall Islands, Kiribati, Australia, New Zealand, Mauritius, Palau, Micronesia, Samoa, Nauru, Seychelles, Timor Leste, Tuvalu, Tonga, United Arab Emirates, Israel, United States of America, and Vanuatu.

This list may be updated later on since the ETIAS will not be active until 2022.

What information do you need for the application?

The ETIAS is supposed to make applications and entry easier for travelers that are eligible for the service. Still, you will need to input personal information to start the application. The information required includes basic biometric information, passport details, and contact information.

Since the ETIAS is also focused on security, it may require travelers to input information such as criminal records or medical conditions.

Will the ETIAS authorization be valid for a long time?

The ETIAS is expected to be valid for three years, unless there is updated information that says otherwise. It could also be valid only until the travel document used in the application expires. Determining if the validity is one or the other is based on the risk factor.

Will you need additional documents when applying for the ETIAS?

The ETIAS application normally only requires a valid passport from the applicant. However, they may also need to submit clear digital photos of themselves, and it should be different from that found in their passports.

Is it safe to apply with iVisa.com?

You don’t need to worry about anyone else having access to your personal details because at iVisa.com we place the utmost importance on protecting your information. We’ve put in place security measures and checks to guarantee that only authorized personnel to view your private details and documents.

Where can I get additional information about the ETIAS?

iVisa.com’s website contains information about the ETIAS program for different Schengen countries so feel free to go there. You can also send an email to help@ivisa.com or call our representatives at +1 (786) 460-2707 for other questions and concerns.

Share this article on:
Need Help?