Iran visa policy

Iran visa policy

iVisa | Updated on Aug 16, 2021

Visa Policy for Iran ‌

Iran visa policy consists of a set of regulations and rules that govern immigration and travel documents. The Iran visa will enable you to visit Iran as planned. Foreign nationals can obtain a variety of visas to visit China (for tourism, business, cultural activities, etc.). The most common form of visa for travelers to Iran is the visa-on-arrival (e-VOA) unless they come from a country exempt from visa requirements, or they can obtain an Iran visa-free visa.

Fill me in

Iran's visa policy allows 12 countries to enter visa-free for 90 days within 180 days depending on their nationality. A total of 9 countries are eligible for visas on arrival. To enter Iran, the rest must first get pre-approval or an e-visa approved by the Iranian government. Keep on reading this article for more details about the Iran visa policy.

Tourist Visa Policy for Iran ‌

Individuals and groups of foreign nationals who would like to visit Iran individually and in a group, as well as their families and friends, would be issued an Iran Tourist Visa. The Iranian Embassy/Consulate in the respective country should be contacted for visa applications by Afghan and Bangladeshi citizens living in their countries. Check out the Iran visa policy for more details.

According to Iran visa policy, visas can be obtained online through approved travel agencies by residents of Colombia, Iraq, Jordan, Pakistan, and Somalia. Last but not least, Canadian, United Kingdom, and United States residents are only allowed to enter Iran and obtain their visas from approved travel agencies as part of an authorized and controlled trip, and they need more permits than other citizens.


E-visas to Iran can be applied electronically in order to realize a trip to the country. Iranian nationals may use an E-Visa for entry, tourism, working, treatment, press, study, and family purposes. Iranian visas can be obtained online for these purposes. Please make changes to the visa application form as per the Iran visa policy so that all questions are correctly and completely answered; otherwise, the reapplication and rescheduling of your visa interview will have to be done again.

The first step of the visa application process is to submit your electronic visa application. There are certain visas for which a visa interview is required; however, there are also visas for which a visa interview is not required. During the next 10 business days, you can wait for the application to pass the necessary procedures.

As long as you are told by the embassy or consulate that you need a visa interview, you do not need to complete the entire visa application process until your interview with a consular officer is complete. Check out the Iran visa policy for more details.

The intention of your trip along with other considerations will determine the type of visa which is appropriate for you, based on Iran's laws and regulations. As an applicant, you must meet all the requirements for obtaining a visa. An officer at the consulate will check your documents and records, and if accepted, you will be told what kind of visa you are eligible for. Here is a list of countries that are eligible for Iran’s electronic visa.

  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Andorra
  • Angola
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Cape Verde
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Chile
  • Comoros
  • Congo Republic
  • DR Congo
  • Costa Rica
  • Cote d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast)
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Estonia
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Greece
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iraq
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Kosovo
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Latvia
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • North Korea (DPRK)
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Palau
  • Palestine
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • South Sudan
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste (East Timor)
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkmenistan
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Holy See (Vatican)
  • Vietnam
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

See more details about Iran eVisa

Iran Visa on Arrival

Tourists, pilgrims, and those entering for entry purposes are eligible for an Iran E-Visa when they arrive. Visas have a 30-day validity period. On the same online system, it is possible to extend your visa inside Iran. Keep on reading for more details about the Iran visa policy. Any individual traveling for an additional purpose must obtain the necessary visa before arrival. According to the Iran visa policy, the Iran E-Visa on Arrival will be completely rejected for journalists or reporters coming to Iran for job purposes, for holders of diplomatic or service passports, and for those who have already been denied Iranian visas.

Applicants for Iran E-Visas on Arrival must have applied online at least two days before arrival, and they must have received an "Iran Visa Grant Notice" or a "Submission Notice" via email.
To apply for the E-visa on arrival in Iran, you will have to go online. There is a visa application process where you can apply and receive your e-visa on arrival.

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Canada
  • Colombia
  • Jordan
  • Pakistan
  • Somalia
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America

Other Visa Information for Iran ‌

Those who would like to travel to the holy places of Iran will be issued an Iranian pilgrimage visa. In the case where you are not eligible for the Iran E-Visa on Arrival, you will need to apply for an Iran Pilgrimage visa from one of the Iran visa application centers, embassies, or consulates in your country of residence. You need to apply at the closest embassy or consulate to your location if none of them are in your country. The only country that faces a travel ban from Iran in Yemen.

Check if you need a visa to enter Iran