Malawi Visa Types

Malawi Visa Types

iVisa | Updated on Jan 21, 2020

Malawi is a popular destination in southeast Africa that attracts thousands of visitors each year for a variety of reasons. In order to accommodate the influx of diverse travel to their country, the Malawi Immigration department offers six different types of visas: the tourist visa, the official visa, the transit visa, the diplomatic visa, the courtesy visa, and the e-visa.


So what are all these visas and which one do you need? Each visa is for particular purposes and each has their own stipulations. Keep reading to find out more!

Ready to start a visa application? Click here.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

What are the Different Visas For?

  • Tourist Visa: visa issued for the exclusive purposes of tourism, residency, and/or business.
  • Official Visa: a type of visa that is exclusively reserved for those entering Malawi on official business. Those who receive this visa must have an official passport or a service passport.
  • Transit Visa: visa issued to in-transit travelers. Transit visas expire within seven days and can only be used once.
  • Diplomatic Visa: visa issued to holders of diplomatic passports for the purpose of an official visit or mission to Malawi.
  • Courtesy Visa: visa issued to people who are visiting Malawi by way of invitation from the Malawi government. Those who receive this visa are not eligible for a diplomatic visa.
  • e-Visa: an electronic visa issued for the purposes of tourism, residency, and/or business.

Do All Visitors to Malawi Need a Visa?

No. The Immigration department of Malawi allows citizens of 34 countries listed below a visa-free entry. Only citizens from countries not approved for visa-free travel to Malawi are obligated to apply for a visa.

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Botswana
  • Dominica
  • Fiji
  • Gambia
  • Grenada
  • Hong Kong, China
  • Israel
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malaysia
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Northern Ireland
  • Samoa (Western)
  • Seychelles
  • South Africa
  • St. Kitts Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Can I Enter Malawi Multiple Times with a Visa? When Does My Visa Expire?

It depends. Some of the visas allow multiple entry while others prohibit it. Each visa type also has its own guidelines for expiration. For instance, the tourist e-visa that is valid for a stay lasting no longer than 30 days Per Entry, is sanctioned for a Single Entry, and expires 90 days after issued.

Does Processing Take Long? How Much Does Each Visa Type Cost?

How long it takes for your visa to be processed depends on the kind of visa and the processing speed you choose. For the tourist e-visa, you can choose from three different processing speeds:

  • Standard Processing: Your application will be processed in 8 days and will cost USD 77.00.
  • Rush Processing: Your application will be processed in 7 days and will cost USD 102.00.
  • Super Rush Processing: Your application will be processed in 5 days and will cost USD 127.00.
Share this article on:
Need Help?