Qatar Visa Policy

Qatar Visa Policy

iVisa | Updated on Feb 27, 2022

Visa Policy for Qatar

Qatar Visa Policy is made up of the rules that a citizen from any country around the globe needs to follow diligently so that they might be allowed entry into the country of Qatar. The purpose of a traveler's visit will be fulfilled and granted if they hold a legal visa to enter the country. A visa is an authorized document with which a person can gain entry into any foreign country, live in a foreign country, and legally leave the foreign country. A visa is either glued or stamped to the passport of the traveler.

Fill me in

The Qatar Visa Policy is followed by all the nationalists of other countries who wish to travel to Qatar for either tourism or business purposes. Every person must have a visa to gain entry into Qatar but according to the Qatar Visa policy, there are a few countries that do not need to have a visa to enter the country of Qatar.

Qatar Visa Policy requirements differ from person to person and this solely depends on the country the person belongs to. They have to follow all the rules to obtain a visa. The rules and requirements depend on various factors like the duration of stay, the purpose of stay, etc.

There are several types of visas available to people traveling to Qatar, but the most recognized ones are just two of them. They are the tourist visa and the business visa. A person who acquires a tourist visa can stay in Qatar for 30 days only. On the other hand, the people holding a business visa can either stay in the country for 30 days or 90 days depending on their need and purpose.

At the moment 5 countries do not require a visa to enter the country of Qatar. These 5 countries are Bahrain, Oman, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, and Kuwait. These are the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) nations and they enjoy the freedom of movement in Qatar. They do not need a visa to travel to Qatar under any circumstances.

17 countries do not need a visa to enter Qatar and live in the country for 90 days. Some of these countries are Argentina, Russia, Norway, Ukraine, Malaysia, Switzerland, Brazil, etc. There are around 42 countries that do not need a visa to enter and live in Qatar for 30 days. Some of the countries are Indonesia, Japan, Mexico, Ireland, Canada, Venezuela, etc.

9 countries have to acquire a consular visa or an embassy visa from the Qatar Embassy of Qatar’s diplomatic mission present in their country before they visit Qatar, these countries are Antarctica, Bonaire, Christmas Island, British Indian Ocean Territory, Egypt, Curacao, Israel, Ivory Coast, and the Turks and Caicos Islands. According to the Qatar Visa Policy, if travelers from these countries fail to obtain a visa from their nearest Embassy, they will not be allowed to enter Qatar. In the next section, you will be guided through the various ways in which a person can acquire a visa depending on their country according to the Qatar Visa Policy to enter the country of Qatar.

Tourist Visa Policy for Qatar

People who want to visit Qatar can obtain a visa in the following ways which are allowed for their country by Qatar. There are 3 ways in which a person can obtain a visa.

A visa for Qatar may be obtained by filling up an online form which is known as a eVisa. eVisa is available to the people of around 230 countries namely India, France, Spain, Germany, Algeria, etc. Nationalists from 5 countries can obtain a VOA which stands for Visa On Arrival. They can stay only for 30 days in the country for business or tourism purposes. The countries eligible for a VOA are India, Pakistan, Iran, Macau, and Taiwan. These countries are eligible for eVisa too. Nationalists from 10 countries need to acquire a consular visa to visit the country of Qatar as no other option is available to them. According to the Qatar Visa Policy, if they fail they do so, their entry will be denied.

All travelers need to follow various rules and regulations to acquire a visa by any of the methods mentioned above.

Qatar eVisa

To apply for their eVisa, travelers have to fill up a simple form that will not take much of their time online. They need to provide all the basic information which will be asked for in the application form like their passport details, contact details, and several other types of information that might be required.

Travelers have to pay an online fee in real-time and a valid email ID needs to be provided in the form so that the visa can be sent to the traveler via mail. Travelers who have their eVisa can stay in Qatar for 30 days with an extension period of 30 days more.

Qatar Visa On Arrival

Citizens of 5 countries are eligible for a Visa On Arrival in Qatar. These countries are also eligible for eVisa and can obtain a visa in any of the 2 ways which might be comfortable to them. They need to show the required documents that will be asked for like information about their accommodation and return tickets,

With a Visa On Arrival, any person from these 5 countries can stay in Qatar for 30 days for any purpose of their own whether it is business or tourism.

Qatar Consular or Embassy Visa

Travelers from around 10 countries need to have a visa before they arrive in Qatar. They have to obtain a visa before their visit from the Embassy of Qatar or Qatar’s diplomatic missions which are present in their country. This visa is known as a consular visa.

To obtain a consular visa, a traveler will have to make an appointment with the embassy. Then the travelers will need to pay a visit to the embassy to fill up a form. They need to provide the required documents and information that will be asked for in the form. After the submission of the form, the person will have to wait for a few days to receive their visa by which they can visit Qatar.

Was this page helpful?