Tuvalu Visa Policy

Tuvalu Visa Policy

iVisa | Updated on Aug 31, 2021

Visa Policy for Tuvalu

The Tuvalu visa policy indicates the regulations foreign nationals must follow to access the Pacific Islands. The requirements are often determined in consideration of the foreigner’s nationality, the purpose of their tripl, and the length of time they plan to stay inside Tuvalu.

Fill me in

Island authorities have established a flexible Tuvalu visa policy that states all foreign nationals are required to possess a visa, except for passport holders from any of the countries belonging to the Schengen zone.

In 2016, Tuvalu signed a mutual visa waiver agreement with the European Union. The arrangement enables citizens from the EU and the Schengen area to access the country without needing to apply for a visa.

According to the Tuvalu visa policy, Schengen travelers don’t require a visa and can stay on the islands for up to 90 days within a 180 days period.

However, it is important to remark that the Tuvalu visa policy is not restricted. On the other hand, travellers from the remaining countries can obtain a visa on arrival at any of the entry ports.

Citizens from more than 30 countries and territories are exempt from paying the AUD 100 fee when they get their visas on arrival. Nationals from countries not listed can still obtain a visa on arrival by paying the AUD 100 visa fee.

To work and live legally in Tuvalu, foreigners must apply for a permit to enter and reside. These permissions are also obtained on arrival and are intended for business, employment, study, do research, and religious purposes. Authorities issue these permits for up to one year.

The following sections will expand the information about tourism and the Tuvalu visa policy, specifying the requirements to enter the country and acquire a visa on arrival:

Tourism Visa Policy for Tuvalu

As previously mentioned, the Tuvalu visa policy is clear and welcoming; despite most foreign nationals requiring a visa to access the islands to visit as tourists, they can get their visa on arrival once they arrive at any of the ports of entry.

Foreign nationals from 26 countries that are part of the Schengen agreement do not need a visa to enter Tuvalu. They must present a passport with validity of at least six months and a blank page instead as well as paying an AUD 100 fee. They are allowed a maximum stay of 90 days in a 180 day period:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • the Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland,
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

The more than 150 nationalities that are not named on this list are able to acquire a tourist visa on arrival.

The next paragraphs explain in detail the information about the Tuvalu visa on arrival and information about other types of visa:

Tuvalu Tourist visa on arrival

Tuvalu authorities only issue visas and permits upon arrival. The nationals that do not hold passports from any of the 26 countries belonging to the Schengen area will have the chance to receive their tourist visa on arrival.

Every foreigner must hold a passport that is valid for six months, has a blank page to be stamped, an exit ticket from the island, proof of having enough funds, and pay a AUD 100 fee.

There are more than 30 nationalities that are exempt from paying the AUD 100 fee. These travelers will only need to present the a valid passport along with a their flight ticket to enter the country:

  • Antigua and Barbuda Nauru
  • Bahamas Belize New Caledonia
  • The Cayman Islands
  • Niue
  • the Cook Islands
  • Northern Mariana Island
  • Denmark
  • Norway
  • Fiji
  • American Samoa
  • Gambia
  • Samoa
  • Gibraltar
  • St Kitt-Nevis
  • Grenada
  • St Lucia
  • Hong Kong
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Iceland
  • Sweden
  • Jamaica
  • Switzerland
  • Kenya
  • Tanzania
  • Kiribati
  • Tonga
  • the Republic of Korea
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • the Leeward Islands
  • Uganda
  • Lesotho
  • The United Kingdom
  • Malawi
  • Vanuatu
  • Malaysia
  • Zambia
  • Maldives
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat

All visas on arrival are issued for a maximum time of one month and can be extended for another month at the immigration office.

Other Visa Information for Tuvalu

In case foreigners intend to visit Tuvalu for other intentions rather than tourism (like doing business, start working, study, doing academic or scientific research, attending a cultural or religious event, or family reunification), then they must obtain a permit to enter and reside. The permit to enter and reside in Tuvalu is issued at the entry port of the airport on arrival as well. The foreign national must present adequate and required documentation to the immigration officer.

The permits are only available on arrival. Candidates must possess all the mandatory documents with them when crossing the border. Before entering the country, applicants will need to get a sponsorship or employment letter from their employer. They should also undergo any necessary medical examinations and request a police report if the employment period is for longer than a year.

Specifically to work, according to the Tuvalu visa policy, the foreigner must present the following documentation:

  • A valid passport
  • Two photos in passport size
  • Proof of financial capability
  • An employment sponsorship
  • A CV showing the applicant is a good fit for the job position

In case the job opportunity is for more than a year, the candidate must present a home country police record and extra medical and radiology examinations.