logo
fr | $ USD

Explorer

Paramètres

Sélectionnez votre langue

Sélectionnez votre devise

  • AED United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • AFN Afghan Afghani
  • ALL Albanian Lek
  • AMD Armenian Dram
  • ANG Netherlands Antillean Guilder
  • AOA Angolan Kwanza
  • ARS Argentine Peso
  • AUD Australian Dollar
  • AWG Aruban Florin
  • AZN Azerbaijani Manat
  • BAM Bosnia-Herzegovina Convertible Mark
  • BBD Barbadian Dollar
  • BDT Bangladeshi Taka
  • BGN Bulgarian Lev
  • BIF Burundian Franc
  • BMD Bermudan Dollar
  • BND Brunei Dollar
  • BOB Bolivian Boliviano
  • BRL Brazilian Real
  • BSD Bahamian Dollar
  • BWP Botswanan Pula
  • BZD Belize Dollar
  • CAD Canadian Dollar
  • CDF Congolese Franc
  • CHF Swiss Franc
  • CLP Chilean Peso
  • CNY Chinese Yuan
  • COP Colombian Peso
  • CRC Costa Rican Colón
  • CVE Cape Verdean Escudo
  • CZK Czech Republic Koruna
  • DJF Djiboutian Franc
  • DKK Danish Krone
  • DOP Dominican Peso
  • DZD Algerian Dinar
  • EGP Egyptian Pound
  • ETB Ethiopian Birr
  • EUR Euro
  • FJD Fijian Dollar
  • FKP Falkland Islands Pound
  • GBP British Pound Sterling
  • GEL Georgian Lari
  • GIP Gibraltar Pound
  • GMD Gambian Dalasi
  • GNF Guinean Franc
  • GTQ Guatemalan Quetzal
  • GYD Guyanaese Dollar
  • HKD Hong Kong Dollar
  • HNL Honduran Lempira
  • HTG Haitian Gourde
  • HUF Hungarian Forint
  • IDR Indonesian Rupiah
  • ILS Israeli New Sheqel
  • INR Indian Rupee
  • ISK Icelandic Króna
  • JMD Jamaican Dollar
  • JPY Japanese Yen
  • KES Kenyan Shilling
  • KGS Kyrgystani Som
  • KHR Cambodian Riel
  • KMF Comorian Franc
  • KRW South Korean Won
  • KYD Cayman Islands Dollar
  • KZT Kazakhstani Tenge
  • LAK Laotian Kip
  • LBP Lebanese Pound
  • LKR Sri Lankan Rupee
  • LRD Liberian Dollar
  • LSL Lesotho Loti
  • MAD Moroccan Dirham
  • MDL Moldovan Leu
  • MGA Malagasy Ariary
  • MKD Macedonian Denar
  • MNT Mongolian Tugrik
  • MOP Macanese Pataca
  • MUR Mauritian Rupee
  • MVR Maldivian Rufiyaa
  • MWK Malawian Kwacha
  • MXN Mexican Peso
  • MYR Malaysian Ringgit
  • MZN Mozambican Metical
  • NAD Namibian Dollar
  • NGN Nigerian Naira
  • NIO Nicaraguan Córdoba
  • NOK Norwegian Krone
  • NPR Nepalese Rupee
  • NZD New Zealand Dollar
  • OMR Omani Rial
  • PAB Panamanian Balboa
  • PEN Peruvian Nuevo Sol
  • PGK Papua New Guinean Kina
  • PHP Philippine Peso
  • PKR Pakistani Rupee
  • PLN Polish Zloty
  • PYG Paraguayan Guarani
  • QAR Qatari Rial
  • RON Romanian Leu
  • RSD Serbian Dinar
  • RUB Russian Ruble
  • RWF Rwandan Franc
  • SAR Saudi Riyal
  • SBD Solomon Islands Dollar
  • SCR Seychellois Rupee
  • SEK Swedish Krona
  • SGD Singapore Dollar
  • SHP Saint Helena Pound
  • SLL Sierra Leonean Leone
  • SOS Somali Shilling
  • SRD Surinamese Dollar
  • SVC Salvadoran Colón
  • SZL Swazi Lilangeni
  • THB Thai Baht
  • TJS Tajikistani Somoni
  • TOP Tongan Pa anga
  • TRY Turkish Lira
  • TTD Trinidad and Tobago Dollar
  • TWD New Taiwan Dollar
  • TZS Tanzanian Shilling
  • UAH Ukrainian Hryvnia
  • UGX Ugandan Shilling
  • USD United States Dollar
  • UYU Uruguayan Peso
  • UZS Uzbekistan Som
  • VND Vietnamese Dong
  • VUV Vanuatu Vatu
  • WST Samoan Tala
  • XAF CFA Franc BEAC
  • XCD East Caribbean Dollar
  • XOF CFA Franc BCEAO
  • XPF CFP Franc
  • YER Yemeni Rial
  • ZAR South African Rand
  • ZMW Zambian Kwacha
Guide de voyage en Zambie : Tout ce qu'il faut savoir pour visiter la Zambie en 2023
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Welcome to Zambie

La Zambie est l'une des destinations de rêve pour les touristes, car elle offre les meilleures expériences de safari au monde. L'incroyable concentration d'animaux sauvages et les stupéfiantes chutes Victoria en font un voyage unique et certainement inoubliable.

Ces dernières années, la Zambie est devenue une destination touristique très prisée, à voir absolument sur-si vous aimez les safaris à pied. Pour vous préparer à une nouvelle aventure, nous vous proposons l'ultime guide de voyage en Zambie avec tous les conseils pratiques et l'inspiration dont vous avez besoin.

Liste de contrôle des documents pour la Zambie

  • Visa (le cas échéant)

  • Déclaration de santé

  • Passeport en cours de validité

  • Fonds suffisants

  • Billet d'avion aller-retour

Informations essentielles sur le voyage en Zambie

  • Monnaie - Kwacha zambien (ZK). 1 $ équivaut à environ 18 ZK.

  • Budget journalier pour 1 personne - Par jour, préparez-vous à dépenser 907 ZK (50 $).

  • Langues - L'anglais est la langue officielle de la Zambie, utilisée dans les affaires et l'éducation. Toutefois, les principales langues locales sont le nyanja et le bemba.

  • Type de prise - Pour la Zambie, il existe trois types de prises, C, D et G. Le pays fonctionne avec une tension d'alimentation de 230V et 50Hz.

  • Fuseau horaire - Central Africa Time (CAT), UTC +2.

  • Les 3 villes les plus visitées - Lusaka, Livingstone et Ndola.

  • Les 3 principaux sites/monuments - Parc national de South Luangwa, chutes Victoria et parc national de Kafue.

Informations sur les visas pour la Zambie

Selon votre nationalité, vous devrez peut-être demander un visa pour visiter la Zambie. Utilisez notre outil pratique Visa Checker Tool pour vérifier si vous avez besoin d'un visa pour visiter le pays, et faites votre demande directement.

Le visa UniVisa KAZA pour la Zambie expliqué

Le projet pilote Zambia KAZA UniVisa a été conçu en collaboration avec la Banque mondiale pour faciliter les déplacements des touristes étrangers entre la Zambie et le Zimbabwe.

Le KAZA UniVisa est un document de voyage spécial qui permet d'entrer en Zambie et au Zimbabwe aussi souvent que vous le souhaitez dans un délai de 30 jours (Entrée multiple), ainsi que d'entrer au Botswana pour une excursion d'une journée par la frontière de Kazungula. Vous devez visiter la Zambie en tant que premier pays de votre liste pour pouvoir bénéficier de ce visa.

Explication du visa électronique touristique zambien

Le visa e Zambian Tourist e-visa est un document officiel qui permet aux ressortissants éligibles d'entrer en Zambie à des fins touristiques, et pour lequel ils doivent faire une demande à l'avance. Il existe trois types de visa électronique pour la Zambie : le visa à entrée unique (-), le visa à double entrée (-) et le visa à entrées multiples (-).

Coûts et budget types pour la Zambie

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste des coûts à prendre en compte lors de la planification de votre budget pour votre voyage en Zambie.

Dépenses journalières par personne - Prévoir un budget journalier de 907 ZK (50 $).

  • Repas - Vous dépenserez en moyenne 217 ZK (12 $) par jour pour vos repas en Zambie.

  • Transport - Selon le type de transport que vous utilisez, les transports locaux coûtent entre 54 ZK et 180 ZK (3 $ - 10 $).

  • Hôtel - L'hébergement d'une personne dans un hôtel économique coûte en moyenne 450 ZK (26 $) par nuit.

Globalement, en fonction de vos besoins, vous pouvez dépenser jusqu'à 10 000 ZK (700 $) pour un séjour confortable d'une semaine en Zambie pour deux personnes. Toutefois, en choisissant des options économiques, vous pouvez dépenser moins que cela.

Transports et déplacements en Zambie

Il existe plusieurs façons d'explorer la Zambie. Cependant, n'oubliez pas que les routes ne sont pas très bien entretenues, alors choisissez ce qui vous convient le mieux et ce qui correspond à vos critères.

  • Minibus - Les minibus locaux ont des itinéraires spécifiques et constituent un moyen de transport très économique. Avant de monter dans l'un de ces véhicules, confirmez la destination avec le chauffeur ou l'assistant.

  • Bus - Des bus et des autocars partent de la gare routière interurbaine de Lusaka vers des villes telles que Kapiri, Livingstone et Ndola, ainsi que vers des pays voisins comme le Zimbabwe, le Botswana, le Malawi et la Tanzanie. Vous pouvez réserver à l'avance sur le site Internet ou acheter les billets à la gare routière.

  • Train - Le train Tazara (Tanzania-Zambia Railway) est une option pour voyager du centre de la Zambie vers le nord de la Zambie et Dar es Salaam en Tanzanie, si vous souhaitez voyager dans les deux pays. Des billets économiques sont disponibles à partir de 430 ZK (24 $). Il est conseillé de réserver votre voyage un mois à l'avance pour éviter toute déception.

  • Vols intérieurs - Si vous voulez gagner du temps, vous pouvez voyager par vol intérieur vers différentes destinations, car les pistes d'atterrissage pour les vols en ULM sont disséminées dans tout le pays.

Lusaka, Ndola, Mfuwe et Livingstone sont des aéroports importants, desservis quotidiennement par plusieurs compagnies aériennes. Les vols charters vers des pistes d'atterrissage telles que Royal et Jeki, dans le parc national de South Luangwa, sont également fréquents.

Si vous voyagez en haute saison, assurez-vous de réserver votre vol à l'avance pour bénéficier de tarifs plus avantageux.

  • Taxis privés - Ce sont les taxis qui opèrent légalement et qui se caractérisent par l'inscription "taxi" sur le toit de la voiture. Vous pouvez les trouver dans les principaux centres commerciaux tels que Manda Hill, East Park, et à l'aéroport de Lusaka, entre autres.

Il est essentiel de savoir qu'avant de prendre un taxi, vous devez négocier le prix avec le chauffeur afin de savoir combien coûtera la course et de ne pas être surpris par le prix.

  • Location de voiture privée - C'est la meilleure option pour explorer les endroits reculés. Il existe plusieurs agences de location de voitures dans le pays, et certaines d'entre elles peuvent vous demander un permis de conduire international. Si vous choisissez cette option, essayez d'avoir tous les documents nécessaires.

Vous pouvez également louer les services d'un chauffeur, mais cela vous coûtera un peu plus cher. Toutefois, la location d'une voiture peut s'avérer dangereuse, car les routes ne sont pas bien entretenues et l'expérience est donc nécessaire.

Sécurité en Zambie

La Zambie est généralement un pays sûr pour les touristes. Cependant, soyez toujours vigilant et prenez les précautions nécessaires pour éviter les vols et les vols à la tire.

Voici quelques recommandations pour voyager en Zambie :

  • Les femmes peuvent voyager seules en toute sécurité, mais il est conseillé d'éviter de sortir tard le soir.

  • Souscrivez une assurance voyage en cas d'urgence. Vous aurez ainsi plus facilement accès à des soins médicaux.

  • Ne buvez que de l'eau provenant de bouteilles scellées. Il n'est pas recommandé de boire l'eau du robinet.

  • Ne gardez dans votre poche que l'argent nécessaire pour la journée et voyagez avec de petites sommes d'argent.

Météo en Zambie

La meilleure période pour voyager en Zambie est la saison fraîche et sèche, entre juin et novembre, lorsque les journées sont chaudes et les nuits froides. Les températures peuvent varier entre 23°C/ 73°F et 36°C/97°F dans tout le pays. En outre, vous avez plus de chances d'explorer et d'observer la faune dans toute sa splendeur, car l'herbe est rare.

Pendant la saison des pluies (mi-novembre à avril), les routes peuvent être inondées et il est plus difficile de se déplacer, et la plupart des attractions ferment. Cependant, le meilleur moment pour visiter les chutes Victoria est juste après les pluies d'été, de février à mai, lorsque la plus grande quantité d'eau coule aux chutes Victoria.

Villes et villages populaires en Zambie

Voici notre top 5 des meilleures villes de Zambie à explorer :

Lusaka est la capitale de la Zambie et l'une des principales villes à visiter, avec ses bars uniques, ses grands restaurants et ses cafés cachés. En outre, vous pouvez visiter le parc national de Lusaka ainsi que le centre historique zambien et découvrir l'histoire du pays.

Livingstone est une ville dynamique qui regorge de boutiques et de marchés locaux. Ici, les locaux et les étrangers se mélangent, donnant une touche d'exotisme à la ville. C'est aussi la porte d'entrée vers les magiques chutes Victoria.

Ndola est une ville accueillante avec des habitants sympathiques. Vous pourrez y visiter le célèbre Dag Hammarskjöld Memorial Site, le Copperbelt Museum et bien d'autres attractions.

Kitwe est la deuxième-plus grande ville de Zambie. Elle possède une importante industrie minière et de nombreuses attractions touristiques pour les visiteurs qui souhaitent explorer des lieux tels que les chutes de Mwekwera, le barrage de Mindolo, le Kumasamba Lodge, la réserve ornithologique de Chembe et les mines de Nkana.

Kabwe , que les mineurs australiens et européens ont surnommé Broken Hill en raison de sa ressemblance avec la ville éponyme en Australie, offre des attractions telles que le BigTree National Monument, la pêche, la rivière Mulungushi, le marais Lukanga et le Broken Hill Man Memorial.

À faire et à voir en Zambie

Pour mieux connaître la Zambie, il est nécessaire de connaître les plus beaux sites et paysages qu'offre ce pays, des safaris remplis d'animaux sauvages aux incroyables chutes d'eau et autres parcs nationaux incontournables. Voici les meilleures choses à faire en Zambie !

Visitez les incroyables parcs nationaux zambiens

Le parc national de South Luangwa est la destination de safari la plus populaire et l'un des meilleurs endroits de Zambie pour observer la faune. Il possède la plus grande concentration d'animaux en Afrique. Il abrite des crocodiles, des hippopotames, des éléphants, des girafes, des lions, des léopards et des buffles.

Nous vous recommandons de visiter ce lieu d'une grande intensité pendant la saison sèche, car les animaux affluent sur les rives de la rivière, ce qui donne une occasion unique de voir des lions et des léopards en action. L'une des choses les plus uniques à faire ici est de faire un safari à pied, qui a été introduit dans les années 1960. Victoria Falls est situé entre la frontière de la Zambie et du Zimbabwe, sur le fleuve Zambèze. Le point culminant atteint 108 mètres, mais sa largeur est encore plus surprenante, puisqu'elle s'étend sur plus d'un kilomètre. Plus de cinq cents millions de mètres cubes d'eau tombent dans la gorge par minute. Les chutes Victoria sont l'une des plus grandes attractions touristiques de Zambie à ne pas manquer.

Parc national de Kafue est le plus ancien parc national de l'une des plus grandes zones de chasse protégées d'Afrique. Vous pourrez y observer des antilopes, des chiens sauvages africains, des éléphants et des lézards uniques.

Lower Zambezi National Park est connu pour ses nombreuses options de safari et d'écotourisme. Les lions, les éléphants, les buffles et les léopards s'y rassemblent pour boire de l'eau et se nourrir.

Le fleuve Zambèze est le quatrième-plus grand fleuve d'Afrique. Il s'étend sur plus de 2500 km avant de se jeter dans l'océan Indien. Pendant la saison sèche, le Zambèze est la seule source d'eau pour une grande partie du gibier de Zambie, ce qui en fait un endroit idéal pour un safari.

Cuisine zambienne typique à goûter

Apprendre à connaître un pays, c'est aussi apprendre à connaître sa cuisine. Voici quelques recommandations de plats locaux à essayer en Zambie :

  • Chibwabwa - Ce plat est généralement préparé à l'occasion d'événements officiels. Il se compose de tomates, d'oignons, de feuilles de citrouille et (éventuellement) de cacahuètes. Les ingrédients sont bouillis dans de l'eau jusqu'à ce que le mélange épaississe.

  • Ifisashi - Il s'agit d'un ragoût traditionnel zambien à base de cacahuètes, de tomates, d'oignons et de légumes tels que les feuilles de patate douce, les épinards et le chou.

  • Chikanda - Ce hors-d'œuvre zambien est composé de tubercules de l'orchidée Chikanda. Les petits tubercules sont séchés et broyés, puis mélangés à un mélange épais de cacahuètes et de piments séchés.

Informations sur les vaccins en Zambie

Il existe en Zambie diverses maladies auxquelles vous ne serez probablement pas résistant. Les vaccins peuvent vous protéger contre ces maladies. Les risques sanitaires et les maladies les plus courants en Zambie sont la dengue, le DTP, le paludisme, la fièvre jaune, le Zika et l'hépatite A et B. Contactez votre médecin local pour obtenir des recommandations sur les vaccins.

Veuillez noter que la vaccination contre la fièvre jaune peut être obligatoire si vous venez d'une zone à haut risque . Vous pouvez vous rendre en Zambie sans être vacciné contre le COVID-19, mais des tests peuvent être exigés.

Vous souhaitez obtenir toutes les informations sur la vaccination contre le COVID-19 et d'autres vaccins ? Consultez le site web CDC pour trouver tout ce que vous devez savoir pour préparer votre voyage.

Visiter les chutes Victoria en Zambie

-Les chutes Victoria , situées sur le fleuve Zambèze entre la Zambie et le Zimbabwe, sont d'une beauté et d'une grandeur qui inspirent l'admiration. Dans les années 1800, la tribu Kololo qui vivait dans la région les décrivait comme "Mosi-oa-Tunya", ou "La fumée qui tonne".

Les chutes peuvent être observées depuis un sentier longeant la lisière de la forêt. Un magnifique point de vue est offert au pont Knife-edge Bridge, où les visiteurs ont le meilleur point de vue sur la cataracte orientale et les chutes principales, ainsi que sur le Boiling Pot, d'où la rivière s'écoule dans les gorges de Batoka.

D'autres endroits intéressants sont l'île Livingstone, le pont des chutes et l'arbre Lookout. Devil's Pool est une piscine naturelle au bord des chutes , offrant une vue panoramique. De nombreux visiteurs se rendent à la fois au Zimbabwe et en Zambie car les deux côtés offrent des vues uniques.

Le [KAZA UniVisa], qui permet d'entrer au Zimbabwe et en Zambie, est disponible dans tous les principaux points d'entrée des deux pays, ce qui rend plus facile que jamais la découverte des deux côtés des chutes. Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici.

Faits amusants sur la Zambie

Quelques faits sur la Zambie qui pourraient vous surprendre :

  • La Zambie a été nommée d'après le quatrième-plus grand fleuve d'Afrique. Le Zambèze est le quatrième-plus long fleuve d'Afrique après le Nil, le Congo et le Niger.

  • La monnaie locale est le kwacha zambien, qui se traduit par "aube". Cependant, la plupart des distributeurs automatiques de billets distribuent des dollars américains, que vous pouvez utiliser pour des achats plus importants ou pour payer dans les hôtels et les restaurants.

  • Les chutes Victoria abritent Devil's Pool, une piscine naturelle dans laquelle on peut nager en toute sécurité pendant la saison sèche. À première vue, la piscine semble extrêmement dangereuse, mais grâce à une lèvre sous-marine, elle est sans danger.

  • En Zambie, il est possible d'observer les "cinq grands" : le lion, le léopard, le rhinocéros, l'éléphant et le buffle.

  • Plus de 72 langues sont parlées en Zambie.

1.2M Des clients satisfaits

24/7Soutien

+46,000 revues

10 Années d'expérience

98% taux d'approbation des visas

Clause de non-responsabilité
  • iVisa is NOT affiliated with any government agency. This site does not provide legal advice and we are not a law firm. None of our customer service representatives are lawyers and they also do not provide legal advice. We are a private, internet-based travel and immigration consultancy provider dedicated to helping individuals travel around the world. You may apply by yourself directly on the various government websites. La source d'information : https://www.parliament.gov.zm
Chat on WhatsApp
Chat par interphone

Home >

Zambia Travel Guide: All you need to know to visit Zambia in 2023

Zambia Travel Guide: All you need to know to visit Zambia in 2023

Welcome to Zambia

Zambia is one of the dream destinations for tourists, offering the best safari experiences in the world, as the incredible concentration of wildlife and the stunning Victoria Falls make for a unique and surely unforgettable trip.

In recent years, Zambia has become a highly sought after tourist destination, a must-see if you enjoy walking safaris. To prepare you for a new adventure, we offer you the ultimate Zambia travel guide with all the practical tips and inspiration you need.

Document checklist for Zambia

  • Visa (if applicable)

  • Health declaration

  • Valid passport

  • Sufficient funds

  • Return airline ticket

Essential Zambia travel information

  • Currency - Zambian kwacha (ZK). $1 is equivalent to approx. ZK 18.

  • Daily budget for 1 person - Per day, prepare to spend ZK 907 ($50).

  • Languages - English is the official language of Zambia, which is used in business and education. However, the main local languages are Nyanja and Bemba.

  • Socket type - For Zambia, there are three associated plug types, C, D, and G. The country operates on a 230V supply voltage and 50Hz.

  • Time zone - Central Africa Time (CAT), UTC +2.

  • Top 3 cities to visit - Lusaka, Livingstone, and Ndola.

  • Top 3 landmarks/monuments - South Luangwa National Park, Victoria Falls, and Kafue National Park.

Visa information for Zambia

According to your nationality, you may need to apply for a visa to visit Zambia. Use our convenient Visa Checker Tool to check if you need a visa to visit the country, and apply directly.

The Zambia KAZA UniVisa explained

The Zambia KAZA UniVisa pilot project was designed in collaboration with the World Bank to facilitate easier travel for foreign tourists between Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The KAZA UniVisa is a special travel document that allows entry into Zambia and Zimbabwe as often as you like within 30 days (Multiple Entry), as well as a single entry into Botswana for a day trip through the Kazungula border. You must visit Zambia as the first country on your list in order to be eligible for this visa.

The Zambia Tourist eVisa explained

The Zambian Tourist e-visa is an official document that allows eligible nationals entry to Zambia for tourist purposes, for which they need to apply in advance. There are 3 types of Zambia eVisas, the single-entry, double-entry and multiple-entry visa.

Typical costs and budget for Zambia

Listed below are the costs to take into account when planning your budget for your trip to Zambia.

Daily spending per person - Allow a daily budget of ZK 907 ($50).

  • Meals - On average you’ll spend ZK 217 ($12) on meals per day in Zambia.

  • Transport - Depending on what type of transport you use, local transportation will cost between ZK 54 ZK 180 ($3 - $10).

  • Hotel - Accommodation for one person in a budget hotel costs on average ZK 450 ($26) per night.

Overall, depending on your needs, you may spend up to ZK 10,000 ($700) for a one week of comfortable stay in Zambia for two people. However, choosing budget options may help to spend less than that.

Transport and ways to travel around Zambia

There are several ways to explore Zambia. However, it would help if you remembered that the roads are not well maintained, so choose what suits your needs and what fits your standards.

  • Minibus - Local minibuses have specific routes, and it is a very economical way to travel. Before getting on one of these cars, confirm the destination with the driver or assistant.

  • Bus - Buses and coaches depart in Lusaka from the intercity bus station to cities such as Kapiri, Livingstone, and Ndola, as well as neighboring countries such as Zimbabwe, Botswana, Malawi, and Tanzania. You can book in advance on the website or buy tickets at the bus station.

  • Train - The Tazara train (Tanzania-Zambia Railway) is an option to travel from central Zambia to northern Zambia and Dar es Salaam in Tanzania, if you want to travel to both countries. There are economic tickets available from ZK 430 ($24). It is advisable to book your trip one month in advance to avoid disappointment.

  • Domestic flights - If you want to save time, you can travel per domestic flight to various destinations, as airstrips for microlight flights are dotted around the country.

Lusaka, Ndola, Mfuwe, and Livingstone have major airports, with several airlines flying to each daily. Charter flights to airstrips such as Royal and Jeki in South Luangwa National Park are also frequent.

If you travel in high season, make sure you book your flight in advance for lower prices.

  • Private taxis - These are the taxis that operate legally and are characterized by having the sign ‘taxi' on top of the car. You can find them at the main shopping centers such as Manda Hill, East Park, and the airport in Lusaka, among other places.

It is essential to know that before taking a trip with a taxi, you need to negotiate the price with the driver so that you know how much the trip will cost so as not to be surprised by the price.

  • Private car hire - This is the best option for exploring remote places. There are several car rental agencies in the country, and some of them may ask you for an international driving license. If you take this option, try to have all the necessary documentation.

You can also hire a driver, but it will cost you a little more. However, renting a car may be dangerous, as roads are not well maintained, so experience is needed.

Safety in Zambia

Zambia is generally a safe country to travel to as a tourist. However, always be alert and take the necessary precautions to avoid theft and pickpocketing.

Here are a few recommendations for traveling around Zambia:

  • Women can travel alone safely, but avoiding going out late at night is advisable.

  • Purchase travel insurance in case of emergencies. You can have medical access more easily.

  • Only drink water from sealed bottles. It is not recommended to drink water from the tap.

  • Only keep money for the day in your pocket, and travel with small amounts of cash.

Weather in Zambia

The best time to travel in Zambia is during the cool, dry season between June and November when the days are warm and the nights cold. Temperatures can range between 23°C/ 73°F and 36°C/97°F throughout the country. In addition, you have more chances to explore and observe wildlife in all its glory, as grass is low.

In the rainy season (mid-November to April) the roads might flood and it gets harder to travel around, plus most attractions close. However, the best time to visit Victoria Falls is just after the summer rains from February to May, when the most amount of water flows at Victoria Falls.

Popular cities and towns in Zambia

Here’s our top 5 of the best cities and towns in Zambia to explore:

Lusaka is the capital of Zambia and one of the major cities to enjoy, with unique bars, great restaurants, and hidden cafés. In addition, you can visit the Lusaka National Park as well as the Zambian Historical Center and get to know the history of the country.

Livingstone is a dynamic city with plenty of shops and local markets to find a vibrant atmosphere. Here, locals and foreigners mix, giving an exotic touch to the town. It’s also the gateway to the magical Victoria Falls.

Ndola is a welcoming city with friendly locals. Here you can visit the famous Dag Hammarskjöld Memorial Site, the Copperbelt Museum, and many other attractions.

Kitwe is the second-largest city in Zambia. It has a large mining industry and numerous tourist attractions for visitors who wish to explore places such as Mwekwera Falls, Mindolo Dam, Kumasamba Lodge, Chembe Bird Sanctuary, and Nkana Mines.

Kabwe, which Australian and European miners nicknamed Broken Hill after its similarity to the namesake town in Australia, offers attractions such as the BigTree National Monument, fishing, the Mulungushi River, Lukanga Swamp, and Broken Hill Man Memorial.

Must do and see in Zambia

To get to know Zambia better, it is necessary to know the most beautiful landmarks and landscapes this country offers, from safaris full of wildlife to incredible waterfalls and other unmissable national parks. Here are the best things to do in Zambia!

Visit the incredible Zambian national parks

South Luangwa National Park is the most popular safari destination and one of Zambia's best places to see wildlife. It has the largest concentration of animals in Africa. It is home to crocodiles, hippos, elephants, giraffes, lions, leopards, and buffaloes.

We recommend visiting this wildly intense place in the dry season, as the animals flock to the river banks, giving a unique opportunity to see lions and leopards in action. One of the most unique things to do here is doing a walking safari, which was introduced in the 1960s. Victoria Falls is located between the border of Zambia and Zimbabwe, on the Zambezi River. The highest point reached 355 feet (108 meters), but its width is even more surprising, which is more than a mile. More than five hundred million cubic meters of water plummets into the gorge per minute. Victoria Falls is one of the biggest tourist attractions in Zambia that cannot be taken off your travel list.

Kafue National Park is the oldest national park in one of the largest protected hunting areas in Africa. You can spot antelopes, African wild dogs, elephants, and unique lizards.

Lower Zambezi National Park is known for its onslaught of safari options and ecotourism. Here lions, elephants, buffalo, and leopards congregate to drink water and feed.

The Zambezi River is the fourth-largest river in Africa. It is more than 2500 km long before ending in the Indian Ocean. In the dry season, the Zambezi River is the only water source for much of Zambia's game, making it a perfect place for a safari.

Typical Zambian food to try

To get to know a country, is to get to know its food. Here are some recommendations for local dishes to try in Zambia:

  • Chibwabwa - This dish is typically prepared for formal events. It consists of tomatoes, onions, pumpkin leaves, and (optionally) peanuts. The ingredients are boiled in water until the mixture thickens in texture.

  • Ifisashi- This is a traditional Zambian stew made with peanuts, tomatoes, onions, and vegetables, such as sweet potato leaves, spinach, and cabbage.

  • Chikanda- This Zambian appetizer is made of tubers of the Chikanda orchids. Small tubers are dried and crushed, then combined with a thick mixture of peanuts and dried chilies.

Vaccine information for Zambia

There are various diseases that occur in Zambia that you are unlikely to be resistant to. Vaccines can protect you against these diseases. The most common health risks and diseases in Zambia are Dengue, DTP, Malaria, Yellow Fever, Zika, and Hepatitis A and B. Contact your local doctor for vaccine recommendations.

Please note that being vaccinated against Yellow Fever may be mandatory if traveling from a high risk area. You can travel to Zambia without being vaccinated for COVID-19, but testing requirements may apply.

Want to know all the information about COVID-19 vaccination and other vaccines? Check the CDC website to find everything you need to know to prepare for your trip.

Visiting the Victoria Falls in Zambia

Awe-inspiring beauty and grandeur can be seen at Victoria Falls, located on the Zambezi River between Zambia and Zimbabwe. In the 1800s, the Kololo tribe living in the area described it as 'Mosi-oa-Tunya', or The Smoke that Thunders.

The falls can be viewed from a path along the edge of the forest. A beautiful viewpoint is offered at the Knife-edge Bridge, where visitors have the best vantage point over the Eastern Cataract and the main falls as well as the Boiling Pot, from which the river flows down the Batoka Gorge.

Other great spots include Livingstone Island, the Falls Bridge, and the Lookout Tree. Devil’s Pool is a natural swimming pool on the edge of the falls, offering panoramic views across. Many visitors travel to both Zimbabwe and Zambia because both sides offer unique views.

The [KAZA UniVisa] for entry into both Zimbabwe and Zambia is available at all major ports of entry into both countries, making it easier than ever to experience both sides of the falls. To find out more, click here.

Fun facts about Zambia

A few facts about Zambia that might surprise you:

  • Zambia was named after the fourth-biggest river in Africa. The Zambezi is the fourth-longest river in Africa after the Nile, Congo, and Niger Rivers.

  • The local currency is the Zambian kwacha, which translates to 'dawn'. However, most ATMs give out US dollars, which you can use for larger purchases or when paying at hotels and restaurants.

  • Victoria Falls are home to Devil's Pool, a natural pool that can be safely swum in during the dry season. At first glance, the pool looks extremely dangerous, but due to an underwater lip, it's safe.

  • In Zambia, it's possible to see the 'big five': the lion, leopard, rhino, elephant, and buffalo.

  • More than 72 languages are spoken in Zambia.

1.2M Happy Customers 99% On Time Delivery 10 Years of Experience
Trustpilot recommended. We lead the industry in innovation and reputation

How it Works?

Fill out online application

Complete our easy online application and pay with credit card or PayPal

Fill out online application
Receive document via email

No need to deal with the embassy. We do it for you so you don't lose valuable time

Receive document via email
Enter destination

Present your Passport and the Document we provide upon entry to destination country

Enter destination

Our Customers Have Great Stories About Us

Alan

Alan

Wonderful company to work with - they were very responsive on chat as we made some mistakes on our end. They assured us everything would work out and worked with us until we received our E-Visa. We got it just two days before traveling. I would highly recommend iVisa.com. If you are in a rush, I would recommend paying the extra to ensure it is ready in time because the government needed more documents and that allowed us extra time to submit.

Pritam Gajjar

Pritam Gajjar

Highly impressive. Thanks to iVisa.com team for their great support. I just applied yesterday for my son's Indian E-Visa in a standard service (96 hours). But in a duration of 35 hours (within 2 days), today I get his visa. Before applying it, we were very confused for the E-visa websites. But thanks to this team for their great quick effort. Highly Recommended to all.

Elizabeth Walker

Elizabeth Walker

I was surprised to get my Visa within 2 hours and amazed at the fact that how hassle free the entire process is. Thank you guys, keep it up. I will make sure to spread the words among my friends.

Sarah Brown

Sarah Brown

I applied to get visa to India. This is the first time I used this service. Highly recommend them for anyone need to get E-Visa. Easy to apply through their Web form, can add multiple people in a single request. Fast and efficient service. Received visa within few days. Only downside I found is the order of the application process. It request your visa fee payment, in the 2nd step, before completing the application form with all the information. In general, any web based purchases the payment is requested in the last step. This may raise a concern for a first time user.