ASEAN Visa: Association of Southeast Asian Nations Electronic Visa
iVisa | Updated on Sep 26, 2022

Do you have plans to travel to Southeast Asia? Visiting the destination countries in this region will be easier with the launch of the ASEAN Visa in the near future. The new travel authorization will unify the entry policies of ten countries and permit travelers to complete the online visa application process.

Alt Text

With this one ASEAN visa, you can enjoy the fantastic beaches in Thailand, get to know the culture of Indonesia, AND explore lively Singapore on one trip. Once this visa is available, you can apply fully online, so no need to go visit an embassy for your Southeast Asian trip.

Find out below which countries are part of the ASEAN agreement, and more information about what the ASEAN visa is all about.

What is ASEAN?

ASEAN stands for Association of Southeast Asian Nations. The members are some of the fastest-growing economies and largest markets worldwide. So why not join forces to develop even more?

With the agreement, the countries intended to unite the economic, security, and sociocultural sectors to boost the economy and progress in Southeast Asia and promote collaboration and culture. It’s an opportunity for each member to stay competitive in the Asian market, where countries like China and India are already economic powerhouses.

This single ASEAN visa to travel to any member country is one of the measures of the agreement. Currently, foreign nationals must apply for a separate visa to travel to each ASEAN member country. The process will be unified once the visa is launched and the application can be done fully online.

Countries that joined the ASEAN agreement

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations is composed of ten member countries: Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

ASEAN visa-free agreement between member countries

The single visa to travel to an ASEAN destination will be launched later this year for foreign travelers. But this is a new addition to existing measures to facilitate tourism in the region.

Since the agreement was signed in 2002, citizens of ASEAN members are already exempted from having to apply for visas to visit other member states, similar to the European Union.

ASEAN member residents only need a passport issued by an ASEAN country to cross the border, valid for at least six months from the entry date.

The visa-free agreement allows travelers a stay of maximum 14 days. However, the members are free to decide their own visa policy to access. For example, Malaysia and Singapore offer a visa-free stay of up to 30 days for ASEAN residents.

Everything you need to know about the ASEAN visa

ASEAN member nations developed a digital common visa (ACV). When launched later this year, travelers will have to complete a simple online application process to visit any of the ten ASEAN member countries.

Once it is available, you’ll need to submit some documents and information apply for your ASEAN visa online. This new visa intends to facilitate the flow of tourists among member countries. With this online application, travelers won’t need to visit separate embassies or consulates to obtain a visa for each ASEAN country.

Nationalities eligible to obtain the ASEAN Visa

The ASEAN visa is still unavailable. The list of the eligible passport holders to apply for it will be known only later in time, closer to the launch date. We will update this page as soon as official information is announced.

Documents required for the ASEAN Visa

While exact details aren’t know yet, the applicant generally needs to provide the following documents and information to apply:

  • A valid passport from an eligible country.
  • A credit or debit card to pay the visa fee.
  • A valid email address to receive the visa once the processing time is finished.

How to apply for an ASEAN e-Visa online

Once the visa is available, you apply for your visa fully online. Generally, you will have to fill out your information on the application form. Always, double-check all details on any visa application. Then, pay the visa fees securely online with a debit or credit card.

An eVisa is usually linked electronically to your passport, but it is always recommended to print out a copy of the ASEAN travel authorization approval confirmation to show to border officials.

Questions about the upcoming ASEAN visa?

If you have any questions about the future ASEAN visa, or another visa for Singapore, Thailand, or another ASEAN member country, contact our expert customer service team. They are available 24/7 by online chat or email at [email protected].

Let's stay in touch!

Join our newsletter to receive the best traveling tips

© 2014-2023 All rights reserved. iVisa and iVisa logo are registered trademarks of

English - en |