Home > Croatia visa policy

Croatia visa policy

iVisa | Updated on Jul 13, 2022

Visa Policy for Croatia

The Croatia visa policy explains all the regulations you need to follow in case you decide to travel to Croatia soon. The document states what nationalities can enter Croatia without the need for a visa and which countries need to follow a specific procedure for a visa.

Fill me in

Croatia is a part of the European Union, which means that the country follows the same visa policy as other EU member states. We can confirm that Croatia isn’t part of the Schengen zone yet. The country applied back in 2015, but there isn’t a definitive answer at the moment.

Some nationalities have visa-exempt agreements with Croatia, which provides them free access to the country. In this case, you need to have a passport with at least a 3-month validity for a smooth entry.

If your country doesn’t have this benefit, you will likely need to apply for a visa through an embassy or consulate. The process must happen regardless of the reasons for your trip or for how long you would like to stay. As the Croatia visa policy states, you will need to collect the required documentation before you make your appointment at the nearest Croatian embassy.

Continue learning more details about the Croatia visa policy. Keep reading the following lines.

Tourist Visa Policy for Croatia

The Croatia visa policy specifies certain guidelines for travelers with purposes of tourism entering Croatia. If you come from an EU state, you have freedom of movement. In other words, you only need to show your EU passport to enter Croatia without any issues.

If your nationality isn’t part of the European Union, you can be granted free access for a short stay in case your country has a specific agreement with Croatia. Croatian authorities usually provide 90 days of stay within a 180-day period in the country. Around 90 nationalities have this benefit. This is the case with a residence permit from Bulgaria, Romania, and Cyprus.

Any other nationality will need to apply for a consular visa, which entails approaching a Croatian embassy or consulate with the required documentation.

Let’s explore more about the Croatia visa policy in the following lines.

Tourist Visa for Croatia

You will find over 150 nationalities that need a tourist visa to enter Croatia. The tourist visa also known as a short-stay visa not only allows tourism activities in Croatia, but you can also travel for medical treatments, business, and other purposes.

The tourist visa provides 90 days in Croatia within a 6-month period. It’s offered for single, double, or multiple entries.

In this case, you need to check what documents you need. After that, you must visit the closest Croatian embassy or consulate for the procedure.

The requirements for a tourist visa for Croatia are:

  • Complete the visa application form. The document is available in Croatian and English.
  • Passport. Your passport must have a minimum 3-month validity after your intended date of departure from Croatia. Bring a copy of the first page and copies of Schengen, UK, US, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, or Japan visas from the past 3 years.
  • A recent passport photo. You need to glue it to your application.
  • Medical insurance. It should cover a minimum of EUR 30,000 for your whole stay.
  • Hotel booking.
  • Flight tickets.
  • Letter from employer, parents, or sponsor. This document proves you have a guarantor for your expenses in Croatia.
  • Bank statements showing you have enough funds for your trip. You need to have at least EUR 70 per day.

If you’re traveling with a minor, you should also attach the birth certificate, a consent letter from parents or legal guardians, and copies of the parents’ passports.

It usually takes around 15 days to one month to process a visa application at any embassy. Make sure to apply in advance, so your visa arrives just before you start your trip.

The consulate or embassy will confirm how long it will take to have an answer about your tourist visa. The countries that need this type of visa are:

  • Afghanistan
  • Aland Islands
  • Algeria
  • American Samoa
  • Angola
  • Anguilla
  • Armenia
  • Aruba
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Belarus
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bermuda
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Bonaire
  • Botswana
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Cambodia
  • Cape Verde
  • Caymand Islands
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • China
  • Christmas Islands
  • Cocos Islands
  • Comores Islands
  • Congo (Rep.)
  • Congo (Dem Rep.)
  • Cook Islands
  • Cuba
  • Curacao
  • Djibouti
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji
  • French Guiana
  • French Polynesia
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Greenland
  • Gudeloupe
  • Guam
  • Guernsey
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • India
  • Ivory Coast
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Isle of Man
  • Jamaica
  • Jersey
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Martinique
  • Mauritania
  • Mayotte
  • Mongolia
  • Montserrat
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • New Caldenia
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Niue
  • Norfolk Islands
  • North Korea
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Palestinian Territory
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Pitcairn Islands
  • Puerto Rico
  • Qatar
  • Reunion
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Berthelemy
  • Saint Helena
  • Saint Martin
  • Saint Pierre and Miquelon
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Sint Maarten
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Svalbard and Jan Mayen
  • Syria
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Tokelau
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Uganda
  • United States Virgin Islands
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vietnam
  • Wallis and Futuna
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Aside from your tourist visa, you need to acquire the Announcement Form. This essential document allows health authorities to learn more about your current health condition. The Announcement Form is part of the health protocols to control the pandemic.

Apply now

Other Visa Information for Croatia

If you want to visit Croatia for other reasons that don’t include tourism, you can always apply through a Croatian embassy or consulate.

The Croatia visa policy explains the requirements for a business visa. First, you need to have a letter of guarantee form that should be signed by a Croatian legal person or entity. The letter should mention that your guarantor has enough funds for your trip to Croatia. Besides, you need an invitation letter from the company in Croatia and another letter from your employer. Your employers must mention your positions, the days you will be absent from your job, and your salary. Finally, you need to submit a cover letter indicating the purpose of your trip. Remember that you need to prove you have enough funds for the duration of your trip.

In case you want to study in Croatia, you should also follow the Croatia visa policy. You need to have an enrollment document from a Croatian educational institution, accommodation details, bank statements showing you have financial means while studying in Croatia or a scholarship, health insurance, and a cover letter explaining why you’re applying for a student visa for Croatia.

Learn all about the Croatia visa policy with us and start planning your next trip to Croatia.

Was this page helpful?