en | $ USD



Select Your Language

Select Your Currency

  • AED United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • AFN Afghan Afghani
  • ALL Albanian Lek
  • AMD Armenian Dram
  • ANG Netherlands Antillean Guilder
  • AOA Angolan Kwanza
  • ARS Argentine Peso
  • AUD Australian Dollar
  • AWG Aruban Florin
  • AZN Azerbaijani Manat
  • BAM Bosnia-Herzegovina Convertible Mark
  • BBD Barbadian Dollar
  • BDT Bangladeshi Taka
  • BGN Bulgarian Lev
  • BIF Burundian Franc
  • BMD Bermudan Dollar
  • BND Brunei Dollar
  • BOB Bolivian Boliviano
  • BRL Brazilian Real
  • BSD Bahamian Dollar
  • BWP Botswanan Pula
  • BZD Belize Dollar
  • CAD Canadian Dollar
  • CDF Congolese Franc
  • CHF Swiss Franc
  • CLP Chilean Peso
  • CNY Chinese Yuan
  • COP Colombian Peso
  • CRC Costa Rican Colón
  • CVE Cape Verdean Escudo
  • CZK Czech Republic Koruna
  • DJF Djiboutian Franc
  • DKK Danish Krone
  • DOP Dominican Peso
  • DZD Algerian Dinar
  • EGP Egyptian Pound
  • ETB Ethiopian Birr
  • EUR Euro
  • FJD Fijian Dollar
  • FKP Falkland Islands Pound
  • GBP British Pound Sterling
  • GEL Georgian Lari
  • GIP Gibraltar Pound
  • GMD Gambian Dalasi
  • GNF Guinean Franc
  • GTQ Guatemalan Quetzal
  • GYD Guyanaese Dollar
  • HKD Hong Kong Dollar
  • HNL Honduran Lempira
  • HTG Haitian Gourde
  • HUF Hungarian Forint
  • IDR Indonesian Rupiah
  • ILS Israeli New Sheqel
  • INR Indian Rupee
  • ISK Icelandic Króna
  • JMD Jamaican Dollar
  • JPY Japanese Yen
  • KES Kenyan Shilling
  • KGS Kyrgystani Som
  • KHR Cambodian Riel
  • KMF Comorian Franc
  • KRW South Korean Won
  • KYD Cayman Islands Dollar
  • KZT Kazakhstani Tenge
  • LAK Laotian Kip
  • LBP Lebanese Pound
  • LKR Sri Lankan Rupee
  • LRD Liberian Dollar
  • LSL Lesotho Loti
  • MAD Moroccan Dirham
  • MDL Moldovan Leu
  • MGA Malagasy Ariary
  • MKD Macedonian Denar
  • MNT Mongolian Tugrik
  • MOP Macanese Pataca
  • MUR Mauritian Rupee
  • MVR Maldivian Rufiyaa
  • MWK Malawian Kwacha
  • MXN Mexican Peso
  • MYR Malaysian Ringgit
  • MZN Mozambican Metical
  • NAD Namibian Dollar
  • NGN Nigerian Naira
  • NIO Nicaraguan Córdoba
  • NOK Norwegian Krone
  • NPR Nepalese Rupee
  • NZD New Zealand Dollar
  • OMR Omani Rial
  • PAB Panamanian Balboa
  • PEN Peruvian Nuevo Sol
  • PGK Papua New Guinean Kina
  • PHP Philippine Peso
  • PKR Pakistani Rupee
  • PLN Polish Zloty
  • PYG Paraguayan Guarani
  • QAR Qatari Rial
  • RON Romanian Leu
  • RSD Serbian Dinar
  • RUB Russian Ruble
  • RWF Rwandan Franc
  • SAR Saudi Riyal
  • SBD Solomon Islands Dollar
  • SCR Seychellois Rupee
  • SEK Swedish Krona
  • SGD Singapore Dollar
  • SHP Saint Helena Pound
  • SLL Sierra Leonean Leone
  • SOS Somali Shilling
  • SRD Surinamese Dollar
  • SVC Salvadoran Colón
  • SZL Swazi Lilangeni
  • THB Thai Baht
  • TJS Tajikistani Somoni
  • TOP Tongan Pa anga
  • TRY Turkish Lira
  • TTD Trinidad and Tobago Dollar
  • TWD New Taiwan Dollar
  • TZS Tanzanian Shilling
  • UAH Ukrainian Hryvnia
  • UGX Ugandan Shilling
  • USD United States Dollar
  • UYU Uruguayan Peso
  • UZS Uzbekistan Som
  • VND Vietnamese Dong
  • VUV Vanuatu Vatu
  • WST Samoan Tala
  • XAF CFA Franc BEAC
  • XCD East Caribbean Dollar
  • XPF CFP Franc
  • YER Yemeni Rial
  • ZAR South African Rand
  • ZMW Zambian Kwacha
What rules apply to Cuba visa-free countries?
3 min read
Updated on May 14, 2024

According to Cuba’s visa policy, everyone who wishes to visit the country needs to have either a Cuba visa or a Cuba Tourist Card. All nationalities can apply for one or the other at an embassy, online, through a travel agency or an airline. However, the only category of people who do not have to go through a visa application process is the one that includes the citizens of Cuba visa-free countries.

Alt Text

The citizens of visa-exempt countries, or visa-free countries, need only a valid passport to cross the Cuban border. According to Cuba’s visa policy, there are 18 states whose nationals do not need to apply for a visa. However, not all of them can spend the same amount of time within the Cuban borders as others. Depending on the nationality, travelers can spend 28 days, 30 days 60 days, and 90 days in Cuba without needing a visa. Apparently, only the citizens of Namibia do not have a specified staying period. Once that period of time expires, all of them are required to apply for a visa just as anyone else.

What if I am not a visa-exempt national?

If you are a citizen of a country other than the 18 states that are visa-exempt, you need a visa or a Tourist Card to cross the Cuban border. Cuba’s visa policy states that only 20 nationalities do not have another choice but to go and apply for a visa at the embassy, but the rest of the travelers can apply online, through a travel agency or an airline.

The requirements for a Tourist card are the same no matter where you apply. All applicants need a valid passport that maintains its status as valid for at least another 6 months from the date of arrival in Cuba. You are also required to fill in an application form with details about yourself and your trip. The cost differs depending on where you get the visa. Airlines, for example, have fees that range from $50 to $110. Online visa expediting services have several prices as well. With iVisa, the cost of a Tourist card depends on your nationality and the processing time you select during the application process. You have three options, each with its own fee:

  • Standard processing – your application will be processed and your Tourist card delivered in 3 to 5 business days. This option costs $110.
  • Rush processing – your Tourist card will arrive within 1 to 3 business days, and the fee is $130.
  • Super Rush processing – you will have your Cuba Tourist card in 1 business day, and you will be charged $150. The shipping is included in the price in all three cases.

The fees above apply only for the USA Tourist Card, for which only US citizens and Green Card holders can apply. The rest of the nationalities must apply for an International Tourist Card, and it is less expensive. You will be charged $55, $75, and $95 respectively.

The conclusion is that while there are some Cuba visa-free countries, most of the nationalities are required to apply for a Cuba visa or Tourist Card. If you are eligible for a Tourist Card, we recommend that you use the online application process. It is fast, efficient, and iVisa will handle most of the hard work for you. The document you receive grants a 30-day stay in Cuba unless you are a Canadian citizen, in which case you are allowed to stay up to 90 days. Either way, you are given a single entry.

Chat on WhatsApp
Intercom Chat