logo logo
en | $ USD
India e-Visa Validity: How Long is it Valid For?
iVisa | 5 min read | Updated on Jan 24, 2024

Incredible India welcomes tourists from across the globe year-round. The introduction of the Indian e-tourist Visa has streamlined the process of obtaining a visa for travel to this enchanting country.

An Indian tourist visa, or e-visa, is an electronic authorization that allows entry into India, simplifying travel for tourists. It's an essential requirement for most travelers wishing to enter India, and knowing the ins and outs of your Indian e-visa validity is crucial for a hassle-free trip.

Fill me in

You can apply online with us for your India Tourist Visa or use our handy app for an even smoother experience! Join us as we explore the India tourist visa validity in-depth, leaving no room for errors.

Types of Indian e-Visas available

  • Tourist e-Visa: Available in 3 options; 30 days, 1 year, or 5 years. For those visiting India for recreation, sightseeing, or meeting friends and relatives.

  • Business e-Visa: Ideal for those intending to engage in business activities in India.

  • Medical e-Visa: Issued to those seeking medical treatment in India.

In this article, we'll focus on the tourist visa validity.

The validity period for each Indian tourist visa

Each Tourist e-Visa type has a specific validity period calculated from the date of issuance. The validity varies for each of the 3 Tourist e-Visas available:

  • 30-day Tourist Visa - This is a double entry visa, so it allows a maximum of 2 visits, and you have 30 days to use it, starting from the date of issue.

E.g. If I get a visa issued on January 15, 2024 I can use it up until February 15, 2024.

  • 1-year Tourist Visa - A multiple entry visa, valid from the date of issue for a 1-year period. You can’t stay in the country with an expired visa, which means you must leave the country before the validity period ends (1 year).

  • 5-year Tourist Visa - This is also a multiple entry visa, and the same rules as the 1-year visa apply. Valid from the date of issue for 5 years. You must leave the country before the 5-year validity period expires. Check the exact date of issue and calculate that your visa will expire exactly 5 years ahead on the same day.

Make sure to pay very close attention to the date of issue on your specific Indian visa.

Duration of stay for the India Tourist visa

The duration of stay and number of entries vary for each of the 3 e-tourist Visas:

  • 30-day Tourist Visa - With this type of Indian visa, you can stay for 30 days maximum in the country, and the 30-day stay begins from the day you enter the country.

E.g. If I enter India on February 10, I can stay up until March 10. Within this time, I can enter and exit the country twice maximum, as it's a double-entry visa.

  • 1-year Tourist Visa - For this visa, the maximum stay per entry is 90 days for most nationalities, except for the U.S., Canada, and the U.K. These 3 nationalities can stay for up to 180 days per entry. The maximum stay is 180 days per year for all nationalities.

E.g. If you are from the U.K., you can use your stay limit of 180 days in 1 entry within the year, or several multiple entries. But if you use it in 1 entry, you cannot enter again within your 1 year visa validity. All other nationalities can enter India for up to 90 days maximum in 1 single entry, and 180 days in total over multiple visits.

  • 5-year Tourist Visa - The same rules as the 1-year visa apply. Citizens of the U.S., Canada, and the U.K. can enter for up to 180 days per visit, per year. All other nationalities can enter for up to 90 days per visit and a total of 180 days per year over a 5-year period.

Both the 1-year and the 5-year visas allow you to enter and exit India as many times as you need as long as you stay within the strict duration period for each visit.

e-visa extensions and renewals

You won’t be able to extend your Indian Tourist eVisas or renew it. You can only stay in the country for the indicated duration. The Government stipulates that there should be a gap of at least 2 months between two visits to India on a Tourist Visa.

In exceptional cases, extensions may be granted, subject to the Government of India's discretion. In this case, you can leave India and apply for another Tourist Visa with us or contact your local Indian embassy or the [Government of India website].

Fill me in

Overstaying e-visa India consequences

Visitors must comply with the conditions of their visa and may be subject to fines, penalties, legal action, or even deportation if found to be in violation of visa regulations.

Understanding the repercussions of overstaying your visa is crucial. Taking the necessary steps to adhere to Indian immigration regulations is essential for a compliant stay.

Here are some potential repercussions of overstaying your Tourist Visa:

  • Fines: Overstaying can lead to fines ranging from INR 500 to INR 10,000 per day, depending on the overstay duration and visa type. These fines can accumulate rapidly, imposing a significant financial burden.

  • Detention and deportation: Overstaying may result in detention by immigration authorities and subsequent deportation. Detainees might be held until their deportation is arranged, which can be an unsettling experience. Deportation often includes a ban from re-entering India for a specified period.

  • Legal action: Overstaying for more than 2 years can lead to criminal charges and imprisonment. Shorter overstays might still attract legal action and fines, affecting the visitor’s future travel and immigration status.

  • Impact on future travel: An overstay record can jeopardize future travel plans. It might lead to entry denials in other countries as it signals non-compliance with immigration laws. This can complicate visa applications elsewhere, incurring extra costs and delays.

Stay informed - Contact us

The Indian e-Visa system is a convenient way for international travelers to explore India. Each visa type comes with specific rules regarding validity, duration, and entries. To avoid complications, always stay informed about the current regulations and ensure compliance during your stay. For the most accurate and up-to-date information, always consult official sources or contact us via chat.

Remember to check your specific India e-Visa validity dates and requirements before planning your trip!

  • iVisa is NOT affiliated with any government agency. This app does not provide legal advice and we are not a law firm. None of our customer service representatives are lawyers and they also do not provide legal advice. We are a private, internet-based travel and immigration consultancy provider dedicated to helping individuals travel around the world. You may apply by yourself directly on the various government websites. The source of information: https://boi.gov.in/boi/

Stay in touch!

Join our newsletter to receive the best traveling tips

Thanks! Please check your email and confirm you want to join our Newsletter.

© 2014-2024 iVisa.com. All rights reserved. iVisa and iVisa logo are registered trademarks of iVisa.com.

en flag English
Intercom Chat