logo logo
fr | $ USD

Woo Hoo! We've updated iVisa's brand! Hope you like it as much as we do.

Guide de voyage en Bolivie : Tout ce qu'il faut savoir pour visiter la Bolivie en 2023
 
   
 
 
 
     
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Welcome to Bolivie

La Bolivie est située en Amérique du Sud, avec une superficie de 1 904 852 kilomètres carrés et une population d'environ 10 millions d'habitants. La capitale de la Bolivie est La Paz, qui compte environ 2,5 millions d'habitants. La langue officielle du pays est l'espagnol, mais de nombreuses langues indigènes sont parlées dans différentes régions.

Dans ce guide ultime de voyage en Bolivie , nous vous disons tout ce que vous devez savoir pour voyager dans ce pays et découvrir la culture, l'histoire et les paysages boliviens -, depuis les meilleurs aliments et boissons jusqu'à la meilleure période pour partir et ce qu'il ne faut pas porter pendant votre voyage ! Alors lisez nos conseils, consultez nos recommandations et profitez de votre aventure dans l'un des pays les plus visités d'Amérique du Sud !

Liste de contrôle des documents pour la Bolivie

  • Visa

  • Déclaration de santé

  • Passeport en cours de validité

  • Fonds suffisants

  • Billet d'avion aller-retour

Informations essentielles sur le voyage en Bolivie

  • Monnaie - Boliviano bolivien (BOB). 1 $ équivaut à environ 6,94 BOB.

  • Budget journalier pour 1 personne - Le coût journalier de vos vacances en Bolivie peut s'élever à environ 298 BOB (43 USD).

  • Langues - La langue officielle est l'espagnol, mais il existe 36 langues indigènes, dont les plus parlées sont : Guarani, Aymara et Quechua.

  • Type de prise - Pour la Bolivie, il existe deux types de prises associées, les types A et C. La Bolivie fonctionne avec une tension d'alimentation de 230V et 50Hz.

  • Fuseau horaire - Le fuseau horaire est celui de la Bolivie (GMT-04:00).

  • Les 3 villes les plus visitées - La Paz, Santa Cruz et Cochabamba.

  • Les 3 principaux points de repère/monuments - Le lac Titicaca, le Salar d'Uyuni et les missions jésuites de Chiquitos.

Informations sur les visas pour la Bolivie

Actuellement, nous n'avons pas de visa touristique pour la Bolivie en ligne. Cependant, nous vous invitons à utiliser notre Checker Visa Tool, afin de savoir si vous avez besoin d'un visa pour entrer dans ce merveilleux pays.

Par ailleurs, vous devez également vous munir du Passenger Locator Form . Nous vous expliquons ici de quoi il s'agit.

Explication du formulaire de localisation des passagers

Le formulaire de localisation des passagers est un document de voyage obligatoire pour toutes les personnes arrivant dans le pays, qu'il s'agisse de ressortissants nationaux ou étrangers. Ce document ne remplace pas un visa et n'est valable que pour une seule entrée.

Coûts et budget typiques pour la Bolivie

Pour que votre voyage soit une réussite, nous vous donnons quelques détails sur les coûts que vous aurez à supporter en Bolivie si vous avez un budget serré.

Dépenses journalières par personne - Le budget journalier par personne est d'environ 298 (43 USD).

  • Repas - Le budget journalier pour les repas est d'environ 97 BOB (14 USD).

  • Transport - Le coût des transports publics est d'environ 65 BOB (9,32 USD).

  • Hôtel - Une chambre pour une personne peut coûter 92 BOB (13,19 USD), et 181 BOB (26,24 USD) pour un couple.

Un voyage d'une semaine en Bolivie coûte généralement environ 2 032 BOB (293,66 USD) pour une personne. Par conséquent, un voyage en Bolivie pour deux-personnes coûte environ 4 072 BOB (587,47 USD) pour une semaine.

Transports et déplacements en Bolivie

La Bolivie vous surprendra ! C'est un pays avec une grande variété de terrains, comme les montagnes environnantes, les plateaux et les terres plates, le tout dans une seule nation. C'est un endroit plein d'aventures si vous cherchez à voir et à vivre quelque chose de nouveau. Nous mentionnerons ici les moyens de transport public les plus utilisés par les Boliviens et les voyageurs.

  • Bus - Il s'agit d'un moyen de transport public populaire parmi les locaux, très économique et idéal pour visiter le pays et profiter de la diversité des paysages. Ce mode de transport s'adresse aux aventuriers, car il y a beaucoup de virages, de changements d'altitude et de terrains différents.

  • Micro - Ces bus parcourent les villes à un prix très économique. Vous les reconnaîtrez car ils sont très colorés.

  • Train - Les trains partent de la ville d'El Alto vers les ruines de Tiwanaku, et le dernier arrêt est Guaqui sur le lac Titicaca. Il s'agit d'un moyen de transport très utilisé pour découvrir ces lieux si vous souhaitez opter pour cet itinéraire de voyage. Sur le site Ferroviaria Andina, vous pouvez voir les itinéraires et réserver vos billets.

  • Taxi - On trouve des taxis dans la plupart des grandes villes de Bolivie. C'est un moyen facile et sûr de se déplacer dans les villes, sans compter qu'il n'est pas cher.

  • Location de voiture - De nombreux voyageurs préfèrent louer une voiture avec un chauffeur local qui peut les emmener dans les lieux touristiques. Vous pouvez acheter ce service dans les villes de La Paz et de Santa Cruz.

  • Avion - Si vous n'avez pas l'énergie nécessaire pour voyager en bus bolivien, la Bolivie dispose de vols intérieurs qui vous emmèneront à votre destination.

Alors, quel moyen de transport public choisirez-vous pour voyager en Bolivie ?

Sécurité en Bolivie

La Bolivie est un pays sûr, l'un des plus sûrs d'Amérique latine. Toutefois, il convient d'être prudent, car certains dangers subsistent, comme le vol, et il faut donc toujours prendre soin de ses affaires en voyage.

Voici quelques conseils pour voyager en Bolivie :

  • Souscrivez une assurance voyage.

  • Sachez où se trouve l'ambassade de Bolivie, au cas où vous auriez besoin d'aide.

  • L'industrie du tourisme est importante, aussi n'hésitez pas à planifier des voyages avec des tours loués dans des endroits plus éloignés.

  • Obtenez des billets d'avion aller-retour-lorsque cela s'avère nécessaire pour planifier votre voyage.

  • Si vous souhaitez apprendre les bases de l'espagnol ou le parler couramment, ce pays est une option incroyable, car l'accent y est très neutre.

Nous espérons vous avoir aidé avec ces conseils de voyage en Bolivie.

Le temps en Bolivie

Il est essentiel de connaître le climat auquel vous serez confronté lorsque vous planifierez vos activités en Bolivie. Pour vous aider à planifier votre voyage, nous vous donnons des informations sur les saisons météorologiques et les expériences qu'elles vous permettront de vivre.

La haute saison (mai-octobre) est la meilleure saison pour profiter de la nature, idéale pour les randonnées et autres activités de plein air. En altitude, les températures peuvent être très froides : moins de -15°C (5°F) ; en plaine, le climat est chaud et moins humide.

La basse saison (décembre-mars) est une période idéale pour en apprendre davantage sur la culture et découvrir les paysages du Salar d'Uyuni. C'est une saison humide avec peu de pluie. C'est une période fantastique pour visiter le nord de la Bolivie et les mines de sel d'Uyuni. En outre, vous en apprendrez beaucoup plus sur la culture, car il y a de nombreux festivals, comme le carnaval d'Oruro et la célébration de l'Alasitas à La Paz.

La saison intermédiaire (avril et novembre) est le meilleur climat du pays pour visiter la plupart des destinations touristiques, étant donné les journées ensoleillées et l'absence de pluie, en plus de participer aux calendriers des fêtes locales et de leurs traditions.

Villes et villages populaires en Bolivie

La Bolivie est un pays incroyable, et c'est pour cette raison qu'il faut visiter ces 5 villes principales :

  • La Paz - C'est une ville dynamique à explorer. Vous pouvez y utiliser le Teleferic pour gagner du temps lors de vos déplacements. En plus de ses montagnes luxuriantes, vous pouvez escalader l'Alto et profiter d'une vue fantastique.

  • Santa Cruz - C'est la plus grande ville de Bolivie, située dans la partie orientale du pays. Santa Cruz est très appréciée pour son climat, ses habitants accueillants et ses incroyables attractions touristiques, telles que les parcs nationaux et le parc national d'Amboró.

  • Cochabamba - Connue comme la "ville jardin" ou la "ville du printemps éternel". Elle est connue comme la capitale gastronomique de la Bolivie, alors n'oubliez pas de manger ses plats traditionnels si vous visitez cette ville.

  • Copacabana - Située sur les rives du lac Titicaca, Copacabana est une petite ville pittoresque et dynamique. Son sanctuaire de la Vierge est l'une des attractions les plus populaires. *Sucre - Capitale officielle de la Bolivie, elle présente une architecture coloniale, avec des maisons et des bâtiments de couleur blanche que vous adorerez. Elle bénéficie d'un climat ensoleillé et doit donc faire partie de votre liste de destinations à explorer en Bolivie.

À faire et à voir en Bolivie

Nos conseils de voyage en Bolivie vous indiquent ce que vous devez faire et voir pendant votre voyage.

  1. Le lac Titicaca - C'est le plus haut lac navigable du monde. Un endroit qui offre des vues incroyables et qui permet d'explorer le lieu où l'Empire Inca serait né, un lieu sacré pour beaucoup que vous devriez explorer et apprécier. Vous pouvez aller de Copacabana à Isla del Sol, un autre endroit incroyable, en prenant simplement un bateau.

  2. Salars d'Uyuni - Le plus grand salar du monde, le Salar d'Uyuni, est une expérience unique. Un lac préhistorique a formé ces salines d'une superficie de 4 000 miles carrés. Vous pouvez visiter cet endroit à bord d'un véhicule 4x4 et traverser cette extraordinaire étendue de sel. Sa plus belle caractéristique est qu'après une pluie fine, l'eau reste sur le sel cimenté et ressemble à un miroir, se reflétant directement dans le ciel, une expérience unique à voir !

  3. Missions jésuites - Autour de Santa Cruz, les jésuites ont créé dix missions au XVIe siècle, dont six ont été déclarées sites du patrimoine mondial par l'UNESCO. C'est certainement l'un des endroits les plus passionnants et les plus chargés d'histoire que vous devez connaître. C'est le mélange du nouveau et de l'ancien monde, et la partie culturelle de la Bolivie avec un passé qui résonne encore aujourd'hui.

  4. Parc national Madidi - C'est un parc qui s'étend de la cordillère des Andes à l'Amazonie. C'est un lieu d'une incroyable biodiversité, où l'on trouve des jaguars, des loutres, des singes titi et d'autres espèces.

  5. -Tiwanaku - C'est l'un des sites précolombiens les plus importants des Amériques. Un site historique avec de magnifiques sculptures faites à la main, des blocs de pierre et un musée avec des informations sur cette ancienne culture qui a existé pendant plus de 3 000 ans.

Cuisine bolivienne typique à essayer

  • Salteñas - Il s'agit d'un plat bolivien très traditionnel. Il s'agit d'empanadas cuites au four et remplies de bœuf, de porc ou de poulet. Vous pouvez également trouver une version végétarienne.

  • Silpancho - C'est un plat traditionnel de Cochabamba. Il se compose de riz blanc, de tomates bouillies et coupées en tranches, de viande hachée, d'oignons et d'œufs frits.

  • Thé de coca - La consommation de thé de coca est sacrée pour de nombreux groupes indigènes des Andes d'Amérique du Sud et est utilisée pour diverses célébrations cérémonielles ou médicinales. Il est également utilisé pour combattre les effets du mal des montagnes ; ils préparent une infusion de feuilles de coca séchées appelée mate de coca.

Informations sur les vaccins pour la Bolivie

Vous trouverez ici des informations sur les vaccins contre Covid et la fièvre jaune, ainsi que d'autres conseils de santé dont vous aurez besoin pour voyager en Bolivie ; il vous suffit de cliquer sur le site CDC.

La Bolivie est le pays le plus haut du monde !

La Bolivie est tout ce qu'il y a de plus haut au monde... la ville la plus haute du monde, les lacs les plus hauts du monde, la forêt la plus haute du monde et le pays le plus haut du monde, tout cela en Amérique du Sud.

Faits amusants sur la Bolivie

  • En Bolivie, il existe une prison appelée San Pedro, célèbre parce que les prisonniers peuvent y vivre avec leurs proches. Une prison très différente des autres prisons du monde.

  • La Bolivie est connue pour ses dauphins roses. Les dauphins roses sont considérés comme l'espèce de dauphins la plus intelligente et ils vivent en Amazonie.

  • Le carnaval d'Oruro est le festival le plus célèbre de Bolivie. Il s'agissait à l'origine d'un festival indigène datant du XVIIIe siècle, mais il intègre désormais des rituels catholiques au service de la Virgen de la Candelaria.

  • La Bolivie a deux capitales. L'une s'appelle La Paz, mais la capitale légale de la Bolivie est Sucre.

  • La Bolivie abrite la plus grande étendue de sel du monde. Également connu sous le nom de plus grand miroir de la Terre, le Salar d'Uyuni couvre une superficie totale de 10 582 km2 à 3 656 m au-dessus du niveau de la mer.

Prêt à visiter l'un des plus beaux pays d'Amérique latine ? La Bolivie vous attend !

1.2M Des clients satisfaits

24/7Soutien

+42,000 revues

10 Années d'expérience

98% taux d'approbation des visas

Clause de non-responsabilité
  • iVisa is NOT affiliated with any government agency. This site does not provide legal advice and we are not a law firm. None of our customer service representatives are lawyers and they also do not provide legal advice. We are a private, internet-based travel and immigration consultancy provider dedicated to helping individuals travel around the world. You may apply by yourself directly on the various government websites. La source d'information : https://www.gob.bo/
Chat par interphone

logo logo
en | $ USD

Woo Hoo! We've updated iVisa's brand! Hope you like it as much as we do.

Bolivia Travel Guide: All you need to know to visit Bolivia in 2023
 
   
 
 
 
     
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Welcome to Bolivia

Bolivia is located in South America, with an area of 1,904,852 square kilometers and a population of around 10 million. The capital city of Bolivia is La Paz, with around 2.5 million people. The country's official language is Spanish, but many Indigenous languages are spoken in different regions.

In this ultimate Bolivia travel guide, we tell you all you need to know to travel to this country and discover Bolivian culture, history, and landscapes - from the best foods and drinks to the best time to go and what not to wear on your trip! So read our tips, check out our recommendations and enjoy your adventure in one of the most visited South American countries!

Document checklist for Bolivia

  • Visa

  • Health Declaration

  • Valid passport

  • Sufficient funds

  • Return airline ticket

Essential Bolivia travel information

  • Currency - Bolivian Boliviano (BOB). $1 is equivalent to approx. BOB 6,94.

  • Daily budget for 1 person - The cost per day on your vacation in Bolivia can be around BOB 298 (USD 43).

  • Languages - The official language is Spanish, but there are 36 Indigenous languages, of which the more widely spoken are: Guarani, Aymara, and Quechua.

  • Socket type - For Bolivia, there are two associated plug types, types A and C. Bolivia operates on a 230V supply voltage and 50Hz.

  • Time zone -The time zone is Bolivia Time (GMT-04:00).

  • Top 3 cities to visit - La Paz, Santa Cruz, and Cochabamba.

  • Top 3 landmarks/monuments - Lake Titicaca, Salar de Uyuni, and Jesuit Missions of Chiquitos.

Visa information for Bolivia

Currently, we do not have a tourist visa for Bolivia online. However, we invite you to use our Checker Visa Tool, so you know for sure if you need one to enter this wonderful country.

Apart from this, you also need to have the Passenger Locator Form. Here we tell you what it is.

Passenger Locator form explained

The Passenger Locator Form is a mandatory travel form for all people arriving to enter the country, whether nationals or foreign citizens. This document doesn’t replace a visa and is valid for a single entry.

Typical costs and budget for Bolivia

To make your trip a success, we give you some details of the costs you will have in Bolivia if you have a tight budget.

Daily spending per person - The daily budget per person is around 298 (USD 43).

  • Meals - Daily spending on meals is around BOB 97 (USD 14).

  • Transport - Public transport is around BOB 65 (USD 9.32).

  • Hotel -A room for one person can cost BOB 92 (USD 13,19), and BOB 181 (USD 26,24) for a couple.

A Bolivia trip for one week usually costs around BOB 2,032 (USD 293,66) for one person. Consequently, a two-person trip to Bolivia costs around BOB 4,072 (USD 587,47) for one week.

Transport and ways to travel around Bolivia

Bolivia will impact you! It is a country with a great variety of terrains, such as surrounding mountains, plateaus, and flat lands, all in one nation. A place full of adventure if what you are looking for is a jolt to see and experience something new. Here we will mention the means of public transportation most used by Bolivian locals and travelers.

  • Bus - This is a popular public transport choice among locals, very economical and ideal to tour the country and enjoy the diversity of the landscapes. This mode of transport is for adventurers, as you will find many curves, altitude changes, and different terrains.

  • Micro - These buses run through the cities at a very economical price. You will identify them because they are very colorful.

  • Train - Trains depart from the city of El Alto to the ruins of Tiwanaku, and the last stop is Guaqui on Lake Titicaca. This is a widely used transportation method to discover these places if you want to opt for this travel itinerary. On the Ferroviaria Andina, you can see the routes and book your tickets.

  • Taxi - Taxis can be found in most major cities in Bolivia. An easy and safe way to move into the towns, plus it’s not expensive.

  • Rent car - Many travelers prefer to rent a car with a native driver who can take them to tourist places. You can purchase this service in the cities of La Paz and Santa Cruz.

  • Airplane - If you don’t have the energy to travel by the Bolivian buses, Bolivia has domestic flights that will take you to your destination.

So, which will be your choice of public transportation to travel in Bolivia?

Safety in Bolivia

Traveling to Bolivia is safe, one of the safest countries in Latin America. However, you need to be careful since there are still certain dangers, such as theft, so always take care of your belongings when traveling.

Here are some Bolivia travel tips:

  • Have travel insurance.

  • Know where the local Bolivian embassy is, in case you need some help.

  • There is a significant tourist industry, so feel free to plan trips with hired tours to more remote places.

  • Get round-trip tickets when needed in your travel planning.

  • If you want to learn basic Spanish or be fluent in it, this country is an incredible option, as the accent is very neutral.

We hope to help you with this Bolivia travel advice.

Weather in Bolivia

Knowing the climate you’ll encounter is essential when planning what you want to do in Bolivia. To make you feel more confident in planning your trip, we will give you information about the weather seasons and what experiences these will provide you.

The high season (May-October) is the best season to enjoy nature, perfect for hiking and other outdoor activities. In high areas, temperatures can be very cold: below -15°C (5°F); in low places, the climate is warm and less humid.

The low season (December-March) is a great time to learn much more about the culture and discover the views of the Salar of Uyuni. It is a wet season with little rain. A fantastic time to tour the north of Bolivia and visit the salt mines of Uyuni. Besides that, you will learn much more about the culture, since there are many festivals, like the carnival of Oruro and the celebration of Alasitas in La Paz.

The shoulder season (April and November) is the best climate in the country to visit most tourist destinations, given the sunny days and lack of rain, in addition to participating in the calendars of local festivities and their traditions.

Popular cities and towns in Bolivia

Bolivia is an incredible country, and for this reason, you need to visit these 5 top cities:

  • La Paz - It’s a vibrant city to explore. Here you can use the Teleferic to save you time when you move. In addition to its lush mountains, you can climb the Alto and enjoy a fantastic view.

  • Santa Cruz - It is the largest city in Bolivia and is located in the eastern part of the country. Santa Cruz is very popular for its climate, its friendly locals, and its incredible tourist attractions, such as national parks and the Amboró National Park.

  • Cochabamba - Known as the "Garden City" or the "City of Eternal Spring". It is known as the gastronomic capital of Bolivia, so don’t forget to eat its traditional dishes if you visit this city.

  • Copacabana - Located on the shores of Lake Titicaca, Copacabana is a small, picturesque, and vibrant town. Its sanctuary of the Virgin is one of the most popular attractions. *Sucre - It is the official capital of Bolivia and has a colonial architecture, with houses and buildings of white color that you will love. It has a sunny climate, so it must be one of the places in your list to explore Bolivia.

Must do and see in Bolivia

Our Bolivia travel tips are what you must do and see in your time traveling.

  1. Lake Titicaca - It is the highest navigable lake in the world. A place that has incredible views, and that allows exploring where the Inca Empire is said to have been born, a sacred place for many where you should explore and enjoy. You can travel from Copacabana to Isla del Sol, another incredible location, just take a boat.

  2. Uyuni Salt Flats - The world’s largest salt flat, the Salar de Uyuni, is a unique experience. A prehistoric lake formed the 4,000 square mile salt flats. You can visit this place in a 4x4 vehicle and go through this extraordinary salt expanse. Its most beautiful feature is when after a gentle rain, the water remains on the cemented salt and looks like a mirror, reflecting directly to the sky, a whole experience to see!

  3. Jesuit Missions - Around Santa Cruz, the Jesuits created ten missions in the 16th century, six of which were declared World Heritage Sites by UNESCO. It’s definitely one of the most exciting places full of history you must know of. It’s the mixture of the new and old world, and the cultural part of Bolivia with a past that still echoes today.

  4. Madidi National Park - It is a park that extends from the Andes mountains to the Amazon. A place with incredible biodiversity, where jaguars, otters, titi monkeys, and other species are found.

  5. Tiwanaku - It is one of the most important pre-Columbian sites in the Americas. A historical site with magnificent handmade sculptures, stone blocks, and a museum with information about this ancient culture that existed for more than 3,000 years.

Typical Bolivian food to try

  • Salteñas - This is a very traditional Bolivian food. They are baked empanadas full of beef, pork or chicken. You can also find their vegetarian version.

  • Silpancho - It is a traditional Cochabamba dish. It has white rice, boiled and sliced tomatoes, crushed meat, onion, and fried egg.

  • Coca tea - Drinking coca tea is sacred to many Indigenous groups in the Andes of South America, and is used for various ceremonial or medicinal celebrations. It is also used to combat the effects of altitude sickness; they prepare an infusion of dried coca leaves called mate de coca.

Vaccine information for Bolivia

Here you can find the vaccine information for Covid and the yellow fever, and other health advice you will need to travel to Bolivia; just click on the CDC website.

Bolivia is the world's highest everything!

Bolivia is the world's highest everything... the world's highest city, it has the world's highest lakes, the world's highest forest and country, all in South America.

Fun facts about Bolivia

  • In Bolivia, there is a prison called San Pedro and it is famous because the prisoners can live with their relatives. A very different prison from others in the world.

  • Bolivia is known for having pink dolphins. Pink dolphins are considered the most intelligent species of dolphin and they live in the Amazon.

  • The Carnival of Oruro is the most famous festival in Bolivia. It was originally an Indigenous festival dating from the 18th century, but now incorporates Catholic rituals in the service of the Virgen de la Candelaria.

  • Bolivia has two capitals. One is called La Paz, but the legal capital of Bolivia is Sucre.

  • Bolivia is home to the largest salt flat in the world. Also known as the Largest Mirror on Earth: the Salar de Uyuni covers a total area of 10,582 sq km at 3,656 m above sea level.

Ready to visit one of the most beautiful Latin American countries? Bolivia is waiting for you!

1.2M happy customers

24/7support

+42,000 reviews

10 years of experience

98% visa approval rate

Disclaimer
  • iVisa is NOT affiliated with any government agency. This site does not provide legal advice and we are not a law firm. None of our customer service representatives are lawyers and they also do not provide legal advice. We are a private, internet-based travel and immigration consultancy provider dedicated to helping individuals travel around the world. You may apply by yourself directly on the various government websites. The source of information: https://www.gob.bo/
Intercom Chat