fr | $ USD

Explorer

Paramètres

Sélectionnez votre langue

Sélectionnez votre devise

  • AED United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • AFN Afghan Afghani
  • ALL Albanian Lek
  • AMD Armenian Dram
  • ANG Netherlands Antillean Guilder
  • AOA Angolan Kwanza
  • ARS Argentine Peso
  • AUD Australian Dollar
  • AWG Aruban Florin
  • AZN Azerbaijani Manat
  • BAM Bosnia-Herzegovina Convertible Mark
  • BBD Barbadian Dollar
  • BDT Bangladeshi Taka
  • BGN Bulgarian Lev
  • BIF Burundian Franc
  • BMD Bermudan Dollar
  • BND Brunei Dollar
  • BOB Bolivian Boliviano
  • BRL Brazilian Real
  • BSD Bahamian Dollar
  • BWP Botswanan Pula
  • BZD Belize Dollar
  • CAD Canadian Dollar
  • CDF Congolese Franc
  • CHF Swiss Franc
  • CLP Chilean Peso
  • CNY Chinese Yuan
  • COP Colombian Peso
  • CRC Costa Rican Colón
  • CVE Cape Verdean Escudo
  • CZK Czech Republic Koruna
  • DJF Djiboutian Franc
  • DKK Danish Krone
  • DOP Dominican Peso
  • DZD Algerian Dinar
  • EGP Egyptian Pound
  • ETB Ethiopian Birr
  • EUR Euro
  • FJD Fijian Dollar
  • FKP Falkland Islands Pound
  • GBP British Pound Sterling
  • GEL Georgian Lari
  • GIP Gibraltar Pound
  • GMD Gambian Dalasi
  • GNF Guinean Franc
  • GTQ Guatemalan Quetzal
  • GYD Guyanaese Dollar
  • HKD Hong Kong Dollar
  • HNL Honduran Lempira
  • HTG Haitian Gourde
  • HUF Hungarian Forint
  • IDR Indonesian Rupiah
  • ILS Israeli New Sheqel
  • INR Indian Rupee
  • ISK Icelandic Króna
  • JMD Jamaican Dollar
  • JPY Japanese Yen
  • KES Kenyan Shilling
  • KGS Kyrgystani Som
  • KHR Cambodian Riel
  • KMF Comorian Franc
  • KRW South Korean Won
  • KYD Cayman Islands Dollar
  • KZT Kazakhstani Tenge
  • LAK Laotian Kip
  • LBP Lebanese Pound
  • LKR Sri Lankan Rupee
  • LRD Liberian Dollar
  • LSL Lesotho Loti
  • MAD Moroccan Dirham
  • MDL Moldovan Leu
  • MGA Malagasy Ariary
  • MKD Macedonian Denar
  • MNT Mongolian Tugrik
  • MOP Macanese Pataca
  • MUR Mauritian Rupee
  • MVR Maldivian Rufiyaa
  • MWK Malawian Kwacha
  • MXN Mexican Peso
  • MYR Malaysian Ringgit
  • MZN Mozambican Metical
  • NAD Namibian Dollar
  • NGN Nigerian Naira
  • NIO Nicaraguan Córdoba
  • NOK Norwegian Krone
  • NPR Nepalese Rupee
  • NZD New Zealand Dollar
  • OMR Omani Rial
  • PAB Panamanian Balboa
  • PEN Peruvian Nuevo Sol
  • PGK Papua New Guinean Kina
  • PHP Philippine Peso
  • PKR Pakistani Rupee
  • PLN Polish Zloty
  • PYG Paraguayan Guarani
  • QAR Qatari Rial
  • RON Romanian Leu
  • RSD Serbian Dinar
  • RUB Russian Ruble
  • RWF Rwandan Franc
  • SAR Saudi Riyal
  • SBD Solomon Islands Dollar
  • SCR Seychellois Rupee
  • SEK Swedish Krona
  • SGD Singapore Dollar
  • SHP Saint Helena Pound
  • SLL Sierra Leonean Leone
  • SOS Somali Shilling
  • SRD Surinamese Dollar
  • SVC Salvadoran Colón
  • SZL Swazi Lilangeni
  • THB Thai Baht
  • TJS Tajikistani Somoni
  • TOP Tongan Pa anga
  • TRY Turkish Lira
  • TTD Trinidad and Tobago Dollar
  • TWD New Taiwan Dollar
  • TZS Tanzanian Shilling
  • UAH Ukrainian Hryvnia
  • UGX Ugandan Shilling
  • USD United States Dollar
  • UYU Uruguayan Peso
  • UZS Uzbekistan Som
  • VND Vietnamese Dong
  • VUV Vanuatu Vatu
  • WST Samoan Tala
  • XAF CFA Franc BEAC
  • XCD East Caribbean Dollar
  • XOF CFA Franc BCEAO
  • XPF CFP Franc
  • YER Yemeni Rial
  • ZAR South African Rand
  • ZMW Zambian Kwacha
Guide de voyage de l'Uruguay : Tout ce qu'il faut savoir pour visiter l'Uruguay en 2023
 
 
 
 
 

Welcome to Uruguay

Situé le long de la côte atlantique de l'Amérique du Sud, L'Uruguay n'est pas une destination touristique typique, mais c'est un endroit incroyable pour-les personnes qui voyagent pour la première fois et celles qui méprisent l'exploration de sites encombrés. Il offre un large éventail d'attractions et il y en a pour tous les goûts dans ce magnifique pays d'Amérique latine, des passionnés d'histoire et des pèlerins aux amateurs de spa et aux fêtards.

L'Uruguay n'est peut-être pas le pays le plus riche d'Amérique du Sud, mais il a sa part d'attractions opulentes. Des plages à couper le souffle aux villes historiques, l'Uruguay est un pays inoubliable. Pour vous aider à planifier votre voyage, ce guide de voyage ultime de l'Uruguay contient tout ce que vous devez savoir, y compris des conseils de voyage, des astuces et des informations sur le voyage.

Liste de contrôle des documents pour l'Uruguay

Selon votre nationalité, vous devrez être en possession des documents suivants pour entrer en Uruguay :

  • Visa
  • Déclaration de santé
  • Passeport en cours de validité (pour trois mois au-delà de la durée du séjour)
  • Fonds suffisants
  • Billet d'avion aller-retour
  • Assurance voyage

Informations essentielles sur l'Uruguay

  • Monnaie - Peso uruguayen ($U/UYU). 1 $ équivaut à environ 40 UYU.

  • Budget journalier pour une personne - 63 $.

  • Langues - Espagnol.

  • Type de prise - Types C, F et L, tension d'alimentation 220V et 50Hz.

  • Fuseau horaire - Uruguay Standard Time (GMT-3).

  • Les 3 villes les plus visitées - Montevideo, Colonia del Sacramento et Punta del Este.

  • Les 3 principaux points de repère/monuments - Iglesia Candelaria, Castillo Pittamiglio, et Cementerio de Paysandú.

Informations sur les visas pour l'Uruguay

Les citoyens de l'UE et de la plupart des pays européens et américains (à l'exception de certains anciens États soviétiques et balkaniques) n'ont pas besoin de visa pour un séjour de 90 jours maximum en Uruguay. Les Australiens et les Néo-Zélandais sont également exemptés de visa (-). Toutefois, la plupart des ressortissants africains et asiatiques doivent faire une demande de visa à l'avance.

Vérifiez auprès de votre ambassade locale quelles sont les règles applicables à votre nationalité.

Coûts et budget typiques d'un voyage en Uruguay

Nous savons à quel point il peut être difficile de planifier un voyage, surtout lorsqu'il s'agit d'établir des prévisions financières. C'est pourquoi nous avons créé un guide essentiel des coûts quotidiens moyens pour voyager en Uruguay avec un budget modéré :

Dépenses journalières par personne - 65

  • Repas - $20

  • Transport - $20

  • Divertissement - 12

  • Hôtel - Une chambre pour une personne coûte environ 28 $ par nuit, et environ 56 $ pour un couple.

Au total, un voyage d'une semaine en Uruguay pour deux personnes coûte en moyenne 890 $.

Transports et déplacements en Uruguay

Le mode de transport le plus courant en Uruguay est le bus, également appelé autobus, coche, unidad, omnibus ou minibus. De nombreux bus sont 100 % électriques, leur coût est relativement faible (-) et ils sont dotés d'un personnel amical et serviable.

Il existe d'autres options moins populaires dans les grandes villes, notamment le train, mais elles peuvent être coûteuses ou peu fiables.

Sécurité en Uruguay

Il est fortement recommandé de prendre des précautions accrues lorsque vous voyagez en Uruguay en raison du taux de criminalité. Si vous décidez de vous rendre dans ce pays d'Amérique du Sud, nous vous recommandons :

  • d'obtenir un enregistrement auprès de l'ambassade avant votre départ.

  • Une assurance voyage est nécessaire, et nous vous conseillons de vérifier que votre assureur vous couvre en cas de vol ou d'urgence.

  • Restez vigilant et conscient de votre environnement, en particulier lorsque vous vous rendez dans des lieux touristiques ou des zones mal éclairées.

  • Appelez le 911 si vous constatez qu'un crime est en cours.

  • Ne résistez pas physiquement à une tentative de vol et n'essayez pas d'intervenir pour arrêter un vol en cours.

  • Soyez vigilant, en particulier dans les banques et les distributeurs automatiques de billets pendant les heures creuses de la journée (-) ou dans les endroits isolés.

  • Ne laissez pas d'objets de valeur dans des véhicules garés ou à la vue de tous.

  • Évitez d'afficher votre richesse en portant des bijoux ou des montres de grande valeur.

  • Préparez un plan d'action en cas d'urgence.

Météo en Uruguay

La meilleure période pour un voyage en Uruguay est l'été, de novembre à février. Les températures se situant entre 22°C/72°F et 29°C/84°F, c'est une période particulièrement propice pour visiter les zones côtières et profiter de l'océan Atlantique sans se geler, d'autant plus que de nombreuses stations balnéaires ferment leurs portes à l'arrivée de l'automne.

Villes et villages populaires en Uruguay

  1. La capitale de l'Uruguay est Montevideo . La ville s'articule autour de la Plaza de la Independencia, qui mène à la Ciudad Vieja, un lieu qui s'enorgueillit d'incroyables bâtiments art déco, de maisons coloniales et de points d'intérêt comme le Palacio Salvo et le marché Mercado del Puerto. La ville est réputée pour être l'une des capitales les plus sûres d'Amérique latine, elle offre la meilleure qualité de vie pour une ville sud-américaine et elle est souvent considérée comme la ville la plus accueillante pour les homosexuels (-) du pays.

  2. Colonia del Sacramento est située dans la partie sud-ouest de l'Uruguay et se trouve de l'autre côté du Río de La Plata par rapport à Buenos Aires. C'est aussi l'une des plus anciennes villes d'Uruguay et son quartier historique est inscrit au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO. Colonia del Sacramento, l'une des plus charmantes villes coloniales, offre d'excellentes possibilités de shopping et de restauration, ainsi que la possibilité de se rendre rapidement à Buenos Aires.

  3. La station balnéaire de Punta del Este se trouve le long de la côte uruguayenne et s'enorgueillit d'une vie nocturne florissante et glamour qui gagne rapidement une réputation internationale. Outre les kilomètres de plages et de boîtes de nuit, la ville est réputée pour ses restaurants de classe mondiale-. La petite ville est facile à parcourir à pied ou à vélo et est affectueusement surnommée la Monaco de l'Amérique du Sud.

  4. Salto se trouve dans la région nord-ouest de l'Uruguay et borde l'Argentine sur le Río Uruguay (fleuve Uruguay). La ville s'enorgueillit de ses boutiques animées, de ses cafés et de la Plaza Artigas. Au sud-est de Salto, les touristes peuvent profiter des spas, des piscines publiques en plein air et des sources d'eau chaude naturelles de la région de Termas del Daymán. Il s'agit donc d'une visite incontournable-pour les amateurs de tourisme de santé.

  5. Piriápolis est une ville située sur la côte atlantique et l'une des premières stations balnéaires d'Uruguay. Connue pour ses bâtiments à couper le souffle, notamment l'hôtel Argentino, le port de Piriápolis et le Cerro San Antonio, une colline où se trouvent une petite chapelle et un belvédère, cette petite ville a de quoi plaire à tout le monde et constitue une excellente fin de vacances.

À faire et à voir en Uruguay

  1. Faire une randonnée à Punta del Diablo : Commencez à explorer l'incroyable beauté naturelle de l'Uruguay par une randonnée à travers les dunes de sable de Punta del Diablo (Pointe du Diable). Les randonnées matinales dans les dunes et les excursions dans le parc national de Santa Teresa, une réserve forestière en bord de mer, sont d'excellentes façons d'explorer la région.

  2. Cherchez les lions de mer à Cabo Polonio , puis explorez la petite ville rustique qui abrite des cabanes vendant une nourriture étonnamment bonne et un phare qui est le seul bâtiment connecté à l'électricité locale. Une partie de l'aventure consiste à se rendre à la ville, car il n'y a pas de route et le seul moyen d'accéder au village est de faire une longue randonnée ou d'utiliser un véhicule 4x4.

  3. Détendez-vous et profitez des sources d'eau chaude** à Termas del Arapey, la plus ancienne station thermale du pays, et à Termas del Daymán. Arapey possède des eaux de source naturelles pouvant atteindre 39 degrés Celsius, qui auraient des propriétés thérapeutiques, ce qui en fait l'endroit idéal pour se détendre et se déstresser.

  4. Profitez de la saison du carnaval avec le candombe : La saison du carnaval est une célébration majeure dans plusieurs pays d'Amérique du Sud. En Uruguay, elle est marquée par des défilés de danse et des événements culturels pendant 40 jours, entre janvier et février. C'est la plus longue célébration de carnaval au monde. Pendant votre séjour, visitez également le musée du carnaval de Montevideo pour comprendre l'histoire du carnaval, ses origines et l'évolution des costumes et des célébrations.

  5. Découvrez la culture gaucho : Vous cherchez un métier amusant, physiquement exigeant et aventureux ? La culture gaucho (cow-boy sud-américain) est peut-être faite pour vous. Symbole national de l'Uruguay et de l'Argentine, les gauchos sont des explorateurs qui, historiquement, ont pris en charge l'élevage du bétail dans des régions reculées et sont devenus des maîtres de l'équitation. Bien que la tradition soit techniquement éteinte, vous pouvez embrasser la culture en visitant une hacienda pour observer ou participer aux activités traditionnelles des gauchos, comme la conduite du bétail, la garde des troupeaux de moutons et l'équitation.

Aliments typiquement uruguayens à goûter

  1. Un asado dans une parrilla uruguayenne (steakhouse) est fait pour les amateurs de viande. Un asado est préparé sur un barbecue ouvert-, ce qui est plutôt un événement social. Le plat de l'asado se compose de plusieurs morceaux de viande marinée non-(traditionnellement du bœuf et du poulet). Le tout est accompagné de pain baguette, de légumes grillés à côté de la viande et de salades.

  2. Aucun asado n'est complet sans une divine Chimichurri . Cette délicieuse sauce est polyvalente et constitue une excellente vinaigrette ou marinade. Elle est traditionnellement composée de persil frais haché, d'ail, d'origan, d'huile, d'eau, de sel, de poivre et de vinaigre, puis laissée à reposer pendant quelques heures au réfrigérateur.

  3. Les empanadas sont un mélange de traditions espagnoles et italiennes qui sont devenues un classique en Argentine et en Uruguay. La version uruguayenne est l'empanada Criolla (créole), composée d'une farce de viande en dés, d'oignons, d'œufs durs, de sel, de poivre noir, de persil et de poivre moulu, enveloppée dans une pâte qui est frite ou cuite au four. Il peut être consommé en entrée ou en plat principal, accompagné d'une salade et de vin rouge.

  4. Bizcochos est un aliment de base du petit-déjeuner en Uruguay. La préparation de ces pâtisseries prend du temps, mais de nombreuses boulangeries les vendent dans tout le pays. Accompagnez ces petites pâtisseries d'une tasse de café, de maté ou de thé, et vous obtiendrez un délicieux petit-déjeuner.

  5. Enfin, l'un des aliments ou boissons les plus traditionnels à déguster en Uruguay est le mate . Tout le monde, y compris les joueurs de football célèbres, apprécie le maté, qui est une boisson à base de calebasse-. La boisson est une infusion de Yerba Mate, riche en caféine. Bien qu'amère, cette boisson est souvent sucrée et servie chaude avec une paille en métal.

Informations sur les vaccins pour l'Uruguay

Le [ CDC conseille à tous les voyageurs d'être à jour dans leurs vaccinations de routine, notamment la varicelle, la diphtérie-le tétanos-la coqueluche, la grippe, la rougeole-les oreillons-la rubéole (ROR), la polio et le zona.

Les visiteurs de l'Uruguay devraient également se faire vacciner contre le COVID-19, l'hépatite A et B, ainsi que contre la fièvre jaune, la rougeole, la rage et la typhoïde. Parlez-en à votre médecin et vérifiez sur-les exigences de votre nationalité ou de votre pays en matière de vaccination avant de planifier votre voyage en Uruguay.

L'Uruguay possède l'hymne national le plus long du monde.

L'hymne national de l'Uruguay, le "Himno Nacional de Uruguay", dure plus de cinq minutes et comporte 105 mesures, ce qui en fait l'hymne national le plus long du monde. Les paroles ont été écrites par Francisco Acuña de Figueroa, qui a également écrit l'hymne national du Paraguay. La musique a été composée par Francisco José Debali et Fernando Quijano et a été jouée pour la première fois le 19 juillet 1845.

Anecdotes sur l'Uruguay

  1. L'Uruguay est le deuxième-plus petit pays d'Amérique du Sud , seul le Suriname étant plus petit. Il compte un peu moins de 3,5 millions d'habitants.

  2. L'Uruguay est nommé d'après le fleuve Uruguay . Ce nom signifie "fleuve des oiseaux peints" en langue guarani. Le fleuve part du Brésil et forme la frontière entre l'Uruguay et l'Argentine.

  3. Chaque élève de l'école primaire en Uruguay a reçu un ordinateur portable. L'Uruguay a été le premier pays au monde à mettre en œuvre le programme "Un ordinateur portable par enfant" , et grâce à cette initiative à but non lucratif-, le pays a fourni un ordinateur portable XO à 395 000 enfants de la première à la sixième année d'études.

  4. L'Uruguay est le seul pays d'Amérique latine qui se trouve complètement en dehors des tropiques et il a quatre saisons.

  5. Le drapeau national de l'Uruguay représente le soleil de mai et neuf bandes horizontales qui alternent entre le blanc et le bleu. Le Soleil de mai est un soleil jaune d'or à visage humain. Le mot "mai" fait référence au mois de 1810 au cours duquel le pays a obtenu son indépendance de l'empire espagnol. Le soleil rend également hommage à la légende selon laquelle, lorsque le nouveau gouvernement a été proclamé, le soleil a percé les nuages, signe de bonnes choses à venir.

1.2M Des clients satisfaits

24/7Soutien

+46,000 revues

10 Années d'expérience

98% taux d'approbation des visas

Chat sur WhatsApp
Chat par interphone

Home >

Uruguay Travel Guide: All you need to know to visit Uruguay in 2023

Uruguay Travel Guide: All you need to know to visit Uruguay in 2023

Welcome to Uruguay

Sitting along the Atlantic coast of South America, Uruguay is not a typical tourist destination, but it is an incredible place for first-time travelers and those who despise exploring crowded landmarks. It offers a wide range of attractions and there’s something for everyone in this beautiful Latin American country, from history buffs and pilgrims to spa lovers and partygoers.

Uruguay may not be the wealthiest country in South America, but it has its fair share of opulent attractions. From breathtaking beaches to historic towns, visiting Uruguay is unforgettable. To help you plan your trip, this ultimate Uruguay travel guide is packed with everything you need to know, including travel tips, tricks, and travel information.

Document checklist for Uruguay

Depending on your nationality, you will be required to have the following documents to enter Uruguay:

  • Visa
  • Health Declaration
  • Valid passport (for three months beyond the length of stay)
  • Sufficient funds
  • Return airline ticket
  • Travel insurance

Essential Uruguay travel information

  • Currency - Uruguayan peso ($U/UYU). $1 is equivalent to approx. UYU 40.

  • Daily budget for one person - $63.

  • Languages - Spanish.

  • Socket type - Types C, F, and L, 220V supply voltage and 50Hz.

  • Time zone - Uruguay Standard Time (GMT-3).

  • Top 3 cities to visit - Montevideo, Colonia del Sacramento, and Punta del Este.

  • Top 3 landmarks/monuments - Iglesia Candelaria, Castillo Pittamiglio, and Cementerio de Paysandú.

Visa information for Uruguay

Citizens of the EU and most European and American countries (except some former Soviet and Balkan states) do not require a visa for stays of up to 90 days in Uruguay. Australians and New Zealanders are also visa-exempt; however, most African and Asian nationals must apply for visas in advance.

Check with your local embassy which rules apply to your nationality specifically.

Typical costs and budget for a trip to Uruguay

We know how difficult planning a trip can be, especially when working out financial expectations. So we’ve created an essential guide to the average daily costs for traveling through Uruguay on a moderate budget:

Daily spending per person - $65

  • Meals - $20

  • Transport - $20

  • Entertainment - $12

  • Hotel - A room for one person costs around $28 per night, and about $56 for a couple.

Overall, a trip to Uruguay for two people for one week costs an average of $890.

Transport and ways to travel around Uruguay

The most common mode of transportation in Uruguay is the bus, also called autobus, coche, unidad, omnibus, or minibus. Many buses are 100% electric, relatively low-cost, and boast friendly and helpful staff members.

There are other less popular options in large cities, including train travel; however, they can be pricey or unreliable.

Safety in Uruguay

It is highly recommended to take increased precautions when traveling in Uruguay due to the crime rate. If you decide to travel to this South American country, we recommend:

  • Getting an Embassy registration before you leave.

  • Travel insurance is necessary, and we advise checking that your insurance provider will cover you in case of theft or emergency.

  • Stay alert and aware of your surroundings, especially when traveling to tourist locations or poorly lit areas.

  • Call 911 if you encounter a crime in progress.

  • Do not physically resist a robbery attempt or try to intervene and stop a robbery in progress.

  • Be vigilant, especially at banks or ATMs during non-daylight hours or in remote locations.

  • Do not leave valuable objects in parked vehicles or plain sight.

  • Avoid displays of wealth like wearing expensive jewelry or watches.

  • Prepare a plan of action for emergencies.

Weather in Uruguay

The best time for a Uruguay tour is in summer, which goes from November to February. Since the temperatures are a pleasant average of 22°C/72°F to 29°C/84°F, it is a particularly great time to enjoy visiting coastal areas and enjoy the Atlantic ocean without freezing, especially since many of the beach resorts close when autumn starts.

Popular cities and towns in Uruguay

  1. The capital city of Uruguay is Montevideo. The city revolves around the Plaza de la Independencia, which leads to Ciudad Vieja, a place that boasts incredible art deco buildings, colonial homes, and landmarks like Palacio Salvo and the Mercado del Puerto market. The city is renowned as one of the safest capital cities in Latin America, it has the highest quality of life for a South American city, and it’s often considered the most gay-friendly city in the country.

  2. Colonia del Sacramento is located in the south-western part of Uruguay and lies across the Río de La Plata from Buenos Aires. It is also one of the oldest towns in Uruguay and its historic quarter is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. As one of the most charming colonial towns, Colonia del Sacramento offers excellent shopping, food, and the option of making a quick trip to Buenos Aires.

  3. The resort town of Punta del Este lies along the coast of Uruguay and boasts a thriving and glamorous nightlife that is quickly earning an international reputation. Besides the miles of beaches and nightclubs, the city is renowned for its world-class restaurants. The tiny town is easy to walk or bike through and is affectionately referred to as the Monaco of South America.

  4. Salto lies in the north-western area of Uruguay and borders Argentina on the Río Uruguay (Uruguay River). It boasts lively shops, cafes, and the Plaza Artigas. In the Southeast of Salto, tourists can indulge in the spas, public outdoor pools, and natural hot springs of the Termas del Daymán area. Thus it is a must-visit for health tourism lovers.

  5. Piriápolis is a city sitting on the Atlantic coast and one of Uruguay's earliest resort towns. Known for its breathtaking buildings, including the waterfront Argentino Hotel, Piriápolis harbor, and Cerro San Antonio, a hill with a small chapel and a lookout point, the little town has something for everyone and makes for a great end to a busy holiday.

Must do and see in Uruguay

  1. Take a hike in Punta del Diablo: Start exploring Uruguay’s incredible natural beauty with a hike across the sand dunes of Punta del Diablo (Devil's Point). Early morning hikes on the dunes and a trek through the Santa Teresa National Park, a forested seaside reserve, are incredible ways to explore the area.

  2. Look for sea lions in Cabo Polonio, then explore the rustic little town that boasts shacks selling surprisingly great food and a lighthouse that is the only building connected to local electricity. Part of the adventure is getting to the town as there are no roads, and the only way to access the village is via a long hike or a 4WD vehicle.

  3. Kick back and enjoy the hot springs** in Termas del Arapey, the oldest thermal resort in the country, and in Termas del Daymán. Arapey boasts natural spring waters of up to 39 degrees Celsius, which reportedly have therapeutic properties, thus making it the perfect place to relax and destress.

  4. Enjoy the Carnival season with the candombe: Carnival season is a major celebration across several South American countries. In Uruguay, it is marked with dance parades and cultural events for 40 days, between January and February. This makes the celebration the longest carnival celebration in the world. While you’re there, also visit the Carnival Museum in Montevideo to understand the history of the carnival, its origins, and how costumes and celebrations evolved.

  5. Learn about Gaucho Culture: Looking for something fun, physically demanding, and adventurous? Then gaucho (a South American cowboy) culture might be for you. The national symbol of Uruguay and Argentina, gauchos, were explorers who historically took over livestock farming in remote regions and became master horse riders. Though the tradition is technically extinct, you can embrace the culture by visiting a hacienda to watch or participate in traditional gaucho activities like driving cattle, herding sheep, and horse riding.

Typical Uruguayan food to try

  1. An asado at a Uruguayan parrilla (steakhouse) is made for meat lovers. An asado is prepared at an open-fire barbecue, which is more of a social event. The dish portion of the asado consists of several cuts of non-marinated meats (traditionally mostly beef and chicken). This is served with baguette bread and vegetables grilled next to the meat and salads.

  2. No asado is complete without a divine Chimichurri. This delicious sauce is versatile and makes for a great salad dressing or marinade. Traditionally it is made from chopped fresh parsley, garlic, oregano, oil, water, salt, pepper, and vinegar, then left to rest for a couple of hours in the refrigerator.

  3. Empanadas are a mix of Spanish and Italian traditions that became a classic in Argentina and Uruguay. The Uruguayan version is the empanada Criolla (creole), made with a filling of diced meat, onions, boiled eggs, salt, black pepper, parsley, and ground pepper, wrapped in a dough that is fried or baked. It can be eaten as a starter or a main with salad and red wine.

  4. Bizcochos are a staple breakfast food in Uruguay. The pastries take time to prepare, but many bakeries sell them throughout the country. Pair the small pastries with a cup of coffee, mate, or tea, and you have a delicious breakfast.

  5. Lastly, one of the most traditional foods or beverage items to try in Uruguay is the aforementioned mate. Everyone, including famous football players, enjoys mate, which is a gourd-cured drink. The drink is an infusion of Yerba Mate, which is rich in caffeine. Though bitter, this beverage is often sweetened with sugar and served hot with a metal straw.

Vaccine information for Uruguay

The CDC advises all travelers to be up to date on all routine vaccinations, including Chickenpox (Varicella), Diphtheria-Tetanus-Pertussis, Flu (influenza), Measles-Mumps-Rubella (MMR), Polio and Shingles.

Visitors to Uruguay should also get vaccinated for COVID-19, hepatitis A, and B, as well as yellow fever, measles, rabies, and typhoid. Speak to your doctor and double-check what vaccination requirements your specific nationality or country may require before planning your trip to Uruguay.

Uruguay has the world’s longest national anthem

Uruguay’s national anthem, the “Himno Nacional de Uruguay,” is more than five minutes long with 105 bars of music, making it the longest national anthem in the world. The lyrics were written by Francisco Acuña de Figueroa, who also wrote Paraguay’s national anthem. The music was composed by Francisco José Debali and Fernando Quijano and was first performed on July 19, 1845.

Fun facts about Uruguay

  1. Uruguay is the second-smallest South American country, with only Suriname being smaller. It has a population of just under 3,5 million people.

  2. Uruguay is named after the Uruguay River. The name means “river of the painted birds” in the Guaraní language and the river runs from Brazil and forms the border between Uruguay and Argentina.

  3. Every primary school student in Uruguay was given a laptop. It was the first country in the world to implement a One Laptop Per Child program, and through this non-profit initiative, the country provided 395,000 children in first through sixth grades with an XO laptop.

  4. Uruguay is the only country in Latin America completely outside of the tropics and it has four seasons.

  5. Uruguay’s national flag features the Sun of May and nine horizontal stripes that alternate between white and blue. The Sun of May is a golden yellow sun with a human face. ‘May’ is a reference to the month in 1810 when the country gained independence from the Spanish Empire. The sun also pays tribute to the legend that claims that when the new government was proclaimed, the sun broke through the clouds as a sign of good things to come.

1.2M Happy Customers 99% On Time Delivery 10 Years of Experience
Trustpilot recommended. We lead the industry in innovation and reputation

How it Works?

Fill out online application

Complete our easy online application and pay with credit card or PayPal

Fill out online application
Receive document via email

No need to deal with the embassy. We do it for you so you don't lose valuable time

Receive document via email
Enter destination

Present your Passport and the Document we provide upon entry to destination country

Enter destination

Our Customers Have Great Stories About Us

Alan

Alan

Wonderful company to work with - they were very responsive on chat as we made some mistakes on our end. They assured us everything would work out and worked with us until we received our E-Visa. We got it just two days before traveling. I would highly recommend iVisa.com. If you are in a rush, I would recommend paying the extra to ensure it is ready in time because the government needed more documents and that allowed us extra time to submit.

Pritam Gajjar

Pritam Gajjar

Highly impressive. Thanks to iVisa.com team for their great support. I just applied yesterday for my son's Indian E-Visa in a standard service (96 hours). But in a duration of 35 hours (within 2 days), today I get his visa. Before applying it, we were very confused for the E-visa websites. But thanks to this team for their great quick effort. Highly Recommended to all.

Elizabeth Walker

Elizabeth Walker

I was surprised to get my Visa within 2 hours and amazed at the fact that how hassle free the entire process is. Thank you guys, keep it up. I will make sure to spread the words among my friends.

Sarah Brown

Sarah Brown

I applied to get visa to India. This is the first time I used this service. Highly recommend them for anyone need to get E-Visa. Easy to apply through their Web form, can add multiple people in a single request. Fast and efficient service. Received visa within few days. Only downside I found is the order of the application process. It request your visa fee payment, in the 2nd step, before completing the application form with all the information. In general, any web based purchases the payment is requested in the last step. This may raise a concern for a first time user.