Bahamas Visa Policy
iVisa | 5 min read | Updated on Oct 05, 2023

Visa Policy for the Bahamas

The Bahamas Visa Policy is based on the laws and ordinances for foreign citizens who may require a visa to travel to this country. A visa is a travel document granted by a country to foreigners, and it allows them to enter, stay within, or leave the country’s territory.

Fill me in

Foreigners wishing to visit the Bahamas for vacations, medical purposes, or business, may require a visa for entry. Entry and visa requirements vary depending on the country of the applicant’s citizenship and residency. If the traveler is born in one country and is resident in another (other than the U.S. or Canada), the documentation needed is based upon the country of birth.

The Bahamas offers few types of visas or travel permits for those who want to enter the country. Immigration forms are available upon arrival, and most travelers won’t require to visit the embassy to get a visa to enter the Bahamas Nevertheless, for travelers who want a long-term stay, especially if it involves living or working in the country, it will be necessary to visit a Bahamas diplomatic mission to obtain the appropriate visas and/or permits.

Learn more about the Bahamas Visa Policy and the documents required to travel to this country in the information below.

Tourist Visa Policy for the Bahamas

Foreigners who want to travel to the Bahamas will be happy to know that most countries do not require a visa to enter this island nation. The Bahamas Visa Policy is constantly changing but more to the fact of the coronavirus pandemic than for other reasons, which is why most of the time the immigration requirements tend to be very easy to fulfill. The Bahamas Immigration authorities only require its visitors to offer an Immigration Form upon arrival, which is easy to complete. This document allows visitors to stay in the country for up to 3 months.

Recently, the Bahamas launched the BEATS program, better known as Bahamas Extended Access Travel Stay, which allows foreigners to stay up to one year in the country if they prove they will be working from home or studying in one of the Bahamas educational centers. This works similar to a residence permit, but with a validity of one year only. As for the Visa on Arrival is required only to Indian citizens with visas assigned by the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, or any Schengen Member State. This document allows them to stay in the Bahamas for 90 days.

Learn more about each document’s information in the following lines. It’s important to mention that due to the coronavirus pandemic, the Bahamas launched the Bahamas Travel Health Card, which is an electronic document that allows the traveler to stay 30 days in the Bahamas.

Get more details about the Bahamas Visa Policy

Immigration Form

All travelers must fill in and sign in an immigration form upon arrival, and they must also have a portion of the card in hand until the departure. This form is not complicated. It does not require much of the traveler’s time either as the officers offer the entire information on what to do. However, it is possible to obtain the form online and print it, so that the traveler can have it in advance.

This document allows the traveler to stay up to 3 months in the Bahamas, but always remembering that the purposes must be tourism, business, or medical service. An oral baggage declaration is also needed upon arrival. Each adult traveler is allowed to bring certain items, even cigarettes, and tobacco, but only if they meet the maximum limit: 50 cigars, 200 cigarettes, and one pound of tobacco.

Bahamas Extended Access Travel Stay

The Bahamas Extended Access Travel Stay or BEATS is a one-year residency permit created to allow professionals and students from other nations to work and study from The Bahamas remotely for one year. This document gives both students and professionals who are working/studying from home the chance to live in and travel among the different islands in this country. The program works completely online, meaning that the traveler will only have to fill in an online form to wait for the approval and stay in the Bahamas for a year working or studying from home.

This document only asks the applicant to have basic items, including a valid passport with proof of medical insurance, a job letter (from current employer), or proof of self-employment if necessary or evidence of enrollment in an accredited learning institution if the applicant is a student.

This document expires 12 months from the date of issue, but there is a chance of renewal. However, applications for annual renewals will be considered for a maximum period of three years.

Get more details about the Bahamas Visa Policy

Visa on Arrival

This is only required for Indian citizens with visas issued by the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, or any Schengen Member State. They can obtain a visa on arrival for a maximum stay of 90 days.

This is the only exception related to visas when entering the Bahamas, as most countries do not need a visa to enter the Bahamas

Other Visa Information for the Bahamas

Over 120 countries are exempt from getting a visa to enter the Bahamas. Citizens from these countries can visit the Bahamas freely for 3 months without any special document required. However, it is important to mention that all travelers must apply for a Travel Health Card by now due to the coronavirus pandemic and that they might need this document in the future for any health emergency Check the list below to see which countries do not need a visa to enter the Bahamas.

  • All EU citizens
  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Eswatini
  • Fiji
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Kuwait
  • Lesotho
  • Liechtenstein
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • the Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Qatar
  • Russia
  • Samoa
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • the Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Sri Lanka
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • San Marino
  • Suriname
  • Switzerland
  • Tanzania
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turthe key
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • United Arab Emirates
  • The United Kingdom
  • The United States
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican City
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Let's stay in touch!

Join our newsletter to receive the best traveling tips

© 2014-2023 All rights reserved. iVisa and iVisa logo are registered trademarks of

English - en |
Intercom Chat