India Tourist Visa for 180 Days
iVisa | 3 min read | Updated on Oct 20, 2023

Yearning for a voyage to the land where ancient traditions entwine with the vibrancy of modernity? The India Tourist Visa for 180 days is your passage to the sprawling expanses of India's geographically and culturally diverse realms.

At iVisa, we've simplified the visa application process, providing a hassle-free pathway to India's diverse landscapes and rich cultural tapestry. Our advanced platform and mobile app are your companions in this adventure, ensuring a seamless transition to the land of endless discoveries.

Gone are the days of tedious, regular paper tourist visa applications. With our guidance, your exploration of India is just a click away.

India woman tradition

What is the 180-day India Tourist Visa?

The 180-day India Tourist Visa is a feature of the 1-year and 5-year multiple entry visa/s that allows travelers, specifically from the US, UK, Canada, or Japan, to stay in India for up to 180 days (approximately six months) per visit.

This visa is for tourism, enabling visitors to explore India's rich cultural, historical, and natural attractions.

You cannot study or work in India with this visa. Instead, you must apply for a student or employment visa to enter India for study or work purposes. If you enter India for business reasons, you need an e-business visa. Those entering the country for medical treatment can apply for a medical visa, and those entering for media-related reasons may be eligible for a journalist visa.

Eligibility for a 180-day India e-Tourist Visa

For foreign nationals to be eligible for a 180-day India Tourist e-visa, they must meet the following criteria:

  1. Nationality: The extended stay of up to 180 days Per Entry is available only to citizens of the US, UK, Canada, or Japan. Travelers from other countries may generally be eligible for up to 90-day stays.

  2. Passport validity: Applicants must hold a passport that remains valid for at least six months from the date of arrival in India, and it should have one blank page for immigration stamping.

  3. Residence or occupation: Eligibility extends to those who don't have a residence or occupation in India.

  4. Purpose of visit: The visit to India should be solely for tourism purposes, and travelers should plan to exit India within 180 days of entry.

These key points encapsulate the primary eligibility criteria for the 180-day India Tourist e-Visa, ensuring a smooth application process for prospective travelers.

Application process

It couldn't be easier to apply for your Indian eVisa online than with our services. The process is straightforward and takes around 10 minutes to complete.

  • Step 1: Complete our simplified form online via our website. You'll be asked to provide general information about yourself and choose the type of visa you want to apply for.

  • Step 2: Verify the information you've provided and choose the processing option that best suits your needs.

  • Step 3: Pay the service fee using a credit or debit card. Upload any required documents (a passport photo and a photo scan of your passport).

Once you've completed all three steps, just submit your application and sit back and relax while we process your visa! Wait for your eVisa to arrive in your email inbox within your chosen timeframe.

Note: During travel, you must carry a printed and electronic copy of your Tourist eVisa to show to immigration authorities on arrival so they can see your India e-Visa status.

Pretty easy, right? Apply now!

Need more information?

If you need more info about traveling to India for tourism, medical assistance, or business purposes, don't hesitate to contact our customer support team anytime via online chat or email at [email protected]

Let's stay in touch!

Join our newsletter to receive the best traveling tips

© 2014-2023 All rights reserved. iVisa and iVisa logo are registered trademarks of

English - en |
Intercom Chat