logo
fr | $ USD

Explorer

Paramètres

Sélectionnez votre langue

Sélectionnez votre devise

  • AED United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • AFN Afghan Afghani
  • ALL Albanian Lek
  • AMD Armenian Dram
  • ANG Netherlands Antillean Guilder
  • AOA Angolan Kwanza
  • ARS Argentine Peso
  • AUD Australian Dollar
  • AWG Aruban Florin
  • AZN Azerbaijani Manat
  • BAM Bosnia-Herzegovina Convertible Mark
  • BBD Barbadian Dollar
  • BDT Bangladeshi Taka
  • BGN Bulgarian Lev
  • BIF Burundian Franc
  • BMD Bermudan Dollar
  • BND Brunei Dollar
  • BOB Bolivian Boliviano
  • BRL Brazilian Real
  • BSD Bahamian Dollar
  • BWP Botswanan Pula
  • BZD Belize Dollar
  • CAD Canadian Dollar
  • CDF Congolese Franc
  • CHF Swiss Franc
  • CLP Chilean Peso
  • CNY Chinese Yuan
  • COP Colombian Peso
  • CRC Costa Rican Colón
  • CVE Cape Verdean Escudo
  • CZK Czech Republic Koruna
  • DJF Djiboutian Franc
  • DKK Danish Krone
  • DOP Dominican Peso
  • DZD Algerian Dinar
  • EGP Egyptian Pound
  • ETB Ethiopian Birr
  • EUR Euro
  • FJD Fijian Dollar
  • FKP Falkland Islands Pound
  • GBP British Pound Sterling
  • GEL Georgian Lari
  • GIP Gibraltar Pound
  • GMD Gambian Dalasi
  • GNF Guinean Franc
  • GTQ Guatemalan Quetzal
  • GYD Guyanaese Dollar
  • HKD Hong Kong Dollar
  • HNL Honduran Lempira
  • HTG Haitian Gourde
  • HUF Hungarian Forint
  • IDR Indonesian Rupiah
  • ILS Israeli New Sheqel
  • INR Indian Rupee
  • ISK Icelandic Króna
  • JMD Jamaican Dollar
  • JPY Japanese Yen
  • KES Kenyan Shilling
  • KGS Kyrgystani Som
  • KHR Cambodian Riel
  • KMF Comorian Franc
  • KRW South Korean Won
  • KYD Cayman Islands Dollar
  • KZT Kazakhstani Tenge
  • LAK Laotian Kip
  • LBP Lebanese Pound
  • LKR Sri Lankan Rupee
  • LRD Liberian Dollar
  • LSL Lesotho Loti
  • MAD Moroccan Dirham
  • MDL Moldovan Leu
  • MGA Malagasy Ariary
  • MKD Macedonian Denar
  • MNT Mongolian Tugrik
  • MOP Macanese Pataca
  • MUR Mauritian Rupee
  • MVR Maldivian Rufiyaa
  • MWK Malawian Kwacha
  • MXN Mexican Peso
  • MYR Malaysian Ringgit
  • MZN Mozambican Metical
  • NAD Namibian Dollar
  • NGN Nigerian Naira
  • NIO Nicaraguan Córdoba
  • NOK Norwegian Krone
  • NPR Nepalese Rupee
  • NZD New Zealand Dollar
  • OMR Omani Rial
  • PAB Panamanian Balboa
  • PEN Peruvian Nuevo Sol
  • PGK Papua New Guinean Kina
  • PHP Philippine Peso
  • PKR Pakistani Rupee
  • PLN Polish Zloty
  • PYG Paraguayan Guarani
  • QAR Qatari Rial
  • RON Romanian Leu
  • RSD Serbian Dinar
  • RUB Russian Ruble
  • RWF Rwandan Franc
  • SAR Saudi Riyal
  • SBD Solomon Islands Dollar
  • SCR Seychellois Rupee
  • SEK Swedish Krona
  • SGD Singapore Dollar
  • SHP Saint Helena Pound
  • SLL Sierra Leonean Leone
  • SOS Somali Shilling
  • SRD Surinamese Dollar
  • SVC Salvadoran Colón
  • SZL Swazi Lilangeni
  • THB Thai Baht
  • TJS Tajikistani Somoni
  • TOP Tongan Pa anga
  • TRY Turkish Lira
  • TTD Trinidad and Tobago Dollar
  • TWD New Taiwan Dollar
  • TZS Tanzanian Shilling
  • UAH Ukrainian Hryvnia
  • UGX Ugandan Shilling
  • USD United States Dollar
  • UYU Uruguayan Peso
  • UZS Uzbekistan Som
  • VND Vietnamese Dong
  • VUV Vanuatu Vatu
  • WST Samoan Tala
  • XAF CFA Franc BEAC
  • XCD East Caribbean Dollar
  • XOF CFA Franc BCEAO
  • XPF CFP Franc
  • YER Yemeni Rial
  • ZAR South African Rand
  • ZMW Zambian Kwacha
Guide de voyage en Norvège : Tout ce qu'il faut savoir pour visiter la Norvège en 2023
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Welcome to Norvège

La Norvège est un pays magique à explorer. Cette nation regorge de mythes et de légendes qui règnent depuis l'époque des Vikings, et ses monuments historiques et naturels vous couperont le souffle. C'est une destination fantastique pour explorer la nature et essayer de nouvelles activités. C'est la destination idéale si vous aimez la nature, l'histoire, l'art et l'architecture.

Bien sûr, il ne faut pas oublier l'une des principales attractions, les aurores boréales. De nombreux voyageurs viennent du monde entier pour assister à ce célèbre spectacle. Nous vous présentons ici l'ultime guide de voyage en Norvège afin que vous puissiez organiser facilement votre voyage avant d'arriver en Norvège.

Liste de contrôle des documents pour le pays

  • Visa
  • Passeport en cours de validité
  • Fonds suffisants
  • Billet d'avion aller-retour

Informations essentielles sur la Norvège

  • Monnaie - Couronne norvégienne (NOK). 1 USD équivaut à environ 9,96 NOK.

  • Budget journalier pour une personne - Le budget journalier pour une personne est d'environ 1 026 NOK (103,05 USD) pour vos vacances en Norvège.

  • Langues - La langue officielle est le norvégien, mais il existe d'autres langues nationales : Bokmål, Nynorsk, Sami, Kven, Romani, Scandoromani et langue des signes norvégienne. L'anglais est largement parlé en tant que deuxième langue.

  • Type de prise - Pour la Norvège, il existe deux types de prises, les types C et F. La Norvège fonctionne avec une tension d'alimentation de 230 V et 50 Hz.

  • Fuseau horaire - Heure normale de l'Europe centrale (CET), ET +6.

  • Les 3 villes les plus visitées - Oslo, Trondheim et Bergen.

  • Les 3 principaux points de repère/monuments - Cap Nord, Voringsfossen et Urnes Stave Church.

Informations sur les visas pour la Norvège

La Norvège fait partie de la zone Schengen, ce qui signifie que la plupart des nationalités peuvent entrer dans le pays pendant 90 jours sans visa à des fins touristiques ou professionnelles. Vous pouvez vérifier votre éligibilité en utilisant notre visa checker.

À partir de mai 2023, certains ressortissants exemptés de visa-devront demander l'exemption de visa ETIAS, et ceux qui ne sont pas actuellement exemptés devront obtenir un visa Schengen

ETIAS pour la Norvège expliqué

Le Norway ETIAS est une nouvelle exemption de visa européenne qui permet aux citoyens qui n'avaient pas besoin de visa pour entrer dans les pays de l'espace Schengen avant 2023 d'entrer dans l'espace Schengen. Toutefois, à partir de 2023, la demande de ce document de voyage est obligatoire, même si vous n'avez pas besoin de visa pour entrer dans l'Union européenne.

Votre ETIAS approuvé est valable trois ans. Vous pouvez l'utiliser pour voyager dans l'espace Schengen pendant 90 jours. Il vous permet également de voyager entre les pays membres, à condition que la durée totale de votre voyage ne dépasse pas 90 jours au cours d'une période de 180-jours, et que votre passeport reste valide pendant toute la durée de votre voyage.

Vous pourrez facilement faire une demande en ligne pour l'ETIAS Norvège avec iVisa. Si vous ne pouvez pas demander un ETIAS et que vous ne pouvez pas actuellement entrer dans l'espace Schengen sans visa-, vous devrez demander un Norway Schengen Visa, à partir de la mi-2023.

Coûts et budget typiques pour la Norvège

Un guide de base sur ce que vous dépenserez quotidiennement pour explorer la beauté naturelle spectaculaire et les principales villes de Norvège avec un budget moyen-.

Dépenses quotidiennes par personne - Les dépenses quotidiennes s'élèvent à environ 1 026 NOK (103,05 USD).

  • Repas - 278 NOK (27 USD).

  • Transport - Pour les transports locaux, 162 NOK (16 USD).

  • Hôtel - Pour un voyageur seul, une chambre peut coûter environ 528 NOK (53 USD) et 1 056 NOK (106 USD) pour un couple.

Un séjour d'une semaine-en Norvège coûte généralement environ 7 182 NOK pour une personne. Et un voyage de deux-personnes en Norvège coûte environ 14 365 NOK pour une semaine.

Transports et meilleures façons de voyager en Norvège

La Norvège est un pays qui dispose d'un système de transport public très développé. Vous n'aurez donc aucun problème à vous déplacer d'un endroit à l'autre, que vous utilisiez le bus, le train, le bateau, la voiture ou l'avion. Nous vous recommandons ici les moyens de transport les plus utilisés par les voyageurs qui se rendent en Norvège.

  • Bus - Cette option est beaucoup moins chère que le train et offre d'excellentes connexions pour les courtes et longues distances. Notez que les week-ends, les services sont moins nombreux. De plus, de nombreux itinéraires peuvent être reliés au ferry. Vous arriverez donc très rapidement à destination.

Vous pouvez consulter les itinéraires sur Nor-Way Bussekspress et Lavprisekspressen pour planifier votre voyage.

  • Train - Le train assure des liaisons avec Oslo, Bergen, Trondheim et Bodø et même avec d'autres capitales scandinaves comme Stockholm et Copenhague. Les trains sont très confortables et propres, et c'est aussi l'une des meilleures options pour partir à l'aventure et observer les incroyables paysages de la Norvège, tels que les lacs, les fjords, les montagnes et les champs.

Vous pouvez acheter des billets en ligne, réserver vos billets de train sur l'application ou le site web Vy, ou payer vos billets à la gare. C'est vous qui décidez !

  • Bateau - C'est aussi l'un des moyens de transport les plus populaires, et il permet de se connecter à d'autres pays européens comme le Danemark, la Suède, l'Allemagne et les Pays-Bas. Vous pouvez obtenir des réductions pour les étudiants, les enfants et les personnes âgées. Il y a toujours des offres promotionnelles disponibles.

La Norvège possède un long littoral, de nombreux fjords et des îles, ce qui facilite grandement les déplacements en ferry ou en bateau. C'est parfait si vous voulez faire un voyage dans plusieurs îles ou villes ou vous rendre dans d'autres villes. Il y a beaucoup à faire !

Le célèbre ferry côtier norvégien Hurtigruten fait escale dans 34 ports, de Bergen à Kirkenes. Rappelez-vous donc que vous pouvez utiliser des bateaux de croisière ou faire l'expérience d'un fantastique voyage en ferry.

Sécurité en Norvège

Ce pays scandinave est l'un des plus sûrs au monde, ce qui vous permet de voyager en toute tranquillité. Le taux de criminalité est très faible et le type de vol le plus courant est celui des bicyclettes, un moyen de transport très apprécié des Norvégiens. Si vous louez ou achetez un vélo, verrouillez-le en toute sécurité ou gardez-le toujours à portée de vue.

Vous devez également garder à l'esprit la grandeur de la nature norvégienne. Les sentiers peuvent parfois être difficiles à suivre pour les visiteurs, alors soyez toujours attentifs aux panneaux d'avertissement le long du chemin. Il est préférable de visiter ces sites en plein air avec une compagnie expérimentée et de confiance. N'oubliez pas de prendre une assurance voyage lorsque vous explorez la Norvège, juste au cas où !

Le temps en Norvège

La Norvège se trouve à la même latitude que l'Alaska, le Groenland et la Sibérie. Mais grâce aux eaux tempérées du Gulf Stream, le pays jouit d'un climat beaucoup plus chaud et plus doux.

La côte connaît généralement des hivers doux et humides, avec de la neige dans les montagnes. En revanche, les régions intérieures présentent un hiver froid avec beaucoup de neige, et des étés chauds et secs, en particulier dans l'est du pays. Pendant l'intersaison, le temps est clément et les touristes sont moins nombreux.

  • Printemps (mai - juin) : entre 14ºC (57,2ºF) et 18°C (64,4ºF).

  • Été (juillet - août) : entre 17ºC (62,6ºF) et 18°C (64,4ºF).

  • Automne (septembre - octobre) : entre 7ºC (44,6ºF) et 16°C (60,8ºF).

  • Hiver (novembre - avril) : entre -6ºC (21,2ºF) et 7°C (44,6ºF).

Villes et villages populaires en Norvège

La Norvège est une destination idéale pour les amateurs de camping sauvage ou pour ceux qui veulent s'émerveiller devant des petits villages inoubliables. Le pays est très visité par les touristes qui souhaitent assister à des phénomènes naturels, les aurores boréales. Il y a beaucoup d'endroits fantastiques à visiter, mais nous vous présentons ci-dessous les cinq lieux les plus populaires de Norvège.

  • Oslo est la capitale de la Norvège et l'une des villes les plus vertes du monde grâce à son système organisé et naturel, ce qui en fait une ville fantastique à explorer. Vous pouvez également y respirer l'art, l'architecture et l'histoire. Visitez l'opéra d'Oslo, le théâtre national et les restaurants populaires pour goûter à la cuisine locale.

  • Trondheim est l'une des plus grandes villes de Norvège, un endroit incroyable à explorer, car sa combinaison de modernité et d'antiquité en fait une ville remarquable. Vous aimez l'histoire des Vikings ? Si oui, vous serez heureux d'apprendre que Trondheim était la capitale du pays pendant la période viking, et vous pourrez visiter des lieux tels que le château de Sverresborg (12e siècle) et la cathédrale de Nidaros.

  • Bergen est la deuxième plus grande ville après Oslo et constitue l'entrée de magnifiques fjords comme le Sognefjord, le fjord le plus profond et le plus long, cette ville doit donc figurer sur votre carte de voyage. Les sept montagnes qui entourent la ville offrent des vues fantastiques et permettent d'apprécier la beauté du paysage naturel. Il y a aussi des marchés aux poissons à explorer et des rues pavées pour faire d'agréables promenades entre les bâtiments colorés.

  • Tromso est située à environ 350 km au nord du cercle polaire arctique, l'un des meilleurs endroits de Norvège pour observer les aurores boréales. La ville possède également des musées exceptionnels, comme le Polar Museum, qui présente des expositions sur la recherche scientifique, les expéditions de la faune arctique et les effets du changement climatique, entre autres.

  • Alesund En visitant la Norvège, n'oubliez pas cette ville magique. Située sur la péninsule de la côte ouest, elle est considérée comme la porte d'entrée vers les majestueux fjords du nord-ouest et les montagnes alpines. C'est une ville pittoresque et dynamique. Vous pouvez visiter le fjord d'Alesund tout en vous émerveillant devant ses magnifiques paysages.

À faire et à voir en Norvège

De la beauté naturelle à l'art et à l'architecture médiévale, voici quelques-unes des choses à ne pas manquer lors d'un voyage en Norvège :

  • Cap Nord - C'est un endroit à visiter sous le soleil de minuit car le soleil ne se couche jamais entre le 14 mai et le 29 juillet. C'est une destination estivale idéale pour les vacances, où l'on peut profiter d'une vue panoramique et faire des promenades sous le soleil arctique.

  • Voringsfossen - La chute d'eau la plus impressionnante de Norvège, avec ses 180 mètres de dénivelé. Elle se trouve dans l'étroite vallée entre Oslo et Bargen. De plus, elle possède un hôtel avec une vue enviable où vous pouvez séjourner et vivre une expérience mémorable.

  • Urnes Stave Church - Une église médiévale en bois classée au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO ; elle témoigne de l'ère viking et d'éléments celtiques et romans qui vous rendront curieux du passé. Elle est également située dans une forêt, ce qui la rend plus vivante et plus exotique. Urne est l'une des 28 églises en bois de Norvège et l'une des plus anciennes du 12e siècle. C'est là que se rencontrent le christianisme nordique, le christianisme pré-et le christianisme médiéval.

  • Musée des bateaux vikings - Les Vikings naviguaient dans les mers du Nord, conquérant des terres et étant de puissants guerriers. Ils utilisaient de grands et puissants bateaux en bois pour leurs batailles. Dans ce musée, vous pouvez donc voir l'exposition des bateaux de certains guerriers vikings ; parmi eux, le bateau d'Oseberg, le mieux préservé-. Vous en apprendrez beaucoup plus sur l'histoire des Vikings.

  • Svalbard - Lors de votre voyage en Norvège, n'oubliez pas de vous rendre au Svalbard, la mer arctique, où il n'y a que trois saisons : l'été polaire, l'hiver des aurores boréales et l'hiver ensoleillé. Le Svalbard est l'entrée du pôle Nord. Ses glaciers et ses montagnes sont majestueux, une expérience que vous n'oublierez jamais. Vous pourrez faire du traîneau à chiens, observer les ours polaires lors d'une promenade en bateau ou admirer les aurores boréales.

Cuisine norvégienne typique à goûter

L'une des meilleures façons de découvrir la culture norvégienne est de goûter à sa cuisine traditionnelle. La cuisine norvégienne compte plusieurs plats populaires auprès des habitants, qui vous donneront l'impression de faire partie de ce pays et de cette culture.

  • Brunost - Un fromage brun sucré et caramélisé qui n'est pas salé, un plat local typique. Il peut être préparé avec du lait de chèvre et de la crème, accompagné de biscuits ou de pain.

  • Saumon fumé - Le poisson est très traditionnel dans ce pays depuis ses débuts ; étant un excellent pays de pêche, la tradition se perpétue et le poisson est donc fondamental dans leurs plats. Le saumon fumé est un plat saupoudré de poivre noir moulu et servi sur du pain de seigle.

  • Vafler - Il s'agit de l'un des desserts traditionnels préférés de la population locale. Il s'agit de gaufres en forme de cœur-que l'on trouve dans les cafés, les restaurants et les foyers norvégiens. Les vaflers sont recouverts de crème fouettée, de crème aigre, de brunost (fromage brun), de gomme (fromage doux), de baies, de confiture et de sucre. C'est un plat que l'on peut manger à tout moment de la journée.

Informations sur les vaccins pour la Norvège

Vous trouverez ici toutes les informations sur le vaccin Covid et les autres conditions à remplir pour entrer en Norvège. Cliquez sur le site CDC pour obtenir les conseils les plus récents-to-concernant votre voyage en Norvège.

Observer les aurores boréales en Norvège

Des touristes du monde entier se rendent en Norvège pour assister à ces deux phénomènes de renommée mondiale-, qui ne peuvent être vus que depuis les terres proches du pôle Nord.

Le Soleil de minuit se produit de mai à juillet ; c'est le moment où il fait jour 24 heures sur 24, même si le soleil est juste sous l'horizon pendant la nuit. Les meilleures destinations pour en être témoin sont la côte de Helgeland, les Lofoten et, plus au nord, Tromsø. C'est une expérience magnifique pour ceux qui aiment les couchers de soleil et les longues journées d'été.

Les aurores boréales sont un autre phénomène arctique. En raison de la ceinture magnétique du pôle Nord, les aurores boréales sont régulièrement observées de septembre à janvier, peignant le ciel nocturne de couleurs vives. Les meilleures destinations pour visiter et vivre cette expérience sont les îles Lofoten et Tromsø.

Faits amusants sur la Norvège

Cinq faits curieux sur la Norvège :

  • Vous pouvez voir des ours polaires sauvages. C'est possible au Svalbard, l'un des endroits les plus septentrionaux de la planète.

  • Bien que les sushis soient une création japonaise, ils n'utilisaient pas de saumon dans l'assiette avant que des Norvégiens ne le suggèrent en 1980.

  • Plus d'un millier de Norvégiens vivent en enfer, c'est intéressant ? Il existe en Norvège une ville appelée l'Enfer. Une curiosité pour les touristes.

  • Personne n'a la moindre idée de la longueur de la côte norvégienne. Bien que ce pays soit connu pour ses fjords et ses montagnes, les gens ne savent toujours pas quelle est la longueur de sa côte.

  • La Norvège a un manchot royal. Sir Nils Olav, la mascotte de la Garde norvégienne, s'appelait à l'origine le roi manchot Sir Nils Olav, un titre de fonction dans l'armée norvégienne depuis 1972.

1.2M Des clients satisfaits

24/7Soutien

+46,000 revues

10 Années d'expérience

98% taux d'approbation des visas

Clause de non-responsabilité
  • iVisa is NOT affiliated with any government agency. This site does not provide legal advice and we are not a law firm. None of our customer service representatives are lawyers and they also do not provide legal advice. We are a private, internet-based travel and immigration consultancy provider dedicated to helping individuals travel around the world. You may apply by yourself directly on the various government websites. La source d'information : https://www.udi.no/en/
Chat on WhatsApp
Chat par interphone

Home >

Norway Travel Guide: All you need to know to visit Norway in 2023

Norway Travel Guide: All you need to know to visit Norway in 2023

Welcome to Norway

Norway is a magical country to explore. A nation that is full of myths and legends that have reigned since the Viking era, and its historical and natural monuments will take your breath away. It’s a fantastic destination to explore the outdoors and try new activities; it's the perfect destination if you like nature, history, art, and architecture.

Of course, not forgetting one of the main attractions, the Northern Lights, many travelers come from around the world to witness the famous spectacle. Here we present you ultimate Norway travel guide so that you can organize your trip easily before arriving in Norway.

Document checklist for country

  • Visa
  • Valid passport
  • Sufficient funds
  • Return airline ticket

Essential Norway travel information

  • Currency - Norwegian Krone (NOK). USD 1.00 is equivalent to approx. NOK 9,96.

  • Daily budget for 1 person - A daily budget for one person is around NOK 1,026 (USD 103,05) on your vacation in Norway.

  • Languages - The official language is Norwegian; however, other national languages exist: Bokmål, Nynorsk, Sami, Kven, Romani, Scandoromani, and Norwegian Sign Language. English is widely spoken as a second language.

  • Socket type - For Norway, there are two associated plug types, types C and F. Norway operates on a 230V supply voltage and 50Hz.

  • Time zone - Central European Standard Time (CET), ET +6.

  • Top 3 cities to visit - Oslo, Trondheim and, Bergen.

  • Top 3 landmarks/monuments - North Cape, Voringsfossen, and Urnes Stave Church.

Visa information for Norway

Norway is part of the Schengen Zone, which means that most nationalities are eligible to enter the country for 90 days without a visa for tourist and business purposes. You can check your eligibility using our visa checker.

From May 2023 some visa-exempt nationals will need to apply for the ETIAS visa waiver, and those who are not currently excempt will require a Schengen visa

ETIAS for Norway explained

The Norway ETIAS is a newly enforced European visa waiver that allows entry to the Schengen area to those citizens that did not require a visa to enter the Schengen countries before 2023. However, from 2023 onwards, applying for this travel document is mandatory, even if you don't need a visa to enter the European Union.

Your approved ETIAS is valid for three years. You can use it to travel within the Schengen zone for 90 days. It also allows you to travel between any member country, as long as your entire trip does not exceed 90 days within a 180-day period, and your passport remains valid throughout your trip.

You will be able to easily apply online for the Norway ETIAS with iVisa. If you are not eligible to apply for an ETIAS and cannot currently enter the Schengen zone visa-free, you will need to apply for a Norway Schengen Visa, as of mid-2023.

Typical costs and budget for Norway

A basic guide to what you'll spend daily to explore the spectacular natural beauty and main cities in Norway on a mid-range budget.

Daily spending per person - Daily spending is around NOK 1,026 (USD 103,05).

  • Meals - NOK 278 (USD 27).

  • Transport - For local transportation NOK 162 (USD16).

  • Hotel - For a solo traveler, a room can cost around NOK 528 (USD 53) and 1,056 NOK (USD 106) for a couple.

A week-long vacation to Norway usually costs around NOK 7,182 for one person. And a two-person trip to Norway costs around NOK 14,365 for one week.

Transport and best ways to travel around Norway

Norway is a country that has a significantly developed public transportation system, so you won't have a problem moving from one place to another, whether you use the bus, train, boat, car, or plane. Here we recommend the most frequented means of transport by travelers visiting Norway.

  • Bus- This option is much cheaper than a train and has excellent connections for short and long distances. Note that on weekends there is less service available. Also that there can be many routes that connect with the ferry. So you’ll get where you need to go very quickly.

You can look at the routes on Nor-Way Bussekspress and Lavprisekspressen to plan your trip.

  • Train - The train has connections with Oslo, Bergen, Trondheim, and Bodø and even with other Scandinavian capitals such as Stockholm and Copenhagen. The trains are very comfortable and clean, and it is also one of the best options to go on an adventure and observe Norway's incredible landscapes, such as lakes, fjords, mountains, and fields.

You can buy tickets online, book your train tickets on the Vy app or website, or pay for tickets at the train station. It’s up to you!

  • Boat- This is also one of the most popular transport methods, as well as connecting with other European countries such as Denmark, Sweden, Germany, and the Netherlands. You can find travel discounts for students, children, and seniors. There are always promotion packages available.

Norway has a long coastline, many fjords, and islands, making it much easier to travel using ferries or boats. It's perfect if you want to take a trip to several islands or towns or go to other cities. There’s a lot to do!

The famous Norwegian coastal ferry Hurtigruten calls at 34 ports from Bergen to Kirkenes. So remember that you can use cruise ships or experience a fantastic ferry ride.

Safety in Norway

This Scandinavian country is among the safest in the world, so you can travel with 0 worries. There are very low crime rates, and the most common type of theft is that of bicycles, a transport system very popular with Norwegians. So if you rent or buy a bike, lock it safely or always have it in your sight.

You should also keep in mind the grandeur of nature here. Trails may be difficult to follow at times for visitors, so always be cautious with warning signs along the way. It's best to visit these outdoor locations with a trusted and experienced company. Make sure to have travel insurance when you explore Norway, just in case!

Weather in Norway

Norway is at the same latitude as Alaska, Greenland, and Siberia. But thanks to the temperate waters from the Gulf Stream, the country has a much warmer and milder climate.

The coast generally has mild and wet winters, with snow in the mountains. In contrast, the inland regions present a cold winter with plenty of snow, and hot and dry summers, especially in the east part of the country. In the shoulder season, you’ll find good weather and fewer tourists.

  • Spring (May - June): between 14ºC (57,2ºF) and 18°C (64,4ºF).

  • Summer (July - August): between 17ºC (62,6ºF) and 18°C (64,4ºF).

  • Fall (September - October): between 7ºC (44,6ºF) and 16°C (60,8ºF) .

  • Winter (November - April): between -6ºC (21,2ºF) and 7°C (44,6ºF).

Popular cities and towns in Norway

Norway is a perfect destination for those who love wild camping or want to be amazed by small and unforgettable villages. The country is highly visited by tourists who wish to witness natural phenomena, the Northern Lights. There are a lot of fantastic places to go, but below, we present the five most popular locations in Norway.

  • Oslo is the capital of Norway and one of the greenest cities worldwide for its organized and natural system, making it a fantastic city to explore. You can also breathe art, architecture, and history. Visit Oslo’s Opera House, the National Theatre, and popular restaurants to try local food or cuisine.

  • Trondheim is one of the larger cities in Norway, an incredible place to explore, as its combination of modernity with antiquity makes it a remarkable city. Do you like Viking history? If so, you will be pleased to know that Trondheim was the country's capital during the Viking period, and you can visit places such as Sverresborg Castle (12th century) and Nidaros Cathedral.

  • Bergen is the second largest city after Oslo and is the entrance to beautiful fjords like The Sognefjord, the most profound and longest fjord, so this city should be on your travel map. Seven mountains surrounding the city will give you fantastic views to enjoy the beautiful natural landscape. There are also fish markets to explore and cobbled streets to take pleasant walks between the colorful buildings.

  • Tromso is located about 350km north of the Arctic Circle, one of the best places in Norway to see the northern lights. It also has exceptional museums, such as the Polar Museum, where there are exhibitions on scientific research, expeditions of arctic wildlife, and the effects of climate change, among others.

  • Alesund Visiting Norway, don’t forget about this city, a magic one. This place is located on the peninsula on the west coast and is considered the gateway to the majestic northwestern fjords and alpine mountains. It is a picturesque and vibrant city. You can tour the Alesund fjord while you marvel at its beautiful landscape.

Must do and see in Norway

From natural beauty to art and medieval architecture, here are some of the things you shouldn’t miss on a trip to Norway:

  • North Cape- It is a place you should visit under the midnight sun because the sun never sets between May 14 and July 29. A perfect summer destination for holidays, you can have a panoramic view and take walks enjoying the arctic sun.

  • Voringsfossen- The most impressive waterfall in Norway, dropping 180 meters (600 ft) into the falls. You will find it in the narrow valley between Oslo and Bargen. In addition, it has a hotel with an enviable view where you can stay and have a very memorable experience.

  • Urnes Stave Church- A medieval wooden church that is a UNESCO World Heritage Site; it demonstrates the Viking era and Celtic and Romanesque elements that will make you curious about the past. It is also located in a forest, which makes it more vibrant and exotic. Urne is one of the 28 wooden churches in Norway and one of the oldest of the 12th century. This is where Norse, pre-Christian and medieval Christianity come together.

  • Viking Ship Museum-The Vikings sailed through the northern seas, conquering lands and being strong warriors. They used big and powerful wooden ships for their battles, so in this museum, you can find the exhibition of boats of some Viking warriors; among them, the ship of Oseberg, the most well-preserved. You’ll learn much more about Viking history firsthand.

  • Svalbard-When you travel to Norway, don’t forget to go to Svalbard, the arctic sea, where there are only three seasons: polar summer, northern lights winter, and sunny winter. Svalbard is the entrance to the North Pole. Its glaciers and mountains are majestic, an experience that you'll never forget. You can ride a dog sled, watch polar bears while taking a boat ride, or hit the northern lights.

Typical Norwegian food to try

One of the best ways to learn about Norwegian culture is by trying its traditional food. Norwegian cuisine has several popular dishes among the locals that will make you feel like part of this country and culture.

  • Brunost- A sweet and caramelized brown cheese that is not salty, a typical local dish. It can be made with goat's milk and cream accompanied by cookies or bread.

  • Smoked Salmon- Fish has been very traditional for this country since its beginnings; being an excellent fishing country, the tradition continues, so fish is fundamental in their dishes. Smoked Salmon is a dish sprinkled with ground black pepper and served on rye bread.

  • Vafler- This is one of the local favorite traditional desserts. They are heart-shaped waffles and can be found in Norwegian cafes, restaurants, and homes. Vaflers are covered with whipped cream, sour cream, brunost (brown cheese), gomme (sweet cheese), berries, jam, and sugar. It is a dish you can eat at any time of the day.

Vaccine information for Norway

Here you can find all the info about the Covid vaccine and other requirements you need to have to enter Norway. Click on the CDC website to get the most up-to-date health advice about your trip to Norway.

Watching the Northern lights in Norway

Tourists from all over the world travel to Norway to witness these two world-renowned phenomena, which can only be seen from land close to the North Pole.

The Midnight Sun happens from May to July; it’s when it is light for 24 hours a day, even if the sun is just below the horizon during nighttime hours. The best destinations to witness this are Helgeland Coast, Lofoten, and further North in Tromsø. It’s a beautiful experience for those who love sunset skies and long summer days.

The Northern Lights are another Arctic phenomenon. Due to the North Pole's magnetic belt, the Northern lights are regularly seen from September to January, painting the night sky with vivid colors. The best destinations to visit and experience this are Lofoten and Tromsø.

Fun facts about Norway

Five curious facts about Norway:

  • You can see wild polar bears. You can do this in Svalbard, one of the northernmost places on earth.

  • While sushi is absolutely a Japanese creation, they did not use salmon on the plate until Norwegians suggested it in 1980.

  • More than a thousand Norwegians live in hell, interesting? In Norway exists a town called Hell. Quite a curiosity for tourists.

  • No one has any idea how long the coast of Norway is. Although it is a country known for its fjords and mountains, people are still determining how long its coast is.

  • Norway has a king penguin. Sir Nils Olav, the mascot of the Norwegian Guard, was initially named King Penguin Sir Nils Olav, a position title in the Norwegian army since 1972.

1.2M Happy Customers 99% On Time Delivery 10 Years of Experience
Trustpilot recommended. We lead the industry in innovation and reputation

How it Works?

Fill out online application

Complete our easy online application and pay with credit card or PayPal

Fill out online application
Receive document via email

No need to deal with the embassy. We do it for you so you don't lose valuable time

Receive document via email
Enter destination

Present your Passport and the Document we provide upon entry to destination country

Enter destination

Our Customers Have Great Stories About Us

Alan

Alan

Wonderful company to work with - they were very responsive on chat as we made some mistakes on our end. They assured us everything would work out and worked with us until we received our E-Visa. We got it just two days before traveling. I would highly recommend iVisa.com. If you are in a rush, I would recommend paying the extra to ensure it is ready in time because the government needed more documents and that allowed us extra time to submit.

Pritam Gajjar

Pritam Gajjar

Highly impressive. Thanks to iVisa.com team for their great support. I just applied yesterday for my son's Indian E-Visa in a standard service (96 hours). But in a duration of 35 hours (within 2 days), today I get his visa. Before applying it, we were very confused for the E-visa websites. But thanks to this team for their great quick effort. Highly Recommended to all.

Elizabeth Walker

Elizabeth Walker

I was surprised to get my Visa within 2 hours and amazed at the fact that how hassle free the entire process is. Thank you guys, keep it up. I will make sure to spread the words among my friends.

Sarah Brown

Sarah Brown

I applied to get visa to India. This is the first time I used this service. Highly recommend them for anyone need to get E-Visa. Easy to apply through their Web form, can add multiple people in a single request. Fast and efficient service. Received visa within few days. Only downside I found is the order of the application process. It request your visa fee payment, in the 2nd step, before completing the application form with all the information. In general, any web based purchases the payment is requested in the last step. This may raise a concern for a first time user.