fr | $ USD

Explorer

Paramètres

Sélectionnez votre langue

Sélectionnez votre devise

  • AED United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • AFN Afghan Afghani
  • ALL Albanian Lek
  • AMD Armenian Dram
  • ANG Netherlands Antillean Guilder
  • AOA Angolan Kwanza
  • ARS Argentine Peso
  • AUD Australian Dollar
  • AWG Aruban Florin
  • AZN Azerbaijani Manat
  • BAM Bosnia-Herzegovina Convertible Mark
  • BBD Barbadian Dollar
  • BDT Bangladeshi Taka
  • BGN Bulgarian Lev
  • BIF Burundian Franc
  • BMD Bermudan Dollar
  • BND Brunei Dollar
  • BOB Bolivian Boliviano
  • BRL Brazilian Real
  • BSD Bahamian Dollar
  • BWP Botswanan Pula
  • BZD Belize Dollar
  • CAD Canadian Dollar
  • CDF Congolese Franc
  • CHF Swiss Franc
  • CLP Chilean Peso
  • CNY Chinese Yuan
  • COP Colombian Peso
  • CRC Costa Rican Colón
  • CVE Cape Verdean Escudo
  • CZK Czech Republic Koruna
  • DJF Djiboutian Franc
  • DKK Danish Krone
  • DOP Dominican Peso
  • DZD Algerian Dinar
  • EGP Egyptian Pound
  • ETB Ethiopian Birr
  • EUR Euro
  • FJD Fijian Dollar
  • FKP Falkland Islands Pound
  • GBP British Pound Sterling
  • GEL Georgian Lari
  • GIP Gibraltar Pound
  • GMD Gambian Dalasi
  • GNF Guinean Franc
  • GTQ Guatemalan Quetzal
  • GYD Guyanaese Dollar
  • HKD Hong Kong Dollar
  • HNL Honduran Lempira
  • HTG Haitian Gourde
  • HUF Hungarian Forint
  • IDR Indonesian Rupiah
  • ILS Israeli New Sheqel
  • INR Indian Rupee
  • ISK Icelandic Króna
  • JMD Jamaican Dollar
  • JPY Japanese Yen
  • KES Kenyan Shilling
  • KGS Kyrgystani Som
  • KHR Cambodian Riel
  • KMF Comorian Franc
  • KRW South Korean Won
  • KYD Cayman Islands Dollar
  • KZT Kazakhstani Tenge
  • LAK Laotian Kip
  • LBP Lebanese Pound
  • LKR Sri Lankan Rupee
  • LRD Liberian Dollar
  • LSL Lesotho Loti
  • MAD Moroccan Dirham
  • MDL Moldovan Leu
  • MGA Malagasy Ariary
  • MKD Macedonian Denar
  • MNT Mongolian Tugrik
  • MOP Macanese Pataca
  • MUR Mauritian Rupee
  • MVR Maldivian Rufiyaa
  • MWK Malawian Kwacha
  • MXN Mexican Peso
  • MYR Malaysian Ringgit
  • MZN Mozambican Metical
  • NAD Namibian Dollar
  • NGN Nigerian Naira
  • NIO Nicaraguan Córdoba
  • NOK Norwegian Krone
  • NPR Nepalese Rupee
  • NZD New Zealand Dollar
  • OMR Omani Rial
  • PAB Panamanian Balboa
  • PEN Peruvian Nuevo Sol
  • PGK Papua New Guinean Kina
  • PHP Philippine Peso
  • PKR Pakistani Rupee
  • PLN Polish Zloty
  • PYG Paraguayan Guarani
  • QAR Qatari Rial
  • RON Romanian Leu
  • RSD Serbian Dinar
  • RUB Russian Ruble
  • RWF Rwandan Franc
  • SAR Saudi Riyal
  • SBD Solomon Islands Dollar
  • SCR Seychellois Rupee
  • SEK Swedish Krona
  • SGD Singapore Dollar
  • SHP Saint Helena Pound
  • SLL Sierra Leonean Leone
  • SOS Somali Shilling
  • SRD Surinamese Dollar
  • SVC Salvadoran Colón
  • SZL Swazi Lilangeni
  • THB Thai Baht
  • TJS Tajikistani Somoni
  • TOP Tongan Pa anga
  • TRY Turkish Lira
  • TTD Trinidad and Tobago Dollar
  • TWD New Taiwan Dollar
  • TZS Tanzanian Shilling
  • UAH Ukrainian Hryvnia
  • UGX Ugandan Shilling
  • USD United States Dollar
  • UYU Uruguayan Peso
  • UZS Uzbekistan Som
  • VND Vietnamese Dong
  • VUV Vanuatu Vatu
  • WST Samoan Tala
  • XAF CFA Franc BEAC
  • XCD East Caribbean Dollar
  • XOF CFA Franc BCEAO
  • XPF CFP Franc
  • YER Yemeni Rial
  • ZAR South African Rand
  • ZMW Zambian Kwacha
Guide de voyage en Finlande : Tout ce qu'il faut savoir pour visiter la Finlande en 2022
 
 
 
 
 

Welcome to Finlande

La Finlande est l'endroit idéal pour passer vos prochaines vacances, car elle offre de fabuleuses activités de plein air, des villes artistiques, une culture finlandaise intéressante et des paysages magnifiques. Parce qu'elle est située dans un coin de l'Europe du Nord, peu de gens y pensent lorsqu'ils planifient leurs vacances. Mais si vous avez l'occasion de visiter la Finlande, vous serez agréablement surpris !

Poursuivez la lecture de ce guide de voyage ultime sur la Finlande , et obtenez tous les détails pratiques sur les déplacements, les sites à ne pas manquer et les informations sur les visas pour visiter ce pays nordique magique.

Liste de contrôle des documents pour la Finlande

  • Visa (le cas échéant)

  • Passeport en cours de validité (validité minimale de 6 mois à compter de la date d'arrivée en Finlande)

  • Fonds suffisants pour couvrir l'ensemble du voyage

  • Billet d'avion aller-retour

Informations essentielles sur la Finlande

  • Monnaie - Euro (€). 1 $ équivaut à environ 0,98 €.

  • Budget journalier pour 1 personne - Les touristes en Finlande doivent prévoir de dépenser environ 125 € (130 $) par jour.

  • Langues - Les deux langues officielles de la Finlande sont le finnois et le suédois. L'anglais est également très répandu en tant que deuxième langue. Il existe également quelques langues minoritaires officielles : Le sami, la langue des signes finlandaise et le romani.

  • Type de prise - Types C et F. Le pays fonctionne avec une tension d'alimentation de 230V et 50Hz.

  • Fuseau horaire - Heure de l'Europe de l'Est (EET) : UTC +2.

  • Les 3 villes les plus visitées - Helsinki, Rovaniemi et Turku.

  • Les 3 principaux sites/monuments - Forteresse maritime de Suomenlinna, cathédrale d'Helsinki et château de Turku.

Informations sur les visas pour la Finlande

Visiter la Finlande est devenu plus simple au fil des ans, puisque vous pouvez désormais opter pour des visas électroniques ou des autorisations en ligne.

Selon votre nationalité, vous pouvez avoir besoin du visa Schengen ou de l'exemption de visa ETIAS pour visiter le pays. Ces services seront disponibles à partir de 2023 sur iVisa.

ETIAS expliqué

Le ETIAS, ou système européen d'information et d'autorisation de voyage, est un document obligatoire pour toutes les nationalités qui sont exemptées de visa-pour entrer en Finlande et dans la zone Schengen. Avec cette autorisation de voyage, vous pouvez vous déplacer en Finlande et dans les 26 pays de l'espace Schengen.

L'ETIAS sera obligatoire à partir de mai 2023. Veillez à l'obtenir si vous prévoyez de vous rendre dans la région après cette date.

Le visa Schengen expliqué

Si votre nationalité n'est pas éligible à l'ETIAS, mais que vous avez besoin d'un visa pour entrer dans l'espace Schengen, vous pourrez bientôt demander le Finland Schengen Visa en ligne avec iVisa.

Le visa Schengen permet de séjourner et de voyager jusqu'à 90 jours dans et entre tous les pays de l'espace Schengen. La flexibilité de ce visa est ce qui le rend si attrayant pour de nombreux voyageurs.

Coûts et budget typiques pour la Finlande

Pour votre voyage en Finlande, veuillez consulter les informations suivantes concernant le budget :

Dépenses journalières par personne - Le budget journalier par personne est d'environ 125 € (130 $) par jour, ce qui comprend :

  • Repas - Un repas dans un bon restaurant en Finlande coûtera environ 28 € (30 $).

  • Transport - Les frais de transport quotidiens s'élèvent à environ 30 € (31 $).

  • Hôtel - Une chambre pour deux personnes coûte environ 117 € (122 $) par nuit.

Exemple : Deux personnes voyageant en Finlande pendant une semaine dépenseront en moyenne 1 745 € (1 817 $). Ce coût approximatif n'inclut pas les hébergements luxueux ni les billets d'entrée pour les sites touristiques de la Finlande.

Transports et meilleures façons de se déplacer en Finlande

Helsinki dispose d'un système de transport public développé qui se compose de bus, trams, métro, trains de banlieue et du ferry Suomenlinna . En tant que touriste, vous pouvez acheter vos billets par le biais de HSL App, R-kiosques (petites stations de service), points de service HSL, distributeurs de billets dans les gares, et auprès du chauffeur de bus. N'oubliez pas que vous ne pouvez pas acheter de billets dans les tramways, le métro et les trains de banlieue, qui doivent être achetés avant de monter à bord.

Les billets simples et les billets à valeur spéciale sont valables pendant 80-110 minutes et permettent de passer d'un mode de transport à l'autre au cours de cette période. Des billets pour enfants âgés de 7 à 17 ans sont également disponibles. Les enfants de moins de 7 ans peuvent voyager gratuitement.

Des billets à tarif réduit-sont également disponibles pour les retraités, les étudiants, les personnes à mobilité réduite et les personnes âgées de plus de 70 ans.

Pour se rendre dans les parcs nationaux ou en Laponie, le plus simple est de louer une voiture ou de prendre le train jusqu'à Rovaniemi.

Sécurité en Finlande

La Finlande est considérée comme l'un des pays les plus heureux du monde et l'un des plus sûrs pour y vivre ou y voyager. Le taux de criminalité est faible.

Néanmoins, si vous vous retrouvez dans une tempête de neige, un blizzard ou toute autre calamité naturelle, assurez-vous d'avoir les coordonnées des autorités locales à portée de main. Hormis la nature, qui est incontrôlable, la Finlande est généralement sûre pour les touristes.

Le temps en Finlande

Le temps en Finlande est variable en raison de sa situation dans la zone côtière du continent eurasien. Le temps peut changer à tout moment, ce qui est courant en Scandinavie, aussi faut-il prévoir des vêtements pour tous les types de temps.

En Laponie et dans les régions avoisinantes, il peut y avoir jusqu'à sept mois de neige chaque année en raison de sa situation géographique, ce qui en fait un rêve devenu réalité pour les personnes qui aiment l'hiver. C'est également la meilleure période pour visiter si vous voulez voir les aurores boréales ! Les étés, cependant, sont également très spéciaux car le soleil brille presque toute la journée.

Le printemps est court, l'hiver se prolongeant jusqu'en mars. Avec des températures agréables et peu ou pas de touristes (et des prix plus bas), c'est une période idéale pour visiter la Finlande.

Villes et villages populaires en Finlande

La Finlande est un pays incroyable où l'on peut visiter à la fois des espaces urbains et des villages ruraux, qui vous couperont le souffle. Découvrez les destinations les plus intéressantes en Finlande.

  • Helsinki - La capitale de la Finlande, Helsinki, offre un éventail incroyable d'attractions et vous devez absolument vous arrêter dans cette ville fabuleuse. Une sous-culture unique est en train de naître dans cette ville connue pour son art innovant, sa culture et ses soirées techno underground.

  • Rovaniemi - Située dans la région de Laponie, Rovaniemi est la porte d'entrée de l'Arctique. Vous y découvrirez l'authentique culture sami et les mystérieuses aurores boréales. La ville est également le siège du village du Père Noël, que vous pouvez visiter en empruntant le Santa Claus Express depuis Helsinki !

  • Turku - Plus ancienne et ancienne capitale de la Finlande, Turku était autrefois la ville la plus importante du pays. L'histoire de la navigation y est riche et la ville abrite une magnifique cathédrale gothique, un château médiéval et une importante population étudiante.

  • Savonlinna - Paradis des amoureux de la nature, Savonlinna est située dans la région des lacs Saimaa, où vous pouvez explorer un labyrinthe de milliers d'îles et d'eaux.

  • Punkaharju - La destination idéale pour en savoir plus sur la nature en Finlande. Encore méconnu de beaucoup, Punkaharju est une destination idéale pour les voyageurs qui souhaitent sortir des sentiers battus.

À faire et à voir en Finlande

Il y a vraiment beaucoup de choses à voir et à faire en Finlande, et certains préfèrent sa culture et ses paysages uniques à ceux des autres pays nordiques. Découvrez quelques-unes des meilleures choses à faire en Finlande :

  • Aurores boréales - En hiver, le soleil disparaît pendant des mois. Cependant, vous ne serez pas complètement dans l'obscurité car c'est à cette période que vous pourrez le mieux observer les aurores boréales, un spectacle naturel qui illumine le ciel la nuit. Pour une expérience encore plus spéciale, réservez l'une des célèbres cabanes de verre et observez-les de près tout en vous installant confortablement.

  • Îles-phares - La Finlande abrite le plus grand parc national d'archipels au monde, ce qui signifie que vous trouverez de nombreuses îles à explorer. La plupart de ces îles sont équipées de phares automatiques, que les habitants et les touristes adorent visiter lors d'excursions d'une journée ou d'escapades d'un week-end.

  • Vieilles villes en bois - Autrefois, la plupart des maisons finlandaises étaient construites en bois et peintes en rouge. Le pays compte encore de nombreuses villes en bois préservées qui existent depuis des décennies, voire des siècles. En visitant l'un de ces villages traditionnels, vous aurez l'impression de voyager dans le temps.

  • Parcs nationaux - Ne manquez pas l'occasion de profiter de la nature, qui n'est pas loin de tout en Finlande. Vous trouverez plus de 40 parcs nationaux dans tout le pays, avec des lacs scintillants, des forêts abondantes, des îles inhabitées et bien d'autres merveilles naturelles.

  • Sauna finlandais - Dans un monde qui ne cesse de bouger, les Finlandais pensent que les saunas sont un excellent moyen de se détendre. La plupart des Finlandais vont au sauna au moins une fois par semaine, et beaucoup ont un sauna chez eux. Un must-en Finlande ! À la sortie du sauna, il est de coutume de sauter dans un lac ou de se rouler dans la neige (ou tout simplement de prendre une douche).

Les plats typiques de la Finlande à goûter

Un voyage en Finlande n'est pas complet sans goûter à la cuisine finlandaise typique :

  • Karjalanpiirakka (tartes au riz) - Cette célèbre pâtisserie est originaire de la région finlandaise de Carélie. La croûte est remplie de bouillie de riz et de beurre d'œuf. Elle est généralement consommée au petit-déjeuner.

  • Ruisleipa (pain de seigle) - Le pain de seigle est fabriqué partout en Finlande. Le pain de seigle finlandais est fabriqué à 100 % à partir de levures finlandaises, ce qui lui confère un caractère sombre et dense.

  • Leipajuusto (fromage de pain) - Aux États-Unis, vous le connaissez sous le nom de fromage finlandais grinçant. Il est fabriqué à partir du lait d'une vache qui vient de vêler. Les gens le dégustent avec du café ou de la confiture d'airelles.

Informations sur les vaccins en Finlande

Le gouvernement finlandais a levé toutes les restrictions mises en place lors de la pandémie de COVID-19. Les voyageurs n'ont donc pas besoin de présenter un certificat de vaccination COVID-19, de subir des tests ou d'être mis en quarantaine à leur arrivée.

Veillez toutefois à consulter le site web CDC pour obtenir des conseils généraux sur la vaccination ou à contacter votre médecin généraliste local pour plus d'informations.

Observer les aurores boréales en Finlande

Chaque hiver, les voyageurs du monde entier peuvent admirer les aurores boréales , ou aurores boréales, qui dansent dans le ciel pour offrir un spectacle de lumière que vous n'oublierez jamais. Imaginez les rideaux de lumière colorés qui traversent le ciel nocturne. C'est vraiment une expérience incroyable.

C'est dans la partie septentrionale de la Finlande , plus précisément en Laponie finlandaise (Rovaniemi), pendant les mois d'hiver (septembre - mars), que l'on peut le mieux observer cette expérience qui figure sur la liste des choses à faire. Outre la chasse aux aurores boréales, la Finlande est l'endroit idéal pour pratiquer des activités dans la neige, comme le traîneau à chiens et le patinage sur glace.

Faits amusants sur la Finlande

Consultez ces faits amusants avant de visiter la Finlande, et impressionnez les habitants !

  • En 2020, la Finlande est devenue le pays le plus heureux du monde. La plupart des pays nordiques se sont classés en haut de la liste, qui prend en compte l'espérance de vie, la liberté, la puissance économique, le soutien social, la perception de la corruption, etc.

  • La langue finnoise est totalement différente des autres langues de la région scandinave. Elle est d'origine ouralienne et ressemble au hongrois. Le suédois est également enseigné dans l'enseignement secondaire.

  • Les Finlandais sont les plus grands buveurs de café au monde. Ils consomment en moyenne 12 kg de café par an. Il n'est pas rare de voir une personne boire 8 tasses de café par jour.

  • La Finlande compte plus de 187 000 lacs ! La Finlande est peut-être connue comme le pays des mille lacs, mais le nombre réel est beaucoup plus élevé.

1.2M Des clients satisfaits

24/7Soutien

+46,000 revues

10 Années d'expérience

98% taux d'approbation des visas

Chat sur WhatsApp
Chat par interphone

Home >

Finland Travel Guide: All you need to know to visit Finland in 2022

Finland Travel Guide: All you need to know to visit Finland in 2022

Welcome to Finland

Finland is the perfect place to spend your next holiday as it offers fabulous outdoor activities, artsy cities, interesting Finnish culture, and gorgeous scenery. Because it's situated in the corner of Northern Europe, few people think about it when planning their vacation. But if you get the opportunity to visit Finland, you’ll be in for a pleasant surprise!

Continue reading this ultimate Finland travel guide, and get all the practical details about traveling around, unmissable sights, and visa information to visit this magical Nordic country.

Document checklist for Finland

  • Visa (if applicable)

  • Valid passport (must have a minimum validity of 6 months from the date of arrival in Finland)

  • Sufficient funds to cover your entire trip

  • Return airline ticket

Essential Finland travel information

  • Currency - Euro (€). $1 is equivalent to approx. €0.98.

  • Daily budget for 1 person - Tourists in Finland should plan to spend around €125 ($130) per day.

  • Languages - The two official languages in Finland are Finnish and Swedish. English is also widely spoken as a second language. There are also a few official minority languages: Sami, Finnish sign language, and Romani.

  • Socket type - Types C and F. The country operates on a 230V supply voltage and 50Hz.

  • Time zone - Eastern European Time (EET): UTC +2.

  • Top 3 cities to visit - Helsinki, Rovaniemi, and Turku.

  • Top 3 landmarks/monuments - Sea Fortress Suomenlinna, Helsinki Cathedral, and Turku Castle.

Visa information for Finland

Visiting Finland has become simpler over the years, as now you can opt for electronic visas or authorizations online.

Depending on your nationality, you may need the Schengen Visa or ETIAS visa waiver to visit the country. These services will become available from 2023 onwards on iVisa.

ETIAS explained

The ETIAS, or the European Travel Information and Authorization System, is a mandatory document for all nationalities that are visa-exempt to enter Finland and the Schengen zone. With this travel authorization, you can travel around Finland and the 26 Schengen countries.

The ETIAS will be mandatory from May 2023. Make sure you get it if you plan on visiting the region after this date.

Schengen Visa explained

If your nationality isn’t eligible for the ETIAS, because you need a visa to enter the Schengen zone, you will soon be able to apply for the Finland Schengen Visa online with iVisa.

The Schengen Visa offers stays and travel for up to 90 days throughout and between all Schengen countries. The flexibility of this visa is what makes it so appealing to many travelers.

Typical costs and budget for Finland

For your trip to Finland, please check the following relevant information about budgeting:

Daily spending per person - the daily budget per person is around €125 ($130) per day, which includes:

  • Meals - A meal in a good restaurant in Finland will cost around €28 ($30).

  • Transport - Daily transport costs are around €30 ($31).

  • Hotel - A room for two people will cost around €117 ($122) per night.

Example: Two people traveling to Finland for one week will spend, on average €1,745 ($1,817). This approximate cost doesn’t include luxurious accommodation or entry tickets for tourist spots around Finland.

Transport and best ways to travel around Finland

Helsinki has a developed public transport system that consists of buses, trams, metro, commuter trains, and the Suomenlinna ferry. As a tourist, you can buy your tickets through the HSL App, R-kiosks (small service stations), HSL service points, ticket machines at stations, and with the bus driver. Remember that you can’t purchase tickets on trams, the metro, and commuter trains, these must be purchased before you board.

Single and special value tickets are valid for 80-110 minutes and permit switching between transport modes within this timeframe. Children’s tickets for ages between 7 and 17 years old are also available. Minors under 7 years old can travel for free.

There are also reduced-rate tickets for pensioners, students, people with limited mobility, and people over 70 years old available.

To get to the national parks or Lapland, it is easiest to rent a car or take the train to Rovaniemi.

Safety in Finland

Finland is considered one of the happiest countries in the world and one of the safest to live or travel to. Crime rates are low.

Still, you could find yourself in a snowstorm, blizzard, or any other natural calamity, make sure you have the contact details of local authorities on hand. Aside from nature, which is uncontrollable, Finland is mostly safe for tourists.

Weather in Finland

Weather in Finland is variable due to its location in the Eurasian continent’s coastal zone. The weather can change at any second, which is common in Scandinavia, so make sure to pack clothes for all types of weather.

In Lapland and surrounding regions, there can be up to seven months of snow each year due to its geographical location, making it a dream come true for people who love winter. It’s also the best time to visit if you want to see the Northern Lights! Summers, however, are also very special because the sun shines almost all day long.

Spring is short, with the winter continuing until March. With pleasant temperatures and little to no tourists (and lower prices), it can be a great time to visit Finland.

Popular cities and towns in Finland

Finland is an incredible place to visit both urban spaces and rural villages, that will equally take your breath away. Check out the most exciting destinations in Finland.

  • Helsinki - The capital of Finland, Helsinki, offers an incredible array of attractions, and you must stop in this fabulous city. A unique subculture is on the rise in this city known for its innovative art, culture, and underground techno parties.

  • Rovaniemi - Located in the Lapland region, Rovaniemi is the gateway to the Arctic. Here you’ll find the authentic Sami culture and the mysterious Northern Lights. The city is also the base of Santa Claus Village, which you can visit by taking the Santa Claus express all the way from Helsinki!

  • Turku - The oldest and formerly capital city of Finland, Turku was once the country's most important city. There is a rich seafaring history here and the city is home to a magnificent Gothic cathedral, a medieval castle, and a large student population.

  • Savonlinna - A nature lovers' paradise, Savonlinna is situated in the Saimaa Lake Region, where you can explore a labyrinth of thousands of islands and waters.

  • Punkaharju - The perfect destination to learn more about nature in Finland. Still unknown to many, Punkaharju makes a great destination for travelers wanting to get off the beaten path.

Must do and see in Finland

There is definitely plenty to see and do in Finland, and some people prefer the unique culture and scenery over other Nordic Countries. Check out some of the best things to do in Finland:

  • Northern lights - During winter, the sun disappears for months on end. However, you won’t be completely in the dark because this is the time that you can best see the colorful Northern Lights, a natural spectacle lighting up the sky at night. For an extra special experience, book one of the famous glass huts, and see them up close while cozying it up.

  • Lighthouse islands - Finland is home to the largest archipelago national park in the world, which means you can find plenty of islands to explore. Most of these islands are equipped with automated lighthouses, which locals and tourists alike love to visit on day trips or weekend escapes.

  • Old wooden towns - In ancient times, most houses in Finland were built of wood and painted red. The country still boasts many preserved wooden towns that have existed for decades or even centuries. Visiting one of these traditional villages will feel like you’re traveling back in time.

  • National parks - Don’t miss the chance to enjoy nature, which is not far away from anything in Finland. You can find over 40 national parks all over the country with shimmering lakes, abundant forests, uninhabited islands, and more natural wonders.

  • Finnish sauna - In a world that never stops moving, the Finnish believe saunas are a great way to relax the mind. Most Finnish people go to the sauna at least once a week, and many have a sauna at home. A must-do in Finland! When you come out of the sauna, it’s customary to jump in a lake or roll in the snow (or simply just take a shower).

Typical Finland food to try

A trip to Finland is not complete without trying some of the typical Finnish cuisine:

  • Karjalanpiirakka (rice pies) - This famous pastry comes from the Finnish region of Karelia. The crust is filled with rice porridge and egg butter. You usually have it for breakfast.

  • Ruisleipa (rye bread) - Rye bread is made everywhere in Finland. Finnish rye bread is made 100% from Finnish yeasts, which provides a dark, dense character.

  • Leipajuusto (bread cheese) - In the US, you know it as squeaky Finnish cheese. It’s made of milk from a cow that has recently calved. People have it with coffee or cloudberry jam.

Vaccine information for Finland

The Finnish government has lifted all restrictions implemented during the COVID-19 pandemic. Therefore, travelers don’t need to show a COVID-19 vaccine certificate, get tested, or quarantine upon arrival.

Still, make sure to check the CDC website for general vaccination advice or communicate with your local general practitioner for further details.

Seeing the Northern Lights in Finland

Every winter, travelers from all over the world can enjoy the aurora borealis, or northern lights, while it dances across the sky to give a light show you will never forget. Imagine seeing the colorful curtains of lights across the night sky. It’s truly an unbelievable experience.

This bucket list experience is best seen in the northern part of Finland, specifically in Finnish Lapland (Rovaniemi), during the winter months (September - March). As well as chasing the northern lights, Finland is the perfect place for enjoying activities in the snow like dog sledding and ice skating.

Fun facts about Finland

Check out these fun facts before visiting Finland, and impress the locals!

  • In 2020, Finland took the top spot as the happiest country in the world. Most of the Nordic countries have ranked high on the list, which considers life expectancy, freedom, economic strength, social support, perceived corruption, and others.

  • The Finnish language is entirely different from the other languages in the Scandinavia area. It has a Uralic origin, and it resembles Hungarian. Swedish is also taught in secondary school.

  • People from Finland are the biggest coffee drinkers in the world. On average, they consume 12 kg of coffee per year. It is not uncommon to see a person drinking 8 cups of coffee a day.

  • You can find over 187,000 lakes in Finland! It may be known as the land of a thousand lakes, but the actual number is much, much higher.

1.2M Happy Customers 99% On Time Delivery 10 Years of Experience
Trustpilot recommended. We lead the industry in innovation and reputation

How it Works?

Fill out online application

Complete our easy online application and pay with credit card or PayPal

Fill out online application
Receive document via email

No need to deal with the embassy. We do it for you so you don't lose valuable time

Receive document via email
Enter destination

Present your Passport and the Document we provide upon entry to destination country

Enter destination

Our Customers Have Great Stories About Us

Alan

Alan

Wonderful company to work with - they were very responsive on chat as we made some mistakes on our end. They assured us everything would work out and worked with us until we received our E-Visa. We got it just two days before traveling. I would highly recommend iVisa.com. If you are in a rush, I would recommend paying the extra to ensure it is ready in time because the government needed more documents and that allowed us extra time to submit.

Pritam Gajjar

Pritam Gajjar

Highly impressive. Thanks to iVisa.com team for their great support. I just applied yesterday for my son's Indian E-Visa in a standard service (96 hours). But in a duration of 35 hours (within 2 days), today I get his visa. Before applying it, we were very confused for the E-visa websites. But thanks to this team for their great quick effort. Highly Recommended to all.

Elizabeth Walker

Elizabeth Walker

I was surprised to get my Visa within 2 hours and amazed at the fact that how hassle free the entire process is. Thank you guys, keep it up. I will make sure to spread the words among my friends.

Sarah Brown

Sarah Brown

I applied to get visa to India. This is the first time I used this service. Highly recommend them for anyone need to get E-Visa. Easy to apply through their Web form, can add multiple people in a single request. Fast and efficient service. Received visa within few days. Only downside I found is the order of the application process. It request your visa fee payment, in the 2nd step, before completing the application form with all the information. In general, any web based purchases the payment is requested in the last step. This may raise a concern for a first time user.