logo
de | $ USD

Erkunden Sie

Einstellungen

Wählen Sie Ihre Sprache

Wählen Sie Ihre Währung

  • AED United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • AFN Afghan Afghani
  • ALL Albanian Lek
  • AMD Armenian Dram
  • ANG Netherlands Antillean Guilder
  • AOA Angolan Kwanza
  • ARS Argentine Peso
  • AUD Australian Dollar
  • AWG Aruban Florin
  • AZN Azerbaijani Manat
  • BAM Bosnia-Herzegovina Convertible Mark
  • BBD Barbadian Dollar
  • BDT Bangladeshi Taka
  • BGN Bulgarian Lev
  • BIF Burundian Franc
  • BMD Bermudan Dollar
  • BND Brunei Dollar
  • BOB Bolivian Boliviano
  • BRL Brazilian Real
  • BSD Bahamian Dollar
  • BWP Botswanan Pula
  • BZD Belize Dollar
  • CAD Canadian Dollar
  • CDF Congolese Franc
  • CHF Swiss Franc
  • CLP Chilean Peso
  • CNY Chinese Yuan
  • COP Colombian Peso
  • CRC Costa Rican Colón
  • CVE Cape Verdean Escudo
  • CZK Czech Republic Koruna
  • DJF Djiboutian Franc
  • DKK Danish Krone
  • DOP Dominican Peso
  • DZD Algerian Dinar
  • EGP Egyptian Pound
  • ETB Ethiopian Birr
  • EUR Euro
  • FJD Fijian Dollar
  • FKP Falkland Islands Pound
  • GBP British Pound Sterling
  • GEL Georgian Lari
  • GIP Gibraltar Pound
  • GMD Gambian Dalasi
  • GNF Guinean Franc
  • GTQ Guatemalan Quetzal
  • GYD Guyanaese Dollar
  • HKD Hong Kong Dollar
  • HNL Honduran Lempira
  • HTG Haitian Gourde
  • HUF Hungarian Forint
  • IDR Indonesian Rupiah
  • ILS Israeli New Sheqel
  • INR Indian Rupee
  • ISK Icelandic Króna
  • JMD Jamaican Dollar
  • JPY Japanese Yen
  • KES Kenyan Shilling
  • KGS Kyrgystani Som
  • KHR Cambodian Riel
  • KMF Comorian Franc
  • KRW South Korean Won
  • KYD Cayman Islands Dollar
  • KZT Kazakhstani Tenge
  • LAK Laotian Kip
  • LBP Lebanese Pound
  • LKR Sri Lankan Rupee
  • LRD Liberian Dollar
  • LSL Lesotho Loti
  • MAD Moroccan Dirham
  • MDL Moldovan Leu
  • MGA Malagasy Ariary
  • MKD Macedonian Denar
  • MNT Mongolian Tugrik
  • MOP Macanese Pataca
  • MUR Mauritian Rupee
  • MVR Maldivian Rufiyaa
  • MWK Malawian Kwacha
  • MXN Mexican Peso
  • MYR Malaysian Ringgit
  • MZN Mozambican Metical
  • NAD Namibian Dollar
  • NGN Nigerian Naira
  • NIO Nicaraguan Córdoba
  • NOK Norwegian Krone
  • NPR Nepalese Rupee
  • NZD New Zealand Dollar
  • OMR Omani Rial
  • PAB Panamanian Balboa
  • PEN Peruvian Nuevo Sol
  • PGK Papua New Guinean Kina
  • PHP Philippine Peso
  • PKR Pakistani Rupee
  • PLN Polish Zloty
  • PYG Paraguayan Guarani
  • QAR Qatari Rial
  • RON Romanian Leu
  • RSD Serbian Dinar
  • RUB Russian Ruble
  • RWF Rwandan Franc
  • SAR Saudi Riyal
  • SBD Solomon Islands Dollar
  • SCR Seychellois Rupee
  • SEK Swedish Krona
  • SGD Singapore Dollar
  • SHP Saint Helena Pound
  • SLL Sierra Leonean Leone
  • SOS Somali Shilling
  • SRD Surinamese Dollar
  • SVC Salvadoran Colón
  • SZL Swazi Lilangeni
  • THB Thai Baht
  • TJS Tajikistani Somoni
  • TOP Tongan Pa anga
  • TRY Turkish Lira
  • TTD Trinidad and Tobago Dollar
  • TWD New Taiwan Dollar
  • TZS Tanzanian Shilling
  • UAH Ukrainian Hryvnia
  • UGX Ugandan Shilling
  • USD United States Dollar
  • UYU Uruguayan Peso
  • UZS Uzbekistan Som
  • VND Vietnamese Dong
  • VUV Vanuatu Vatu
  • WST Samoan Tala
  • XAF CFA Franc BEAC
  • XCD East Caribbean Dollar
  • XOF CFA Franc BCEAO
  • XPF CFP Franc
  • YER Yemeni Rial
  • ZAR South African Rand
  • ZMW Zambian Kwacha
Finnland Reiseführer: Alles, was Sie wissen müssen, um Finnland 2022 zu besuchen
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Welcome to Finnland

Finnland ist der perfekte Ort für Ihren nächsten Urlaub, denn es bietet fabelhafte Outdoor-Aktivitäten, kunstvolle Städte, interessante finnische Kultur und wunderschöne Landschaften. Da Finnland in einer Ecke Nordeuropas liegt, denken nur wenige Menschen bei der Planung ihres Urlaubs an dieses Land. Aber wenn Sie die Gelegenheit bekommen, Finnland zu besuchen, werden Sie angenehm überrascht sein!

Lesen Sie weiter in diesem ultimativen Finnland-Reiseführer , und erfahren Sie alle praktischen Details über das Reisen, unumgängliche Sehenswürdigkeiten und Visainformationen für einen Besuch in diesem magischen nordischen Land.

Dokumenten-Checkliste für Finnland

  • Visum (falls zutreffend)

  • Gültiger Reisepass (muss noch mindestens 6 Monate ab dem Datum der Ankunft in Finnland gültig sein)

  • Ausreichende Geldmittel für Ihre gesamte Reise

  • Rückflugticket

Wichtige Reiseinformationen zu Finnland

  • Währung - Euro (€). 1 $ entspricht ca. 0,98 €.

  • Tagesbudget für 1 Person - Touristen in Finnland sollten etwa 125 € (130 $) pro Tag einplanen.

  • Sprachen - Die beiden offiziellen Sprachen in Finnland sind Finnisch und Schwedisch. Englisch ist als Zweitsprache ebenfalls weit verbreitet. Es gibt auch einige offizielle Minderheitensprachen: Sami, Finnische Gebärdensprache und Romani.

  • Steckdosentyp - Typen C und F. Das Land arbeitet mit einer Versorgungsspannung von 230 V und 50 Hz.

  • Zeitzone - Osteuropäische Zeit (EET): UTC +2.

  • Die 3 sehenswertesten Städte - Helsinki, Rovaniemi und Turku.

  • Die 3 wichtigsten Wahrzeichen/Denkmäler - Seefestung Suomenlinna, Dom von Helsinki und Burg von Turku.

Visa-Informationen für Finnland

Die Einreise nach Finnland ist im Laufe der Jahre einfacher geworden, da Sie jetzt elektronische Visa oder Genehmigungen online beantragen können.

Je nach Ihrer Staatsangehörigkeit benötigen Sie möglicherweise das Schengen-Visum oder ETIAS Visumbefreiung, um das Land zu besuchen. Diese Dienste werden ab 2023 auf iVisa verfügbar sein.

ETIAS erklärt

Das ETIAS, oder das Europäische Reiseinformations- und -genehmigungssystem, ist ein obligatorisches Dokument für alle Nationalitäten, die von der Visumpflicht-befreit sind, um nach Finnland und in den Schengen-Raum einzureisen. Mit dieser Reisegenehmigung können Sie in Finnland und in den 26 Schengen-Ländern reisen.

Das ETIAS wird ab Mai 2023 obligatorisch sein. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie es bekommen, wenn Sie planen, die Region nach diesem Datum zu besuchen.

Schengen-Visum erklärt

Wenn Ihre Staatsangehörigkeit nicht für das ETIAS in Frage kommt, weil Sie für die Einreise in den Schengen-Raum ein Visum benötigen, können Sie bald das Finland Schengen Visa online bei iVisa beantragen.

Das Schengen-Visum ermöglicht Aufenthalte und Reisen von bis zu 90 Tagen in und zwischen allen Schengen-Ländern. Die Flexibilität dieses Visums ist es, die es für viele Reisende so attraktiv macht.

Typische Kosten und Budget für Finnland

Für Ihre Reise nach Finnland beachten Sie bitte die folgenden Informationen zur Budgetplanung:

Tägliche Ausgaben pro Person - Das Tagesbudget pro Person beträgt etwa 125 € (130 $) pro Tag, was Folgendes beinhaltet

  • Mahlzeiten - Eine Mahlzeit in einem guten Restaurant in Finnland kostet etwa 28 € (30 $).

  • Transport - Die täglichen Transportkosten betragen etwa 30 € (31 $).

  • Hotel - Ein Zimmer für zwei Personen kostet etwa 117 € (122 $) pro Nacht.

Beispiel: Zwei Personen, die für eine Woche nach Finnland reisen, geben im Durchschnitt 1.745 € (1.817 $) aus. In diesen ungefähren Kosten sind weder luxuriöse Unterkünfte noch Eintrittskarten für touristische Sehenswürdigkeiten in Finnland enthalten.

Verkehrsmittel und beste Reisemöglichkeiten in Finnland

Helsinki verfügt über ein gut ausgebautes öffentliches Verkehrssystem, das aus Bussen, Straßenbahnen, U-Bahnen, Nahverkehrszügen und der Fähre Suomenlinna besteht. Als Tourist können Sie Ihre Fahrkarten über die HSL App, R-Kioske (kleine Tankstellen), HSL-Servicepunkte, Fahrkartenautomaten an Bahnhöfen und beim Busfahrer kaufen. Denken Sie daran, dass Sie in Straßenbahnen, U-Bahnen und Nahverkehrszügen keine Fahrkarten kaufen können; diese müssen vor dem Einsteigen erworben werden.

Einzelfahrscheine und Sonderwertkarten sind 80-110 Minuten gültig und erlauben das Umsteigen zwischen den Verkehrsmitteln innerhalb dieses Zeitraums. Kindertickets für 7 bis 17 Jahre sind ebenfalls erhältlich. Minderjährige unter 7 Jahren können kostenlos mitfahren.

Es gibt auch ermäßigte Fahrkarten-für Rentner, Studenten, Personen mit eingeschränkter Mobilität und Personen über 70 Jahre.

Um zu den Nationalparks oder nach Lappland zu gelangen, ist es am einfachsten, ein Auto zu mieten oder den Zug nach Rovaniemi zu nehmen.

Sicherheit in Finnland

Finnland gilt als eines der glücklichsten Länder der Welt und als eines der sichersten, in dem man leben oder reisen kann. Die Kriminalitätsrate ist niedrig.

Sollten Sie dennoch in einen Schneesturm, einen Schneesturm oder eine andere Naturkatastrophe geraten, sollten Sie die Kontaktdaten der örtlichen Behörden bereithalten. Abgesehen von der Natur, die unkontrollierbar ist, ist Finnland für Touristen weitgehend sicher.

Wetter in Finnland

Das Wetter in Finnland ist aufgrund seiner Lage in der Küstenzone des eurasischen Kontinents sehr wechselhaft. Wie in Skandinavien üblich, kann das Wetter jederzeit umschlagen. Packen Sie also Kleidung für alle Wetterlagen ein.

In Lappland und den umliegenden Regionen kann es aufgrund der geografischen Lage jedes Jahr bis zu sieben Monate lang schneien und ist damit ein wahr gewordener Traum für Winterliebhaber. Das ist auch die beste Reisezeit, wenn Sie die Nordlichter sehen wollen. Aber auch der Sommer ist etwas ganz Besonderes, da die Sonne fast den ganzen Tag scheint.

Der Frühling ist kurz, da der Winter bis März andauert. Mit angenehmen Temperaturen und wenig bis gar keinen Touristen (und niedrigeren Preisen) kann dies eine großartige Zeit für einen Besuch in Finnland sein.

Beliebte Städte und Gemeinden in Finnland

Finnland ist ein unglaublicher Ort, an dem Sie sowohl städtische Gebiete als auch ländliche Dörfer besuchen können, die Ihnen gleichermaßen den Atem rauben werden. Sehen Sie sich die spannendsten Reiseziele in Finnland an.

  • Helsinki - Die Hauptstadt Finnlands, Helsinki, bietet eine unglaubliche Vielfalt an Attraktionen, die Sie unbedingt besuchen sollten. In dieser Stadt, die für ihre innovative Kunst, Kultur und Underground-Techno-Partys bekannt ist, ist eine einzigartige Subkultur im Aufwind.

  • Rovaniemi - Rovaniemi liegt in der Region Lappland und ist das Tor zur Arktis. Hier finden Sie die authentische samische Kultur und die geheimnisvollen Nordlichter. Die Stadt ist auch der Ausgangspunkt für das Weihnachtsmanndorf, das Sie mit dem Weihnachtsmann-Express von Helsinki aus besuchen können!

  • Turku - Turku, die älteste und ehemalige Hauptstadt Finnlands, war einst die wichtigste Stadt des Landes. Die Stadt blickt auf eine reiche Seefahrergeschichte zurück und beherbergt eine prächtige gotische Kathedrale, eine mittelalterliche Burg und eine große Zahl an Studenten.

  • Savonlinna - Savonlinna ist ein Paradies für Naturliebhaber und liegt in der Saimaa-See-Region, wo Sie ein Labyrinth aus Tausenden von Inseln und Gewässern erkunden können.

  • Punkaharju - Das perfekte Ziel, um mehr über die Natur Finnlands zu erfahren. Punkaharju, das vielen noch unbekannt ist, ist ein großartiges Ziel für Reisende, die die ausgetretenen Pfade verlassen wollen.

Was man in Finnland unbedingt tun und sehen muss

In Finnland gibt es definitiv viel zu sehen und zu unternehmen, und manche Leute ziehen die einzigartige Kultur und Landschaft anderen nordischen Ländern vor. Sehen Sie sich einige der besten Aktivitäten in Finnland an:

  • Nordlichter - Im Winter verschwindet die Sonne monatelang. Sie werden jedoch nicht völlig im Dunkeln sitzen, denn zu dieser Zeit können Sie die farbenprächtigen Nordlichter am besten sehen, ein Naturschauspiel, das nachts den Himmel erhellt. Ein ganz besonderes Erlebnis ist es, eine der berühmten Glashütten zu buchen und das Nordlicht aus nächster Nähe zu beobachten, während Sie es sich gemütlich machen.

  • Leuchtturminseln - Finnland beherbergt den größten Schären-Nationalpark der Welt, was bedeutet, dass es viele Inseln zu erkunden gibt. Die meisten dieser Inseln sind mit automatischen Leuchttürmen ausgestattet, die von Einheimischen und Touristen gleichermaßen gerne für Tagesausflüge oder Wochenendausflüge genutzt werden.

  • Alte Holzstädte - In alten Zeiten waren die meisten Häuser in Finnland aus Holz gebaut und rot gestrichen. In Finnland gibt es noch viele erhaltene Holzstädte, die schon seit Jahrzehnten oder sogar Jahrhunderten bestehen. Wenn Sie eines dieser traditionellen Dörfer besuchen, werden Sie sich wie in eine andere Zeit zurückversetzt fühlen.

  • Nationalparks - Verpassen Sie nicht die Gelegenheit, die Natur zu genießen, die in Finnland nirgendwo weit weg ist. Im ganzen Land gibt es über 40 Nationalparks mit schimmernden Seen, üppigen Wäldern, unbewohnten Inseln und weiteren Naturwundern.

  • Finnische Sauna - In einer Welt, die ständig in Bewegung ist, glauben die Finnen, dass Saunabesuche eine gute Möglichkeit sind, den Geist zu entspannen. Die meisten Finnen gehen mindestens einmal pro Woche in die Sauna, und viele haben eine Sauna zu Hause. Ein Muss-in Finnland! Wenn man aus der Sauna kommt, ist es üblich, in einen See zu springen oder sich im Schnee zu wälzen (oder einfach nur zu duschen).

Typisches finnisches Essen zum Probieren

Eine Reise nach Finnland ist nicht vollständig, ohne die typisch finnische Küche zu probieren:

  • Karjalanpiirakka (Reiskuchen) - Dieses berühmte Gebäck stammt aus der finnischen Region Karelien. Die Kruste ist mit Reisbrei und Eierbutter gefüllt. Man isst sie normalerweise zum Frühstück.

  • Ruisleipa (Roggenbrot) - Roggenbrot wird überall in Finnland hergestellt. Finnisches Roggenbrot wird zu 100 % aus finnischen Hefen hergestellt, was ihm einen dunklen, dichten Charakter verleiht.

  • Leipajuusto (Brotkäse) - In den USA kennt man ihn als "Squeaky Finnish Cheese". Er wird aus der Milch einer Kuh hergestellt, die gerade gekalbt hat. Man isst ihn mit Kaffee oder Moltebeermarmelade.

Impfstoffinformationen für Finnland

Die finnische Regierung hat alle Beschränkungen aufgehoben, die während der Pandemie COVID-19 galten. Daher müssen Reisende bei der Einreise kein COVID-19-Impfzertifikat vorlegen, sich nicht testen lassen und nicht unter Quarantäne gestellt werden.

Informieren Sie sich dennoch auf der Website CDC über allgemeine Impfempfehlungen oder wenden Sie sich an Ihren Hausarzt vor Ort, um weitere Einzelheiten zu erfahren.

Nordlichter in Finnland sehen

Jeden Winter können Reisende aus aller Welt das Polarlicht oder Nordlicht bewundern, das über den Himmel tanzt und eine Lichtshow bietet, die Sie nie vergessen werden. Stellen Sie sich vor, Sie sehen die bunten Lichtervorhänge am Nachthimmel. Es ist wirklich ein unglaubliches Erlebnis.

Dieses unvergessliche Erlebnis lässt sich am besten im nördlichen Teil Finnlands , genauer gesagt in Finnisch-Lappland (Rovaniemi), während der Wintermonate (September - März) beobachten. Neben der Jagd nach dem Nordlicht ist Finnland der perfekte Ort, um Aktivitäten im Schnee wie Hundeschlittenfahrten und Schlittschuhlaufen zu genießen.

Wissenswertes über Finnland

Lesen Sie diese lustigen Fakten bevor Sie Finnland besuchen, und beeindrucken Sie die Einheimischen!

  • Im Jahr 2020 wurde Finnland zum glücklichsten Land der Welt gekürt. Die meisten nordischen Länder stehen auf der Liste, die Lebenserwartung, Freiheit, Wirtschaftskraft, soziale Unterstützung, wahrgenommene Korruption und andere Faktoren berücksichtigt, weit oben.

  • Die finnische Sprache unterscheidet sich völlig von den anderen Sprachen in Skandinavien. Sie hat einen uralischen Ursprung und ähnelt dem Ungarischen. Schwedisch wird ebenfalls in der Sekundarstufe unterrichtet.

  • Die Finnen sind die größten Kaffeetrinker der Welt. Im Durchschnitt verbrauchen sie 12 kg Kaffee pro Jahr. Es ist nicht ungewöhnlich, dass eine Person 8 Tassen Kaffee pro Tag trinkt.

  • In Finnland gibt es über 187.000 Seen! Es mag als das Land der tausend Seen bekannt sein, aber die tatsächliche Zahl ist viel, viel höher.

1.2M Zufriedene Kunden

24/7Unterstützung

+46,000 Bewertungen

10 Jahre der Erfahrung

98% Visum-Genehmigungsrate

Haftungsausschluss
  • iVisa is NOT affiliated with any government agency. This site does not provide legal advice and we are not a law firm. None of our customer service representatives are lawyers and they also do not provide legal advice. We are a private, internet-based travel and immigration consultancy provider dedicated to helping individuals travel around the world. You may apply by yourself directly on the various government websites. Die Quelle der Informationen: https://enterfinland.fi/eServices
Chat on WhatsApp
Interkom-Chat

Home >

Finland Travel Guide: All you need to know to visit Finland in 2022

Finland Travel Guide: All you need to know to visit Finland in 2022

Welcome to Finland

Finland is the perfect place to spend your next holiday as it offers fabulous outdoor activities, artsy cities, interesting Finnish culture, and gorgeous scenery. Because it's situated in the corner of Northern Europe, few people think about it when planning their vacation. But if you get the opportunity to visit Finland, you’ll be in for a pleasant surprise!

Continue reading this ultimate Finland travel guide, and get all the practical details about traveling around, unmissable sights, and visa information to visit this magical Nordic country.

Document checklist for Finland

  • Visa (if applicable)

  • Valid passport (must have a minimum validity of 6 months from the date of arrival in Finland)

  • Sufficient funds to cover your entire trip

  • Return airline ticket

Essential Finland travel information

  • Currency - Euro (€). $1 is equivalent to approx. €0.98.

  • Daily budget for 1 person - Tourists in Finland should plan to spend around €125 ($130) per day.

  • Languages - The two official languages in Finland are Finnish and Swedish. English is also widely spoken as a second language. There are also a few official minority languages: Sami, Finnish sign language, and Romani.

  • Socket type - Types C and F. The country operates on a 230V supply voltage and 50Hz.

  • Time zone - Eastern European Time (EET): UTC +2.

  • Top 3 cities to visit - Helsinki, Rovaniemi, and Turku.

  • Top 3 landmarks/monuments - Sea Fortress Suomenlinna, Helsinki Cathedral, and Turku Castle.

Visa information for Finland

Visiting Finland has become simpler over the years, as now you can opt for electronic visas or authorizations online.

Depending on your nationality, you may need the Schengen Visa or ETIAS visa waiver to visit the country. These services will become available from 2023 onwards on iVisa.

ETIAS explained

The ETIAS, or the European Travel Information and Authorization System, is a mandatory document for all nationalities that are visa-exempt to enter Finland and the Schengen zone. With this travel authorization, you can travel around Finland and the 26 Schengen countries.

The ETIAS will be mandatory from May 2023. Make sure you get it if you plan on visiting the region after this date.

Schengen Visa explained

If your nationality isn’t eligible for the ETIAS, because you need a visa to enter the Schengen zone, you will soon be able to apply for the Finland Schengen Visa online with iVisa.

The Schengen Visa offers stays and travel for up to 90 days throughout and between all Schengen countries. The flexibility of this visa is what makes it so appealing to many travelers.

Typical costs and budget for Finland

For your trip to Finland, please check the following relevant information about budgeting:

Daily spending per person - the daily budget per person is around €125 ($130) per day, which includes:

  • Meals - A meal in a good restaurant in Finland will cost around €28 ($30).

  • Transport - Daily transport costs are around €30 ($31).

  • Hotel - A room for two people will cost around €117 ($122) per night.

Example: Two people traveling to Finland for one week will spend, on average €1,745 ($1,817). This approximate cost doesn’t include luxurious accommodation or entry tickets for tourist spots around Finland.

Transport and best ways to travel around Finland

Helsinki has a developed public transport system that consists of buses, trams, metro, commuter trains, and the Suomenlinna ferry. As a tourist, you can buy your tickets through the HSL App, R-kiosks (small service stations), HSL service points, ticket machines at stations, and with the bus driver. Remember that you can’t purchase tickets on trams, the metro, and commuter trains, these must be purchased before you board.

Single and special value tickets are valid for 80-110 minutes and permit switching between transport modes within this timeframe. Children’s tickets for ages between 7 and 17 years old are also available. Minors under 7 years old can travel for free.

There are also reduced-rate tickets for pensioners, students, people with limited mobility, and people over 70 years old available.

To get to the national parks or Lapland, it is easiest to rent a car or take the train to Rovaniemi.

Safety in Finland

Finland is considered one of the happiest countries in the world and one of the safest to live or travel to. Crime rates are low.

Still, you could find yourself in a snowstorm, blizzard, or any other natural calamity, make sure you have the contact details of local authorities on hand. Aside from nature, which is uncontrollable, Finland is mostly safe for tourists.

Weather in Finland

Weather in Finland is variable due to its location in the Eurasian continent’s coastal zone. The weather can change at any second, which is common in Scandinavia, so make sure to pack clothes for all types of weather.

In Lapland and surrounding regions, there can be up to seven months of snow each year due to its geographical location, making it a dream come true for people who love winter. It’s also the best time to visit if you want to see the Northern Lights! Summers, however, are also very special because the sun shines almost all day long.

Spring is short, with the winter continuing until March. With pleasant temperatures and little to no tourists (and lower prices), it can be a great time to visit Finland.

Popular cities and towns in Finland

Finland is an incredible place to visit both urban spaces and rural villages, that will equally take your breath away. Check out the most exciting destinations in Finland.

  • Helsinki - The capital of Finland, Helsinki, offers an incredible array of attractions, and you must stop in this fabulous city. A unique subculture is on the rise in this city known for its innovative art, culture, and underground techno parties.

  • Rovaniemi - Located in the Lapland region, Rovaniemi is the gateway to the Arctic. Here you’ll find the authentic Sami culture and the mysterious Northern Lights. The city is also the base of Santa Claus Village, which you can visit by taking the Santa Claus express all the way from Helsinki!

  • Turku - The oldest and formerly capital city of Finland, Turku was once the country's most important city. There is a rich seafaring history here and the city is home to a magnificent Gothic cathedral, a medieval castle, and a large student population.

  • Savonlinna - A nature lovers' paradise, Savonlinna is situated in the Saimaa Lake Region, where you can explore a labyrinth of thousands of islands and waters.

  • Punkaharju - The perfect destination to learn more about nature in Finland. Still unknown to many, Punkaharju makes a great destination for travelers wanting to get off the beaten path.

Must do and see in Finland

There is definitely plenty to see and do in Finland, and some people prefer the unique culture and scenery over other Nordic Countries. Check out some of the best things to do in Finland:

  • Northern lights - During winter, the sun disappears for months on end. However, you won’t be completely in the dark because this is the time that you can best see the colorful Northern Lights, a natural spectacle lighting up the sky at night. For an extra special experience, book one of the famous glass huts, and see them up close while cozying it up.

  • Lighthouse islands - Finland is home to the largest archipelago national park in the world, which means you can find plenty of islands to explore. Most of these islands are equipped with automated lighthouses, which locals and tourists alike love to visit on day trips or weekend escapes.

  • Old wooden towns - In ancient times, most houses in Finland were built of wood and painted red. The country still boasts many preserved wooden towns that have existed for decades or even centuries. Visiting one of these traditional villages will feel like you’re traveling back in time.

  • National parks - Don’t miss the chance to enjoy nature, which is not far away from anything in Finland. You can find over 40 national parks all over the country with shimmering lakes, abundant forests, uninhabited islands, and more natural wonders.

  • Finnish sauna - In a world that never stops moving, the Finnish believe saunas are a great way to relax the mind. Most Finnish people go to the sauna at least once a week, and many have a sauna at home. A must-do in Finland! When you come out of the sauna, it’s customary to jump in a lake or roll in the snow (or simply just take a shower).

Typical Finland food to try

A trip to Finland is not complete without trying some of the typical Finnish cuisine:

  • Karjalanpiirakka (rice pies) - This famous pastry comes from the Finnish region of Karelia. The crust is filled with rice porridge and egg butter. You usually have it for breakfast.

  • Ruisleipa (rye bread) - Rye bread is made everywhere in Finland. Finnish rye bread is made 100% from Finnish yeasts, which provides a dark, dense character.

  • Leipajuusto (bread cheese) - In the US, you know it as squeaky Finnish cheese. It’s made of milk from a cow that has recently calved. People have it with coffee or cloudberry jam.

Vaccine information for Finland

The Finnish government has lifted all restrictions implemented during the COVID-19 pandemic. Therefore, travelers don’t need to show a COVID-19 vaccine certificate, get tested, or quarantine upon arrival.

Still, make sure to check the CDC website for general vaccination advice or communicate with your local general practitioner for further details.

Seeing the Northern Lights in Finland

Every winter, travelers from all over the world can enjoy the aurora borealis, or northern lights, while it dances across the sky to give a light show you will never forget. Imagine seeing the colorful curtains of lights across the night sky. It’s truly an unbelievable experience.

This bucket list experience is best seen in the northern part of Finland, specifically in Finnish Lapland (Rovaniemi), during the winter months (September - March). As well as chasing the northern lights, Finland is the perfect place for enjoying activities in the snow like dog sledding and ice skating.

Fun facts about Finland

Check out these fun facts before visiting Finland, and impress the locals!

  • In 2020, Finland took the top spot as the happiest country in the world. Most of the Nordic countries have ranked high on the list, which considers life expectancy, freedom, economic strength, social support, perceived corruption, and others.

  • The Finnish language is entirely different from the other languages in the Scandinavia area. It has a Uralic origin, and it resembles Hungarian. Swedish is also taught in secondary school.

  • People from Finland are the biggest coffee drinkers in the world. On average, they consume 12 kg of coffee per year. It is not uncommon to see a person drinking 8 cups of coffee a day.

  • You can find over 187,000 lakes in Finland! It may be known as the land of a thousand lakes, but the actual number is much, much higher.

1.2M Happy Customers 99% On Time Delivery 10 Years of Experience
Trustpilot recommended. We lead the industry in innovation and reputation

How it Works?

Fill out online application

Complete our easy online application and pay with credit card or PayPal

Fill out online application
Receive document via email

No need to deal with the embassy. We do it for you so you don't lose valuable time

Receive document via email
Enter destination

Present your Passport and the Document we provide upon entry to destination country

Enter destination

Our Customers Have Great Stories About Us

Alan

Alan

Wonderful company to work with - they were very responsive on chat as we made some mistakes on our end. They assured us everything would work out and worked with us until we received our E-Visa. We got it just two days before traveling. I would highly recommend iVisa.com. If you are in a rush, I would recommend paying the extra to ensure it is ready in time because the government needed more documents and that allowed us extra time to submit.

Pritam Gajjar

Pritam Gajjar

Highly impressive. Thanks to iVisa.com team for their great support. I just applied yesterday for my son's Indian E-Visa in a standard service (96 hours). But in a duration of 35 hours (within 2 days), today I get his visa. Before applying it, we were very confused for the E-visa websites. But thanks to this team for their great quick effort. Highly Recommended to all.

Elizabeth Walker

Elizabeth Walker

I was surprised to get my Visa within 2 hours and amazed at the fact that how hassle free the entire process is. Thank you guys, keep it up. I will make sure to spread the words among my friends.

Sarah Brown

Sarah Brown

I applied to get visa to India. This is the first time I used this service. Highly recommend them for anyone need to get E-Visa. Easy to apply through their Web form, can add multiple people in a single request. Fast and efficient service. Received visa within few days. Only downside I found is the order of the application process. It request your visa fee payment, in the 2nd step, before completing the application form with all the information. In general, any web based purchases the payment is requested in the last step. This may raise a concern for a first time user.