Home > Oman Blog >

Oman visa types

Oman visa types
iVisa | Updated on Nov 11, 2022

When you plan to go to Oman, you need to know if you require a visa. There are only 6 countries whose citizens are visa-exempt, so chances of you needing a visa are pretty high. However, you must also know which one you qualify for. Not all nationalities are eligible for the same document. However, this article should enlighten you a bit.

Alt Text

The first thing you need to find out is whether you are eligible for an Oman e-visa or for a consular one. This is important because it makes the difference between you applying online and going to an embassy. In order to break the mystery, you need to use iVisa’s Visa Checker. It is a tool in which you select your country of origin and add Oman as your destination. It will give you the information you need in just an instant.

Afterward, if you qualify for an e-visa, you need to know which type you can get. As far as this aspect is concerned, you have three choices:

  • The single-entry Oman e-visa – this is the most commonly chosen visa. It allows you to stay in Oman for up to 30 days in Total, and you have a Single Entry. 67 nationalities are eligible for this one.

  • The multiple-entry Oman e-visa – this one grants you the same stay period, but you can enter and leave the country for 30 days Per Entry using the same document. The same category of people qualifies for this type.

  • The GCC e-visa – while the citizens of GCC (Gulf Cooperation Council) countries (Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, United Arab Emirates, Kuwait) are exempt from getting a visa, their residents are not. Of course, we are talking about foreign nationals with a GCC resident permit. This type of visa allows you a 28 days in Total.

The differences between the three Oman visa types are not only the name and the maximum stay period. They also have different prices. As you can expect, the multiple-entry Oman visa is more expensive, while the GCC e-visa is a lot cheaper than the other two.

One other type of visa that is worth mentioning is the conditional visa. It is a document that can be obtained by some nationalities that cannot usually apply for it. Let’s take Indian nationals, for example. They are not eligible for an Oman e-visa, but they can apply for one if they have a valid visa or a residence permit issued by one of the following countries: the United States, the United Kingdom, Japan, Australia, and Canada.

The requirements for all Oman visa types are pretty much the same. However, if you want to apply for a GCC e-visa, you need a residence permit as proof, and if you apply for a conditional visa, you need the visa or the residence permit to prove your status.

Oman has more visa types than most countries to satisfy everyone’s needs. If you cannot apply for one, maybe you can for the other, and that increases your chances of avoiding the embassy. After all, that is why the electronic visa system was created in the first place.

View Oman e-Visa Sample

Alt Text

View Oman GCC Residents Visa Sample

Alt Text