Rwanda Visa Policy
iVisa | 5 min read | Updated on Oct 05, 2023

rwanda gorilla tourism

Rwanda is a fantastic destination in Africa! If you love adventure and nature, you will surely enjoy exploring this beautiful country, full of parks. Still, the rich culture and welcoming people are a plus in the experience.

According to the Republic of Rwanda Visa policy, all travelers must hold a passport with a minimum of six months validity with at least one empty page. Also, citizens not from visa-exempt countries must obtain a Rwanda eVisa or a visa on arrival. Read all the information you need below.

Tourist Visa Policy for Rwanda

Regarding Rwanda's Visa Policy, foreign nationals visiting Rwanda for tourism must apply for a Rwanda Tourist Visa. The documents required for applying for a Rwanda Tourist Visa include the following:

  • Travel Document: A valid passport or another acceptable travel document is required.

The document must have a minimum validity of 6 months from entry into Rwanda.

  • Visa Fees: These are fees for processing the document.

  • Validity of a Visa: A visa's maximum and minimum validity period varies for each visa class.

  • Single or Multiple Entries: Whether a visa is issued for single or multiple entries varies for each visa class.

  • Extension of a Visa for Some Classes: Visas may or may not be extended, as it varies for each class.

However, you should apply for a visa extension while the initial visa is still valid.

Visa holders are allowed a grace period of 5 days after their visa expires. They can depart or renew their visa. Otherwise, they will be penalized and denied visa extensions.

Rwanda Visa-exempt countries

Citizens of the countries mentioned below are exempt from the Rwanda visa for 90 days as per Rwanda Visa Policy:

Angola Benin Burundi CAR Chad
Côte d'Ivoire DR Congo Ghana Guinea Haiti
Indonesia Kenya Mauritius Philippines Saint Kitts and Nevis
São Tomé and Príncipe Senegal Seychelles Singapore South Sudan
Tanzania Uganda

Rwanda Visa Policy allows holders of diplomatic and service category passports of the following countries to visit Rwanda without obtaining a visa:

  • China

  • Djibouti

  • Ethiopia

  • Gabon

  • India

  • Israel

  • Morocco

  • Mozambique

  • Namibia

  • Turkey

  • United Arab Emirates

Citizens of non-exempt countries can apply for a Rwanda Visa by applying online or at the Rwanda Diplomatic Missions of the country of residence before departure.

Rwanda eVisa

The Rwanda eVisa is an electronic visa that permits the holder to enter its territory. It allows a single entry only and can be issued for tourism, leisure, visiting family, and transit.

  • Entry: Single Entry visa

  • Period of Permit: up to 90 days Per Entry

  • Validity: for 90 days after arrival

  • Available: Tourist, family visit, and transit eVisas

Eligible countries for the Rwanda eVisa

According to the Rwanda Visa Policy, citizens from the countries listed below are eligible to apply for a Rwanda eVisa.

Afghanistan Albania Algeria Andorra Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Australia
Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium
Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Virgin Islands Bulgaria Burkina Faso
Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Chile China Colombia Comoros
Congo Costa Rica Croatia Cuba Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti Dominican Republic
Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Fiji
Finland France Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany Greece Grenada
Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland
India Iran Iraq Ireland Israel Italy Ivory Coast Jamaica
Japan Jordan Kazakhstan Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon
Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Madagascar Malawi Malaysia
Maldives Mali Malta Mauritania Mexico Moldova Mongolia Montenegro
Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nepal Netherlands New Zealand Nicaragua
Niger Nigeria North Korea Norway Oman Pakistan Palestinian Territory Panama
Paraguay Peru Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Republic of Cyprus Romania
Russian Federation Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa Saudi Arabia Serbia Sierra Leone Slovakia
Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa South Korea Spain Sri Lanka Sudan
Suriname Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syrian Arab Republic Taiwan Tajikistan Thailand
Timor-Leste Togo Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Ukraine
United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States United States Virgin Islands Uruguay Uzbekistan Vatican City Venezuela
Vietnam Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe

Documents required for applying for a Rwanda Tourist eVisa

  • Passport scan. Your document must be valid for at least six months

  • Current email address to receive the Rwanda eVisa

  • Method of payment (credit or debit card)

  • Basic personal details

Other Visas for Rwanda

Check below for other Rwanda visas that may suit you:

  • East African Tourist Visa (EATV): It permits cross-border, multi-entry access to Rwanda, Kenya, and Uganda for 90 days. You can apply for this visa in a few minutes online or by going to the embassy.

  • Rwanda Conference Visa: This electronic visa is designed for travelers who wish to attend or speak at a conference, meeting, workshop, or seminar in Rwanda. The entire process is online.

  • Rwanda business visas, visas for medical treatment and job searches, and residence permits are only available from diplomatic missions.

  • Visa on arrival: Visitors from all countries are eligible for a visa on arrival.

Rwanda's Visa Policy allows citizens of the following countries a free-of-charge visa on arrival for a stay of up to 30 days.

Albania Algeria Andorra Antigua Barbuda Armenia Australia Bangladesh
Barbados Belize Belgium Botswana Brunei Burkina Faso Bulgaria Cameroon
Canada Cape Verde Cambodia Comoros Congo Cyprus Dominica Djibouti
Egypt Eswatini Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Ethiopia Fiji France Gabon
Grenada Greece Guinea-Bissau Guyana India Kiribati Jamaica Laos
Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Luxembourg Macedonia Madagascar Malawi
Mali Malaysia Malta Mauritania Maldives Monaco Morocco Mozambique
Namibia Nauru New Zealand Niger Nigeria Pakistan Papua New Guinea Romania
Saharawi Somalia South Africa Sudan Switzerland Togo Tunisia The Bahamas
Gambia Tonga Tuvalu Trinidad Tobago St Lucia St Vincent The Grenadines
Samoa Solomon Islands Sri Lanka United Kingdom Vietnam Vanuatu Zambia Zimbabwe

Rwanda's Visa Policy allows citizens from the following countries to obtain a free-of-charge visa on arrival for a stay of up to 90 days.

Angola Benin Central African Republic Chad Côte d'Ivoire
Democratic Republic of Congo Ghana Guinea Indonesia Haiti
Mauritius Philippines Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone
São Tomé and Príncipe Singapore Saint Kitts and Nevis Qatar

Rwanda's Visa Policy allows citizens of East African Community Member States to obtain a free-of-charge Visa on arrival for a stay of up to 6 months.

  • Burundi

  • Kenya

  • Uganda

  • Tanzania

  • South Sudan

Nationals from countries not mentioned above are eligible for a 30-day visa simply by paying the applicable fees for each visa.

Foreign nationals visiting Rwanda for purposes other than tourism or family visits should contact the nearest Rwandan embassy or consulate.

Click here and check out which Rwanda visas are available on iVisa for your nationality! Guarantee your document to visit Rwanda!

Let's stay in touch!

Join our newsletter to receive the best traveling tips

© 2014-2023 All rights reserved. iVisa and iVisa logo are registered trademarks of

English - en |
Intercom Chat