logo logo
en | $ USD

Woo Hoo! We've updated iVisa's brand! Hope you like it as much as we do.

Jamaica Visa Types and Policy
iVisa | 3 min read | Updated on Dec 19, 2023

Jamaica's visa policy outlines the rules and regulations governing foreign visitors who require a visa. Visas are travel authorizations granted by countries to foreigners for them to enter, remain in, or leave their country.

The Jamaican visa requirements for travelers vary from person to person depending on various factors, such as the traveler's nationality, the intended length of stay, and the purpose of the trip.

Fill me in

According to the Jamaica visa policy, you can obtain various visas and travel authorizations. If you wish to do business or travel for vacation in Jamaica, you can apply for a visa and travel authorization from over 116 nationalities.

It is essential for foreign nationals planning longer stays in Jamaica, including living or working there, to obtain the appropriate visas or permits from the Jamaica embassy. Visas to Jamaica can only be obtained through an embassy for travelers from all other countries. Visitors to Jamaica are almost always required to obtain a visa before their trip.

*It should be noted that citizens of the United States of America who possess a permanent residency card (Green Card) do not need visas to enter Jamaica. A valid visa issued by the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, or a Schengen State is required for countries with visa waivers for 30 days.

Types of Jamaica Visas

Jamaica Tourist Visa

Jamaica's visa policy offers several options for foreigners wishing to visit Jamaica on a tourism basis. Travelers are entitled to different options depending on their nationality. Jamaica's visa policy allows visa-free for 76 nationalities. Jamaica Visas are valid for multiple entries in Jamaica and are accepted in 116 countries. Jamaica Visa holders are allowed to stay up to three months before the expiration of their visa.

Foreign nationals need a passport from an eligible country, an email address, and a payment method to apply for an online Jamaican visa.

If a foreign national does not meet the requirements for visa-free entry, they may schedule an appointment with an embassy to present their case for a Jamaica tourist embassy visa.

Jamaica's embassy is the only place tourists can obtain tourist visas for all other nations. The embassy in Kingston will grant a long-term visa to visitors from any country wishing to remain in Jamaica for extended periods. Please see the following table for details regarding Jamaica tourist visas for each nationality.

Holders of Jamaican visas can visit Jamaica for tourism or business. After the visa is issued, you can travel to Jamaica for 12 months.

The following list shows countries that may require a visa for entry into Jamaica:

Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Bahrain, Benin, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo Republic, DR Congo, Cote d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Cuba, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Laos, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Macao, Madagascar, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Micronesia, Mongolia, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea (DPRK), Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestine, Philippines, Qatar, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Somalia, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syria, Thailand, Timor-Leste (East Timor), Togo, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, Holy See (Vatican), Vietnam, Yemen, Zimbabwe.

Apply for a Jamaican visa today!

Jamaica Visa on Arrival

Visas on arrival are also available to some visitors to Jamaica. There are two ways to obtain a Jamaican visa for nationals of this visa type:

  • Applying for a visa in Jamaica embassies/consulates

  • Getting a Jamaica visa on arrival

Immigration officers at the port of entry in Jamaica are responsible for making decisions regarding admission and duration of stay. No visa is required regardless of whether the entry is conditional on having one. There are borders in Montego Bay, Ocho Rios, Falmouth, and Port Antonio, where you can obtain a Jamaican visa on arrival. Also, upon arrival, Taiwanese citizens with an Affidavit of Identity can receive a visa. Jamaica does not recognize Taiwanese passports.

You can obtain a Jamaica visa on arrival at the ports of Montego Bay, Ocho Rios, Falmouth, Port Antonio, and Kingston.

Here is a list of countries where you can apply for Jamaican visas upon arrival: Albania, Andorra, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cayman Islands, Croatia, Estonia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan.

  • iVisa is NOT affiliated with any government agency. This site does not provide legal advice and we are not a law firm. None of our customer service representatives are lawyers and they also do not provide legal advice. We are a private, internet-based travel and immigration consultancy provider dedicated to helping individuals travel around the world. You may apply by yourself directly on the various government websites. The source of information: https://www.pica.gov.jm/

Stay in touch!

Join our newsletter to receive the best traveling tips

Thanks! Please check your email and confirm you want to join our Newsletter.

© 2014-2024 iVisa.com. All rights reserved. iVisa and iVisa logo are registered trademarks of iVisa.com.

en flag English
Intercom Chat